Phone Scoop

printed October 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3955&r=41160

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Kyocera  ›

Kyocera Event

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  3  

Phone Scoop Review

2.5
Overall
3
Reception
4.5
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
2.5
Hardware Quality
1.5
Display
2
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
2.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

2.5
Overall
3.33
Reception
1.67
Battery Life
2.5
Hardware Usability
2.33
Hardware Quality
2.5
Display
2.33
Interface Speed
3.67
Audio Volume
2.33
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Don't write it off, this thing will surprise

 

Mar 30, 2013 by Bearishly4u   updated Mar 30, 2013

If you're like me you can't imagine being stuck with a cheap smartphone. They're all junk right? Well we need to give the underdog a chance. I picked this up today not expecting much except for a laugh but I was very surprised.

Pros
Snappy performance. Quadrant of 2500. NO lag.
Viewing angles. You can practically see the screen from behind!
Screen clarity. I know, I see the resolution but I was expecting to be counting pixels. Instead, i was switching wallpapers to see how clear they looked.
Looks. Maybe because I got the red one but its a little looker. The red back carries forward to a little red "chin" that makes it look like it cost more than 80 bucks. Get the red one, trust me. It's time for a little style.
Responsive. I guess I was expecting resistive type response but the lightest touch had things spinning right along.
Android 4.0.4. I know, not the almighty jelly bean but many phones in this range I see with 2.3.x
Button placement. The power and volume buttons feel great and are exactly where they should be. Power at my thumb and volume at my finger tips. Sorry lefties, maybe hold it upside down?

Cons
Screen size. I would have gladly paid 100 instead of 80 to get a 4" screen. The phone seems big enough to hold it.
Sdcard location. I hate that the sd card is under the battery.
Charging port on top. Maybe it's just me but if I need to use my phone while its charging I hate for the cord to be hanging out the top.

I haven't had a lot of time with it but wanted to do my part to get the word out about this great little phone. I'm very demanding of devices and realize this is no GS4, but for its market, it is very good. I currently use a a galaxy nexus on verizon and a new htc one sv on boost and I have to say, with a four inch screen, this Kyocera Event would have become my daily driver.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

this phone sucks!!!

 

Sep 22, 2014 by Livvigirl

i have had this phone fro over a year and the quality sucks! i hate that its so slow even if you have no apps on it. i have tried to make phone calls lately and my phone will call the person like 20 times, restart itself, and then try calling them again without doing anything. the battery life sucks and it takes forever to charge it barley lets me go on the Google play store and restarts itself very frequently. and you only can have the android 4.04 update and that is it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Do not buy this phone.

 

Jul 10, 2013 by offon

I got this as a gift for father's day and have exchanged it twice already. It wants to open lots of apps all by itself and the battery is the Worst. This battery will last maybe 90 minutes but takes hours to charge.
I started with 300 minutes for $35.00. This is supposed to include unlimited text and internet, but after 2 weeks I got a message from them saying, "Your account has used 85 percent of your data usage cap. Once you reach 2560.000MB of usage, we'll reduce your data speeds through 07/19/2013."
My next phone will be anything else.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great Phone For The Price

 

Apr 13, 2013 by EddieHdG   updated May 4, 2013

I upgraded from my LG Optimus V to this Kyocera. All together, I am happy I did.

Pros: Lightweight, responsive, more memory than I expected for the price, oh and it was $50.

Cons: The back of the case feels cheap. The screen looks a little washed out. Wont run Dragonvale, and the pull down from the main screen can be a pain. Battery life sucks, I cant operate it while it's plugged in

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1