Phone Scoop

printed April 15, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3923&r=40896

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy Note II (Sprint, US Cellular)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  11  

Phone Scoop Review

3.5
Overall
3
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
3.5
Hardware Usability
3
Hardware Quality
4
Display
3.5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.75
Overall
4.83
Reception
4.33
Battery Life
4.83
Hardware Usability
4.67
Hardware Quality
4.67
Display
5
Interface Speed
4.83
Audio Volume
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Brilliant device even at stock

 

Nov 17, 2012 by Skripka

As noted, this device is huge compared to otherhones...the screen alone is larger than many phones. That being said, after owning it for a bit you get used to the size and heft.

Pros:
Great beautiful screen. Stock resolution and dpi makes for easy readability and typing on xda there is a dpi patch to increase effective dpi if you want. Yes it is "only" 720x1280, but 720p does not letterbox and more importantly you cannot see individual pixels.

Battery life is brilliant even with the stock ROM. Responsiveness is fluid and slick.

Spen is a great addition at subsidized price.

Easy to root. There's a 12 minute YouTube video that takes longer to watch than it takes to root.

Just read the specs page...phone is a feature goldmine. I will note that my Sprint store told me that the GSM radios can be unlocked for international usage with a phonecall.

Cons:

Being new there are as of this review very few quality and rugged cases or holsters available a la Otterbox or Platinum...theyre coming but not for sale as of now.

Size takes some getting used to for one handed operation.

Smooth back surface is pretty but is a bit insecure compared to rubberized matte finish on other phones

There are good and bad screen protectors for S-pen usage. Threads on xda about this.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It's NOT a Phone, It's a "Small Tablet" With Phone Funtionality

 

Oct 30, 2012 by MadFatMan

It's BIG, no joking around here, no mincing words the phone is huge. I was ridiculed by my wife and heckled by my daughter (both are iPhone users BTW) when I brought this home.

Even at 6' 5" with with hands proportional to my body this is an awkward device to manipulate BUT, Its do able. I am sure that I am in some sort or adjustment learning curve.

IMHO this phone is geared for users who have primarily used their smartphones for data, text and email with the occasional phone call and this decribes my usage.

PROS
5.5" Super AMOLED Display
True Split Screen Multi tasking
Pop out picture in picture video streaming
JELLYBEAN out of the box
3100 milamp Battery
2GB RAM
Quad Core
16 GB Phone/Upto 64 GB SD Storage
SPen
GORILLA GLASS
LARGE SCREEN w/ unlimited data on Sprint without having to take on a capped tablet plan.

CONS
Its (explitve) HUGE
Housing is quite SLIPPERY
2 hands to do MOST functions (although portrait keyboard will shift to the right or left to accomodate left or right hand oriented usage)
3100 milamp battery will take 3 hrs to charge from 0%
to 100% on an AC wall plug and 8 hrs on a usb connection

This device is a BEAST in every measure. This device is not for everyone. But for those who seek a tablet like experience on their smartphone and are not afraid of a BIG PHONE this will fit the order

.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
hide detailed ratings

Galaxy Note2

 

Oct 28, 2012 by fsm001   updated May 4, 2013

Best phone I've ever had. Runs really fast, battery lasts about 1.5 days with heavy use. I'd recommend the phone to anyone. Keep up the great work Samsung ans Sprint.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

SUPERFAST!!!

 

Jun 20, 2013 by quikfeat

As far as web surfing - first thing I noticed compared to the Galaxy S3 which is also a great phone but not as fast as this Note2 I'm holding - noticed the web pages loading faster which really was noticeable - unless Sprint installed another tower close by which i doubt. Love the screen size - don't think it is too big at all. Battery life seems good for a days use of moderate activity. Haven't used the S Pen features yet but just having wwb pages loading fastee was a huge plus. Go grab a Note2!!! You'll be glad you did!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung Galaxy S4 Vs Note II

 

May 9, 2013 by JimSpencer7

Carrier: Sprint

I know that all of the buzz is over the new Samsung Galaxy S4, but I don't have that phone. I am using the Samsung Galaxy Note II, and have been for the last six months. In one word, this phone is awesome, and I had been using an Hxx 4G Lxx, which was a very nice phone itself. That said, I am more than pleased with the phone, its performance is blazing, and of course the brilliant 5.5" screen adds even more to the reasons I love this phone. I have had ZERO problems with it, and once I got used to the issue of Samsung's storage configuration, I have to say, I cannot wait till the new Note III comes out.
As to the shear size of the phone, and some detractors were wary of it being awkward, I can put that to bed, and I don't have large hands.
If I had any cons, it would be to give me some control over where I want an app installed, on-board, or on the SD card.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best phone I've ever had!

 

Oct 28, 2012 by bfletcher78

I just got it today. I traveled about 60 miles to get it due to no stores in my area having it in stock. It was worth the trip. It has a beautiful screen, it's fast, and it is big! I thought it might be to big to fit into my front pocket but it slid in and was comfortable while i was walking and sitting. The way it works and the features are much different than what I'm used to (I had the Motorola Photon 4G) but the more I use it the better I like it. I wouldn't suggest it to anyone that has small hands, u won't be able to keep a firm grip on it. I've read lots of review and I must say, it has all the features the iPhone 5 has plus so much more! Bravo Samsung, Bravo!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2