Phone Scoop

printed April 19, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3918&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy Note II (GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  32  

Phone Scoop Review

3.5
Overall
2.5
Reception
4
Battery Life
3.5
Hardware Usability
3.5
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
4
Interface Speed
2
Audio Volume
3
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.63
Overall
4.29
Reception
4.64
Battery Life
4.86
Hardware Usability
4.5
Hardware Quality
4.64
Display
4.79
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
4.57
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

best phone ever

 

Mar 5, 2013 by gsoto8

i have had iphone 4, samsung galaxy s2 and xperia s, and i have to say that this is by far the best phone i ever had.

PROs
battery is amazing
big screen
1.6 quadcore processor
screen resolution
sound

CONs
none

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love this Phone

 

Feb 5, 2013 by hitman6498

I love this phone, it took me only a week to get used to the size (and it's huge make no mistake about it). But the camera is awesome, I got compliments on pictures I took and people asked me if I had a digital camera or a camera phone and when I told them a phone they were shocked. The phone is very speedy, and I never had issues with dropped calls. The information widgets are great (active applications, energy savers). The only things I don't like about the phone, which I heard has been addressed on the Note 2, is there is no push to talk button which is kind of a pain. The pen is awesome but I found I didn't use it as much as I thought, but those days when I didn't feel like typing my texts or email it came in handy. I love this phone and until I can get the Note 2 I will be loving using this one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Me, daily: "These guys have thought of everything!"

 

Dec 13, 2012 by bill0480   updated May 5, 2013

Carrier: AT&T

I am a design engineer, mostly telecom (not mobile). The only fault I can find with this phone is that I wish the screen were brighter. I am coming from the LG Nitro HD which has an IPS HD display that is probably the best I've seen.

Capability-wise, this device does everything, but what blows me away, is the level of integration: Pull out the pen while you're on a call- it pops up a notepad, then lets you send the notes to the caller at the end of the call, if you wish. Look at a picture, and tap, and press the S-Pen button, you can annotate right on front of it, or annotate on the "back". Swipe the side of your palm across the phone to take a screenshot anytime, if your pen is out, you can write on that.

I've had it for about a week, and every day I learn something(s) that make me realize the amount of thought these guys put into the device! (They weren't copying anyone.) You can activate a camera mode where a photo is snapped when you say "cheese" or "capture", great for low-light situations where tapping the button would cause blur, or for self-portraits without the timer.

Pros: It does everything I never thought of, but realize I'll use. Way too many to list

Con: The screen could be a brighter

You have to live with one for a little while. Download the user's Digest app, flip through it and watch the embedded tutorial videos. They thought of that too!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

SGH I-317

 

Dec 3, 2012 by Versed   updated May 4, 2013

I recently, purchased this phone after my SGS III was lost during Sandy, I had private insurance and took the check and placed it towards the Note II.

Very impressed, while large, I found it quite easy to carry in my scrub pockets while at work, as well as jacket/coat while out.

Screen is bright, typical Galaxy S saturation, which one can hate or love, I'm the former. Phone is fast in use, never bothered running tests, its fast and with several open applications running or in the background. Battery life is far better then expected. Camera is good, haven't tried any videos, similar to my older sgs3. Not a big camera phone photography and it does what I need. Calls are loud and crisp and excellent hspa+ speeds. I will check out the LTE this coming week when I'm in Philadelphia.

OK, slightly but not overtly clumsy in the hands, do to size but really that is the only slight negative. Excellent product. I also wish iBolt made a car mount for it as they do with the SGS3.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Amazing Phablet ! ? !

 

Nov 12, 2012 by BarnettJr2

As previous review, unit is almost unbelievable. Everything he mentioned is absolutely correct. The SPen needs additional praise alone. Its incredible the features & ability the SPen has & how much it interacts with multiple apps & enhances phablet's ability's. A little pricey, but no regrets. Takes a couple days to get use to it & I'm sure several weeks/months to learn the full use of it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Dislike

 

Nov 14, 2012 by Face242

I'm tired of the iPhone 5 and it's iOS.. Monday I purchased this monstrosity.. I liked the size of the screen, but hated how low the screen brightness is. I loved the Operating system, JB was very fluid.. Picture quality was less then adequate.. I was disappointed that I couldn't get desktop websites like I could with my iphone on skyfire. Consistently the note 2 pulled mobile sites instead of desk view.. Talking on the phone was a hassle, it was like holding a plate to your head..I returned it yesterday, and I'm waiting for the new galaxy S4..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2