Phone Scoop

printed November 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3913&r=40881

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Apple  ›

Apple iPhone 5 (CDMA / global)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  97  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
4.5
Hardware Quality
3.5
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.3
Overall
4.56
Reception
4.13
Battery Life
4.81
Hardware Usability
4.88
Hardware Quality
4.81
Display
4.43
Interface Speed
4.31
Audio Volume
4.81
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

About time!

 

Sep 24, 2012 by Golf22grg   updated May 4, 2013

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

It's about time Apple stepped it up with the rest of the industry! The LTE is screaming fast, navigation app works great, Siri is better than ever and the size and weight is just right. The new connector was long over due and would had been better if it was a micro USB but is still a step up from the old 30 pin connector. If your eligible for an upgrade you won't regret getting this phone!

Update 5/3/13: Apple needs to step up to the plate and allow data usage during calls. This is a basic function of the competitor. The Apple nav apple turned out to be not so great. Siri's compatibility with the Apple nav app is nice though. Wish it also worked with Google Maps which is much better. Seems like the GIII and GIV have a lot more bells and whistles so Apple better step it up. The lightening connector is rock solid! Battery life is also good.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Phone For Adults

 

Oct 13, 2012 by PlayboyPenguin

I was iPhone up until 3GS and then went android. Had the EVO 4G and then the Samsung SII. Had to decide now between the Samsung SIII and the new iPhone. I have gone back to iPhone. The Samsung ended up feeling like a toy in my hand and Android seems geared more toward people impressed with widgets and shiny objects (not to mention each Android phone started strong and became buggy later). The iPhone is a true piece of quality hardware made for adults that performs flawlessly.

Pros:
-Amazing screen quality/clarity
-Amazing construction quality
-Blazing fast processor
-Simple and reliable iOS
-Excellent call quality
-Impressive on the web
-Speakers deliver unbelievable sound
-Siri is amazing and destroys "S voice"

Cons
-The screen could be larger
-Glitch with YouTube prevents threaded replies to comments
-The black iPhone is a disaster. I had to return two for damage to the metal banding. Go with white is minor imperfections bother you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

iPhone just keeps getting better!

 

Jan 2, 2014 by Erica3677

Carrier: Sprint

Having gone from the 4 to the 4S, I was excited to upgrade to the 5. I wasn't sure if it was worth the upgrade, but it really was.

Pros: Everything about this phone is awesome!
Cons: Not a one!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Literally the finest phone product as of today (June 2013).

 

Jun 14, 2013 by Trilla12

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

...and hello Verizon.

The title says it all. I think I'm beginning to trust this company.

PROs:
Everything you could want in an iTelephone.

CONs:
None.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Major improvement over iPhone 4

 

Jun 2, 2013 by NJ Analyst2

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I purchased my iPhone 5 as a replacement for my first iPhone 4. The iPhone 4 was a great phone but it lacked a few features including the turn by turn GPS, Siri, world phone capability, LTE speed, and screen size. For this reason, I upgraded to the iPhone 5 as soon as I was eligible with Verizon which has been my carrier for many years. If you have an iPhone 4S it may not be worth the upgrade and perhaps you should wait for the iPhone 5S or iPhone 6.

PROS:
-Retina display
-Enlarged screen but lighter than prior version
-Fast
-Apps
-Audio and video quality
-Camera
-Hardware quality
-Simplicity of design; it just works!
-Integration with Apple eco system, iCloud, etc.
-Verizon voice coverage is best, especially in NJ and in tunnels
-Verizon LTE network, when available.

CONS:
-WiFi can be flakey which was not a problem with the iPhone 4
-iOS is getting old; Android offers more features
-Screen could be bigger to compete with other smartphones
-Verizon LTE network is overloading and it shows when the speed is downgraded to 3G or 1X
-Simultaneous use of data and voice not supported by Verizon but is possible when WiFi available
-Verizon is expensive and may not be worth it as other carriers improve coverage.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Simply Incredible

 

May 19, 2013 by celway

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Having reviewed a few basic phones here in the past, my first foray into the world of smartphones was a scary one. But with no reservations, I can tell you the iPhone 5 is just amazing!!

I'm one of the millions in love!

I had two android phones just since April 2013 and I found them to be very difficult--took them both back. After much convincing by my rather young nephew, I took an iPhone 5 for a ride.

I cannot put it down since I brought it home.

If you are waiting to dive-in to the smartphone market, quit waiting like I did! You will be amazed how simple this phone is and what it will do for you.

I cannot list a pro and con list here because I have ZERO negative comments. None.

Very happy I took the plunge.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Don't be fooled into buying the same old phone

 

Apr 24, 2013 by Lbrrt   updated Apr 24, 2013

I've been an Apple iphone user since they were introduced not that long ago. I did buy the iphone 5, and was immediately displeased with it. It felt cheap,
it didn't really have any new features that you could notice. Oh, they changed the charging port so all of you chargers became useless, but Apple will be happy to sell you more. The first iphone 5 I bought from the online Apple store started to completely freeze up in a month to the point I had to reboot it each time, The second replacement phone had a bad microphone, that one lasted a whole week!!! The third one I sold on ebay, No Returns, hey it worked fine when I shipped it. I preordered The IPHONE KILLLER!!!The Samsung galaxy S4 it has already shipped.
Get with the times Apple, you have NO removable Battery, No expandable Memory, A crummy Camera,
and your phones are "slapped" together.... I will never buy your piece of junk phones again. I love these people... oh... mine works fine...yeah, right. It's not fun spending your day off talking to a geek in a blue shirt, and trying to just get a phone that works, while they take it in the back , and tell you it's fine, when Apple Care tells you to take it in for a swap out !!!!!!! Don't get me started about MP3 issue. AHHHHH!!!!!! Thank you.... Go ahead buy one, you'll see... The iphone 4s was way better.... Oh well, I got rid of my piece of junk.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


First time Apple user. Now hooked.

 

Dec 18, 2012 by mawingo

Several years ago, I jumped ship from Blackberry to Android. I used several phones across T-Mo and Verizon. Android has many positives, the best for me being customization. There was an alternative for seemingly everything from keyboards to browsers. However, the negatives were glaring. Poor battery life, and the one that finally made me jump ship, size. The best Androids are HUGE. I wanted a full feature high end smartphone that I could take running, or slip into my pocket without issue. Iphone 5 fits the bill great. Battery life is great, loads of cutting edge tech on board, and it's super light. My only con, if there is one, is the lack of being able to select default applications. Especially true with Google Maps and the onboard maps application. But other than that, there's a reason why Iphones do well. They just work.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


No Groundbreaking Improvements But a Good Phone

 

Sep 23, 2012 by radcloser

Day Two Review
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Location: Portland Metro (Oregon)
Phone: iPhone 5, 64GB

Pros:
Camera - Panorama mode works wonderfully
Siri - Seems to work better than before. More accurate.
Screen - Higher resolution, 1/2" taller
Earbuds - Sound amazing (But fall out of the ear easily)
4G LTE - It's about time :)
Do Not Disturb - Functional and works well
Processor - Very fast and responsive

Cons:
USB Cable - Changed again which results in iPhone 5 buyers having to fork out more money for additional cables and compatible A / V equipment or $30 adapters.

USB Pin Assignments Changed - I can no longer connect my iPhone 5 USB cable to my Kenwood Excelon car stereo. This pisses me off. Now I'm stuck with bluetooth interface which is glitchy. Why the #### would Apple change the audio output pins on the USB connector??? Stupid #$%^&'s

Anyway, I'm not sure if this phone is worth signing a 2 yr contract and $399 to upgrade from my iPhone 4S. I will decide in the next 12 days.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


iphone 5 just don't make the grade

 

Oct 19, 2012 by moedaddy

I took it back,theres just to much too list.here are a few. to small,calls drop like crazy, the screen is dull speakers are tiny and sound to basie like your in a alley.
got a droid max hd.it like night & day,chevy and bmw.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1