Phone Scoop

printed December 19, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3912&s=h&p=1

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Apple  ›

Apple iPhone 5 (Americas GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  15  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
4.5
Hardware Quality
3.5
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.18
Overall
4.04
Reception
3.77
Battery Life
4.46
Hardware Usability
4.54
Hardware Quality
4.46
Display
4.58
Interface Speed
3.92
Audio Volume
4.15
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Tried many different phones, came back to the iPhone 5

 

Jun 2, 2013 by jeffjeff   updated Jun 2, 2013

Carrier: AT&T

After owning an iPhone 4,4S and 5, I decided to see what else was out there recently. I tried the Galaxy S4 for a couple weeks, wasn't happy the way it handled multiple email accounts, messaging and basic functions which required multiple key presses to accomplish. To add to this, the phone lagged between screens and apps and after reading forums online, I found I wasn't the only one experiencing this. I returned the phone and tried the Blackberry Z10. Their new "Hub" feature was nice, however the OS just didn't flow too well with BB's new gesture commands. Navigating through screens was not a pleasant experience. Perhaps with software updates, BB's new OS will come together someday, however, as of now, it's lacking quite a bit, especially in the app space.

Unfortunately, in my haste to sell my iPhone 5 immediately after purchasing the S4, I realized I had made a grave mistake. To correct this, I purchased another iPhone 5. After experimenting with the other OS's out there with the exception of the Windows phones, I found that no other phone had everything put together as well as the iOS iPhone 5. iOS flows very well and especially with email which I depend on heavily for corporate as well as personal use. The iPhone excels in many other areas in comparison to other phones such as messaging, web browsing, camera features, music and so much more. People criticize the iPhone so much for the lack of a removal battery, expandable storage, lack of customization options and so much more, however the battery life on the i5 is amazing with wifi, BT and apps running 24/7. As for storage, just opt for a larger capacity. I feel like the prodigal son who just had to see what was out there in the world but in the end, came back home to the iPhone 5. I am not an iSheep or iFanatic in any way, I just like being efficient and getting things done quickly on a dependable and reliable mobile device and the iPhone 5 comes out on top in this regard.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone since I switched to AT&T

 

Feb 2, 2013 by randyalex

Original I had the iPhone5 with sprint. Very frustrating experience. Since I switched over to AT&T I am completely happy with my iPhone5.
PROS:
1. BLAZING FAST data speeds.
2. Great screen
3. Excellent call quality
4. Love the selection of apps
5. Great camera when you are not using the flash (for some reason using the flash in dark environments leave all these white hues in the pictures).
6. Simplicity and ease of use of this phone.
7. 4 inch screen perfect size for one handed operation.
8. Never buggy or jerky when scrolling as some of my prior android phones use to do.
how come
CONS:
1. Using the flash when taking photos (see above).
2. Wish the battery gave you better longevity
3. Not as customizable as android (but that's a trade off I'm okay with)

Overall I now Love my iPhone5 and would recommend it as long as it's not on the NOT Now Sprint Network.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


This phone is great!

 

Jan 3, 2013 by azurecrimsonrose

I have an iPhone 5 and I absolutely love it. It has everything that I could ever want and more. Here are the PROS and CONS of this device.

PROS:

- touch screen
- world phone
- good audio quality
- call quality is good
- lots of applications that suit everyone's needs
- It has Siri

CONS:

- expensive
- no headset jack
- delicate

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT PHONE!

 

Dec 8, 2012 by calliekcrkcallie

I got my chance to play around with the Apple iPhone 5 while at the local AT&T Wireless store and I really like it. Here are the pros and cons on this phone that I found in my short time exploring the features on this device.

PROS:

- nice size
- capacitive touch screen
- good audio quality
- easy to hold in your hand
- screen is nice and bright
- multitasking capabilities
- front and rear cameras
- face time
- digital camera and video camera
- Siri

CONS:

none

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best iPhone yet

 

Nov 21, 2012 by greggrapp   updated May 3, 2013

Carrier: AT&T

I gave it a 4.5 because there's always room for improvement. It could always have a better camera-- even though it's the best in any smartphone currently. It could have NFC capabilities-- even though no one is really utilizing that yet.

It basically is everything you want and need in a smartphone.

PROS: usability, battery, apple's app store, camera, screen, SIZE (5" is too big IMO), ...just about everything

CONS: None-- for non-techies. For a somewhat technical person (me), I'm a little bored. It's a little too easy to do everything on the iPhone. I've thought about switching at some point because I love figuring out how to accomplish something on the phone. I'd like to tackle the Android OS, and learn how to do everything on it. That being said, that all has nothing to do with the phone's rating. I'm just personally bored with it's easy usability ;-)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Amazing upgrade

 

Nov 4, 2012 by odVILELLA   updated May 3, 2013

Carrier: AT&T

Having come from Iphone4... This phone is very impressive in speed, built quality and others.

Pros:
Battery life
Size (very comfortable to text with one hand)
A6 Chip
Display
Siri
LTE
Sound Quality
Very easy to use

Cons:
I didn't find anything bad about this phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

iphone 5 is the leader

 

Oct 20, 2012 by Jefestokes   updated Apr 28, 2013

No phone can compare to the iPhone 5. It is a modest upgrade but still one that is very welcome. i have had the iphone 4s ( loved it ) , the droid razr max, ( battery life was great) and even the samsung galaxy S3 ( a toy with to many options , not enough focus on quality output)

PRO: Screen fantastic; apps fantastic; battery life improved; slimmer form; LTE is fast , mproved SIRI

CON: Google maps and Youtube not present; new cables needed (minor).
Apples maps need some work . Google's is much better. I hope apple improves quickly on this.

This is without a doubt the best device I have ever used,

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BEST PHONE

 

Oct 16, 2012 by Josephtucs

OKAY I have to admit it, This is the best phone in the market.. NO Galaxy cheapie material S3 Or Boom Boom HTC ONE X.. . This is it... Great Design, Yeah its only 1 inch taller but screen resolution its great, The phone feels strong and comfortable, IOS yeah basic but So easy to use, and very accessible, camera its great and OMG Siri UNDERSTAND MY ACCENT LOL Y hasta en español that's great.. I love this phone.. and Yeah it's not for everybody.. but if you come from Android or Windows even BBerry U'll be able to use it and be comfortable with it.. right away..

I WILL RECOMMEND THIS PHONE

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very Fast Data

 

Oct 4, 2012 by trancetech

This iPhone 5 is a great phone the iOS is outdated but works..... The updates are always on time and you are never left guessing when it will come out. I have used android and yes it is more customizable but updates drag. Both iOS and galaxy s3 and iPhone are great but the iPhone is more reliable....

Pro:
Battery
Screen
iOS
Camera
Speaker

Cons:
Layout
Nothing else

It comes down to android or iPhone preference. Both great phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Totally Awesome Phone

 

Oct 3, 2012 by rnew

An Iphone is a Iphone. An Android is a Android. I can't figure out why many choose to slam either phone because it lacks what the other doesn't. I have used the Iphone, Iphone 3GS, Iphone 4/4S, HTC One X, and Galaxy S3 and must admit in my opinion none of these phones work as seamless as an Iphone 5. I tried Android because of all of the hype but even Androids have limitations as to what you can or cannot do and the battery life was not even close to any of my Iphones. That being said in my opinion the Iphone 5 is the most Awesome phone. Email is seamless. Works outstanding with my exchange email (far superior than others I have used). Itunes and the music player is seamless and the best (I must admit I was skeptical in the beginning but over time I have come to appreciate it all the more). Web browsing again seamless and Siri is the icing on the cake. I have had Iphones with both Verizon and AT&T and must admit that my experience with AT&T is far superior. I have not experienced any dropped calls in my long history with using AT&T's service (and no I do not work for AT&T). This was not the case with Verizon. And being able to Talk and Surf has come in handy (I did not realize what I missed until I could not do this with my Verizon Iphone 4). One has to choose the phone that better fits their style and usefulness. In my opinion you can't go wrong with the Iphone 5 if it meets most of your useful needs. I am happy to say that my experiment with other smartphones as ended. The Iphone 5 has met all of my needs and exceeded others. It is truly an Awesome Phone.

Pros: Battery Life, Web Browsing, Siri, Email, iTunes, Camera, Video, iCloud

Cons: None

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2