Phone Scoop

printed November 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3912&r=41126

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Apple  ›

Apple iPhone 5 (Americas GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  15  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
4.5
Hardware Quality
3.5
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.18
Overall
4.04
Reception
3.77
Battery Life
4.46
Hardware Usability
4.54
Hardware Quality
4.46
Display
4.58
Interface Speed
3.92
Audio Volume
4.15
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 4

iphone 5-disappointed

 

Sep 24, 2012 by dirtracingrocks

I pre-ordered my iphone and anxiously awaited the new arrival on Friday. My excitement quickly turned to disappointment. First of all, I had the volume all the way up and couldn't hear when on speaker phone. Secondly, the touch is not near as sensitive as previous versions of the iPhone. Thirdly-if you have a case on it, it is very hard to hit some of the keyboard letters that are right up to the edge of the screen. I didn't even attempt to use the maps after seeing all the reviews about it. The screen is taller, but when you put it side by side with the 4S, really not much of a difference, or not enough to justify upgrading. As for the speed, I couldn't see much difference at all(I live in an area with 4G but not LTE). And last but not least, the expense of having to replace all the cables or get adapters is crazy!

I have already returned to using the 4S and will wait to see what next year brings. I'm a die-hard Apple fan but this one left a bad taste in my mouth.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great phone

 

Oct 10, 2014 by clutchxpfirefox

Carrier: AT&T

My mother has an iPhone 5 and I have had a chance to use it. It's a great smart phone. Here is a list of pros and cons I noticed when using it.

PROS

- world phone
- touch screen
- world phone
- good call quality
- operating system is user friendly
- good speaker phone
- ability to multitask
- decent battery life

CONS

None

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Apple iPhone 5 - the Good, Bad, Ugly

 

May 2, 2014 by BroJim

Carrier: AT&T

This was my fourth iPhone. I made the logical progress...3GS, 4, 4S, then the iPhone 5. This was my biggest mistake.

The iPhone 3GS was plastic. It was well-made. It could handle a small drop without falling apart.

The iPhone 4 / 4S designs, despite being glass on two sides, were sturdy and rugged.

The iPhone 5 is a flimsy piece of garbage. After the second phone BENT from a 4.5 foot drop IN a protective case, I decided it was time to leave the Apple mother ship.

Apple has lost its edge. The hardware has become cheap and delicate. The software is STALE (unless you jailbreak) and then it is like stale bread dipped in water.

My warning to Apple - learn to innovate again or you will be a "has been" in no time!

Read my other reviews...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

From Galaxy S3 to iPhone 5!!

 

Oct 5, 2013 by nestoriroxx   updated Oct 8, 2013

Carrier: T-Mobile

Being a loyal Android user specially with the Galaxy S3 I used to talk down on iPhone so much until I decided to try it for my self and boy was I glad. iPhone executes everything so much faster and smoother than the Galaxy S3- S3 is a great device the only roblem I experienced with it was that i would lag alot.

Pros:
Smoother OS
Faster Multitasking
Camera compared to the other devices Megapixels; iPhone camera is great!!

Cons:
Too many dropped calls
The Volume is too low

Thats the only problem with the iPhone 5 other than that the device is amazing and recommned it to anybody specially with the iPhone 5S now released.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

i5 Comparison

 

Oct 3, 2013 by TMD1264

Carrier: AT&T

Not impressed with Apple's latest offering. Have tried the S4 and Blackberry Z10 and rather than listening to others, decided to compare on my own. The phone basics are fine/average, and no better than the Z10 or S4. Communication and email certainly is good, but not as efficient or quick as the Z10 Hub, and maybe slightly better than the S4. The screens are crisper on both the Z10 and S4, with sound quality better on the S4. LTE service seemed quicker on the Z10. Once familiarity set in with the Blackberry OS 10, I really loved it better than all, though the IPhone does work well.
I also appreciated the NFC technology in both the S4 and Z10, while the iphone doesn't even offer it. Camera's better in again both the S4 and Z10., Battery life is far better on the Z10 and S4 than the iPhone 5...From a tech perspective, the Z10 has the advantage, and also feels more solidly built.

The iPhone does come in lots of colors..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best iPhone to date!

 

Nov 6, 2012 by Jayj2k1

I've been through all of the major smartphones from the Blackberry Tour, to the HTC Evo, and even the iPhone 4S. One thing I can say is that Apple has always maintained a solid foundation upon simplicity with intuitiveness. This phone is super amazing.

For previous iPhone users that have the 4 or earlier models, definitely go for it. For 4S users, not so much. For previous Android users, it will take some getting used to losing the extra customization (widgets, etc.) If you are in the market for a new phone that simply works, this is the go to phone.

PROS:
- Large beautiful 4" retina display
- Faster than the previous iPhone 4S
- Sleek design and lightweight
- Awesome speaker/speakerphone quality
- LTE speeds as long as you are in an LTE area
- 8 megapixel camera (best on the market imo)
- Improved Siri

CONS:
- Battery life is not as great if LTE is constantly on
- iOS6 is a step up but still lacks some of the extra customization that we may like without jail breaking
- Screen is the largest screen yet, but still could have been wider in comparison to other 4" phones
- New Pin adapter makes you have to buy extra accessories for it to work with previous docks, etc.
- Apple's version of Maps still needs some improvements but thats software more than the phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

After a month kinda bummed

 

Oct 13, 2012 by andy2373   updated May 5, 2013

Obviously the iPhone 5 is a great device and an upgrade from the 4S.

But in the end the only meaningful upgrade IMHO is LTE, which by the end of the day has the battery in the red.
Through in the buggyness of iOS 6, and many apps haven't been rewritten for the bigger screen. After a month I'm thinking of going back to the 4S.

Yes, yes all the pros & cons are spot on. But I have to think many who rushed out to get the iPhone 5 are having buyers remorse.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

iPhone 5!!! THE BEST YET!!

 

Sep 22, 2012 by twkroberts   updated May 4, 2013

This is my sixth iPhone to date. From 2007 to 2012. In the middle I've tried Blackberry - Windows Phone and the Android phones. Not bad, however I always return to the iPhone. iPhone 5 is a great phone. Lightweight and super fast. Battery life is the best I've seen on any smart-phone.

Pros: Great all the way
Negatives: I really have none.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Subpar

 

Mar 19, 2013 by Odogwunna

There are no major diferences between the 4s and the Iphone 5. Apple made their latest and greatest longer and lighter and that's it. I've been a life long apple supporter, but I am so disappointed in this piece of crap. The are simply trailing behind. I am definitely switching to the galaxy s4.

Pros: looks pretty, recharges quickly

Cons: Nothing new, No NFC, they changed the charge port, no micro sd card, still no file or music sharing, good luck getting an mp3 ringtone, still no removable battery..........

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


just terrible

 

Feb 26, 2013 by architect125

This was a huge de grade from the iphone 4 and the 4s.it is messed up you could say. If you like to waste money this is a good phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 4

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1