Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3904&r=40878

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Droid RAZR MAXX HD

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  22  

Phone Scoop Review

3
Overall
3.5
Reception
5
Battery Life
2.5
Hardware Usability
2.5
Hardware Quality
3
Display
3
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.18
Overall
4.6
Reception
4.7
Battery Life
4.5
Hardware Usability
4.1
Hardware Quality
4.6
Display
4
Interface Speed
4.6
Audio Volume
4.2
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Very Good!

 

Oct 19, 2012 by Benzb

I want to first start by saying that I currently own an iPhone 5 and the new Razr MAXX HD. I have owned its predecessor before as well. (Razr Maxx). This device is very good but not perfect. In an overall comparison to other Android devices as well as the iPhone 5, here are the pros and cons....

Pros:
* Simultaneous Voice and Data on 3G, LTE, and WiFi (HUGE +) - you can talk on the phone and use the Internet if you are in a 3G OR LTE area w/o WiFi.
* Very large screen
* Well built - feels strong and sturdy.
* Very fast - after playing ith it for a few hours and installing about 25 Apps on it, the device has zero lag due to its 1.5Ghz Dual Core processor.
* 32GB on-board memory + 32GB Micro SD card can be added. - Expandeable memory.
* Battery - This phone is the king in the battery department. My primary reason for getting this phone vs. the Galaxy S3.

Cons:
* Screen - After comparing the quality of the screen with the iPhone 5, the iPhone's screen is much brighter and higher quality.
* Camera - Even though both phones have an 8mp camera, the quality of the pictures on the iPhone are superior to the Razr MAXX HD. I haven't taken any videos yet so I can't comment on the video quality.
* Force Closes - Although I only had played with the Razr for a few hours, I already experienced force closes in the Maps application and some other downloaded apps.
* Does not come with Jelly Bean - considering at is phone came out after JB was released, I expected it to come with JB preinstalled.

Conclusion:
If you are an Android person and don't mind less quality photos but want an overall great phone with great battery life, this phone is for you. Even though the Galaxy S3 as well as other android phones have great specs, their battery life is much less than the Razr Maxx HD. Also, the Razr MAXX HD is built much tougher than the Galaxy S3. The iPhone 5 is built well but can get scratched easily. I already have a scratch on my iPhone just by putting the case on.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Outstanding!

 

Nov 1, 2012 by hellovt2001

I have had Motorola phones for about 15 or more years. Starting with the Nextel bag phones. I was always impressed with the build quality and durability. I have had a Moto Q since 2005 , one phone for 6 years. Dropped it, flying out of hand onto parking lot many times from great heights and unbelievably it would still work. So I have seen the Apples and other phones. But I want a phone that can last and live a life without breaking. When I heard about the MAXX, my friend raving about the battery. I did a lot of research for about 10 or 12 months. I did not want the extra data expense. But when texts started to not come easily on the Q recently , that was that.

I got the MAXX on line at VZ and received just as the MAXX HD came out . I wanted the better 32 Gs internal vs 16Gs and the better scrren on the HD.

Pros:
Battery: lasts 3 to 4 days with casual use. 1 day fully with constant use. 2 days with moderate use. Nice knowing you have that resource. Don't have to worry about charging or discharging.

Build Quality: feels solid; Kevlar for scratches, Gorilla Glass. Responsive touch screen

CPU: dual core 1.5 GHZ , can do two or three things at once, phone and internet or?

Google: the little microphone to speak websites, or texts, or emails. Speak normal speed and it quickly types it as your are speaking. Pretty amazing.

Maps: Again can voice speak where you are going

The circle Widgets, show if phone call missed,

Camera button is instant. Normal light awesome, video awesome
Push email with my personal website.
Phone calls awesome as usual with VZ.
have only used .151 GB data over 8 days. Bunch of downloads and lots of surfing, no video on line though. That uses up big GB.

Software: nothing to compare with, but it is quick , no delays, and all the bells of Android ICS. I am not impressed by that but my 20 year coworkers lover the phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great Phone, Build Quality is 2nd to None

 

Nov 24, 2012 by sdgmcdon

I don't normally rate anything 5 stars but I can't stand when people get an obviously defective device (which occurs with EVERYTHING that's manufactured, DOA's are normal) and then reviews the product based on that obviously defective device... its stupid and useless, those people apparently weren't gifted with rational thought. If it weren't for that I'd be at a 4 with this review.

Moving on, the build quality on this is outstanding which is typical for motorola. Feels like an extremely high end device, comfortable to hold, nice looking too.

Battery is also outstanding of course...if its a slow day for me I easily get through the day...if its really busy, lots of calls, text and hotspot use to the point that the screen is rarely off (frequent in my business) it will easily do everything until early afternoon (I've yet to see any phone make it through a long busy Fay for me, maxx line comes closest though thanks to the large battery).

Camera is decent but not great, I never buy phones based on camera, so not a big deal to me, but for someone that requires a top notch camera on their phone this wouldn't be for you.

Screen is crystal clear, I don't see how the resolution can get any better on a screen this size, its really is stunning and you cannot make out individuals pixels at all.

Performance wise, for an Android device its as fast as I've seen/tried...WP8 seems smoother and faster but a heck of a lot less useful then Android. So, again, for an android device, its tough to beat this phones performance.

For those, like me, that prefer a normal "ring" on a phone and not a stupid melody/song etc you will need to download a ringtone as it seems Motorola has officially ditched a normal ringtone in their stock phones. Oh well.

Being that Motorola mobility is now owned by Google its nice to know updates should be quick from here on out.

In short, if you want/need a phone that had outstanding battery life, performs very well and had excellent built quality get this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Phone may have latent touchscreen lockup problems

 

Nov 5, 2012 by ValerieF

Pro: Battery life is the best. Screen size is better than most others except for Galaxy 3. Like the keyboard and ability to get to vibrate on touch. Great volumne and sound. World phone and takes an SD card. From everything I read, it was to be "the" best phone.

Con: After about 10 days of ownership, the screen seemed not to respond to my touch very well and I had to touch it several times. A day later, it just stopped responding to touch making all of the wonderful features worthless. I could not even answer a call. If this problem occurs boarding an airplane, you cannot shut the phone off nor take out the battery (since it is not removeable.) You can only do a hard reset which is hold the on switch and volumne button for 10 sec. That just manually reboots the phone but does not turn off. Hence, phone is active in receiving data and calls, but you cannot answer, nor respond to anything. This is a serious problem as it could boot the owner off a plane. Since I was one of the early owners of this phone on the Verizon network, I wonder if this issue will start to appear as more own it for more than a month. Luckily I was barely within the 14 days and marched it back to the store and completely returned it. This also speaks to a greater issue in phone design. If a battery is non removable, there should be another way the phone can be turned completely off.
I may wait to re-purchase this phone after several months in order to make sure no new issues evolve. Perhaps by then Jellybean will be out on this Motorola phone.(:

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Droid Razr Maxx HD - Love this phone!!

 

Nov 12, 2012 by JohnK

Pros:
Well built, light weight,beautiful construction and good balance while holding.
Call reception excellent and people on the other end of the call state that they can hear me loud and clear.
I had the Droid X; which I loved prior to the Razr Maxx HD is a great step forward.Easy to use, fast, very intuitive.
The screen is bright and clear and actually takes good pictures if you use the HDR setting. The screen has beautiful colors and the camera works good. I take a photo of one of the ladies at our office that a birthday party and she couldn't believe vivid and sharp my photos turn out.
Cons;
None
Summery: I waited a long time for this phone to be available and it was totally worth the wait. I do a lot of desert camping and I wanted a phone that had great battery life, that was rugged and had the latest features and the Droid Razr Maxx HD surpasses all of my needs in a new smartphone.
I couldn't be happier with my new phone; which I bought the first day that it was released on October the 18th.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

I came back to this smartphone.

 

Jun 25, 2013 by Cellular Phone

I had the Droid RAZR Maxx HD from January till May.

I switched down to a dumbphone to save money, but honestly, I missed the Razr so I just switched back.

Pros:

-HD screen is colorful, and decently bright.
-Phone feels solid unlike other Android devices out there.
-Battery life is great for a smart phone.
-Qualcomm's "quick-charge" technology, the phone recharges more quickly than other phones.
-the 4.7 inch display is big but not so big that you cannot use it with one hand.
-You get 32 GB of internal memory, which is more than enough for me.
-Call quality is good.
-Signal strength is good.
-When on LTE, the browsing is fast.
-The phone is just beautiful, yet it is well-built.

Cons:

-The phone can be slow at times. The best way around this is to power it off at least once a day.
-If you have GPS, Wifi, cellular data, notifications, and everything else turned on, it will drain the battery quickly. Also, the screen brightness will impact batter life.
-User interface is a little complex, especially when trying to use the phone as a phone. (It takes a little learning curve).
-Screen could have better pixel density, but still it is a good display.

If Motorola ever releases an updated version, I hope they up the battery to at least 4500 mAh (if if makes the phone a little thicker, I don't mind.) I also hope they pack more pixels into the display, and that they simplify the user interface a little.

Until then, I think this current model from Motorola is one of their absolute best, and I would reccomend it as an upgrade. I think the cons are ones most people can live with, and the pros make it a worthy phone to own.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Motorola Was So Close...

 

Jun 24, 2013 by BoltedThunder16

I got this phone as an upgrade to my HTC Thunderbolt (which I'd had since the day it came out). I was so excited about the battery life. I had the extended battery for the Thunderbolt, and I was beyond thrilled to get a slim, sleek phone with unbeatable battery life. I was so enthused that I let my eagerness overshadow the fact that the battery isn't removable. Doesn't seem like a big issue, right? Wrong. Horribly wrong.I got this less than 3 days ago and I've already had issues with the battery overheating and the phone freezing to the point where I had to let it die. I don't have it bogged down with apps, I wasn't multitasking, I wasn't even running a flash-based website! I was hoping the dual-core processor and 1 GB of Ram would really make this phone snappy and awesome. When the phone isn't frozen or overheated, it's lagging. I dread pressing the home button, because I could make my own syrup from a tree tap faster than my home screen will load. The keyboard has delay, my menu screens have delay - everything has delay.

I wanted so badly to love this phone. I wanted the sleek, slim, rugged casing with an extraordinary battery and the snappy UI. The UI is great when it works properly. It's simple, but not too simpleton. I really loved it. Too bad. I've ordered my replacement phone.
Pros: Motorola UI, loud external speaker, neat notification light (flashes different colors depending on what the alert is,) nice screen, awesome build quality, decent camera, doesn't come with a ton of bloatware, and it comes with Google Chrome as the default Browser straight out of the box.
Cons: Non-removable battery, dual-core processor in what's becoming a quad-core processor market, lag, battery overheating, a little awkward to hold in the hand due to boxy design, and the battery life isn't as good as it's cracked up to be. The phone can last forever on Stan-by, but the battery drains quickly when using the phone (especially with the screen on - even at low brightness.)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Overall Good Combination of Features

 

May 6, 2013 by stavxros

Overall this has been a very good phone. The interface is very fast.

PROS:
Very clear screen.
Amazing battery life.
Fantastic cell reception.
Good call quality.

CONS:
Some screen freezes and restarts when accessing SD card contents.
Random SD card removal warning (now a known issue).
NO MORE USB MOUNT (only MTP)!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great Phone, Gets the Job Done

 

May 4, 2013 by GrinderCB

My personal upgrade and my employer phone option came up at the same time...what to do? For my work phone I took the HTC Droid DNA and my personal upgrade I got the MAXX HD. Thios review is for the MAXX HD. The deal-breaker here was expandable memory. The MAXX HD was the only one of the two that took SD cards. The MAXX HD is also heavier and bulkier than the DNA but that was the trade-off on the SD card issue. Battery life is superior, but only slightly more than the smaller, lighter RAZR M, but the MAXX HD has the best looking display I've ever seen. I'm holding onto my unlimited data bundle til they "pry it from my cold, dead hands" and as such I watch a lot of video on Netflix, etc. Once again, the screen is gorgeous, for videos, for pictures, for games, you name it.

PROS:
- Did I mention the beautiful screen
- Above-above-average battery life
- Great sound quality, speakers/earbuds needed by only serious audiophiles.
- Takes up to 64GB Micro SD cards
- Very fast interface

CONS:
- As with most phones, battery life in real life is shorter than quoted in the specs
- Jelly Bean made sound controls rather tedious (separate settings for calls, text notifications, apps, music player, etc)
- The trade-off for the SD card and battery life is that this phone is heavier and bulkier
- Device froze recently, requiring the old [PWR]+[Vol Down] reboot to restart...but it's only happened once, now making me paranoid

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Very Nice Phone, Superb Battery Life!

 

May 3, 2013 by WKG   updated May 3, 2013

Recently upgraded to the Razr Maxx HD from the original Droid Razr. While the original was very good phone the Razr Maxx HD improves on it in several categories. The screen is excellent and the increased size and resolution is appreciated. Dimensions are basically similar but the Maxx HD actually feels better in the pocket and isn't as bulky. Battery life just kills, 80% left at the end of day with moderate to fairly heavy usage. The phone is responsive with virtually no lag time and no crash or lockup issues. Calls are clear and loud with very good reception. Motorola is probably the best in that department. Internal storage of 32GB and external SD card capable for another 32GB makes it unlikely you will ever run out of space. Excellent build quality and feel. Add Kevlar backing and Gorilla glass front and it becomes probably the most durable phone out right now.

All in all a very nice, logically implemented and extremely functional phone. After reading some of the critical reviews here I seriously doubt the writers have ever actually spent time with it or learned how to properly use it. If you are looking to upgrade there are certainly many nice phones out right now but do not pass the Razr Maxx HD up without giving it a serious look.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1