Phone Scoop

printed July 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3891&r=40890

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Coolpad  ›

Coolpad Quattro 4G

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  7  

Phone Scoop Review

2
Overall
3
Reception
3
Battery Life
3.5
Hardware Usability
3.5
Hardware Quality
3
Display
3
Interface Speed
1
Audio Volume
1
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

2.08
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Unremarkable

 

Sep 10, 2013 by thebrownrobert

This is the first smartphone I've owned. I wasn't expecting much for the price, but since I only planned on using it for texting, phone calls, and playing music, I figured it would suffice. It seemed to perform decently at first, but over the last 10 months of owning it, I have grown to hate some of its irritating shortcomings.

First of all, the battery life is terrible. I'm lucky to squeeze 8 hours out of it if I don't use it much, but under heavy use, it barely lasts 4 hours. I made a habit out of carrying a charger with me to work because it doesn't make it to the end of the day.

The camera is a joke. I wasn't expecting to take great pictures on a cell phone in the first place, but I was surprised by how bad the camera was even with my low expectations. The LED flash stopped working and now it sometimes takes scrambled or distorted pictures.

The touch screen isn't any good either. Sometimes it glitches out and will completely stop registering keystrokes until I reboot the phone. It isn't very accurate even when it does work. It recently started causing the screen to flash colors and the phone to reboot abruptly when tapping the screen.

The speakers are useless. I miss calls and texts because I can't hear them. The handset is so inert that I have to use speaker phone and press it against my ear so I can hear.

The reception leaves much to be desired. It shows two bars almost all of the time, but even on the occasion it shows five, it still drops texts and misses phone calls. The 4G isn't bad when it works, but it constantly stops working when I'm in the middle of doing something. It is especially irritating now that I have to toggle airplane mode and/or reboot the phone for it to grab a signal for a few minutes at a time.

In conclusion, spend a little more money and go with a name brand. This phone wasn't that good when it was new and it only gets worse as the hardware begins to fail prematurely.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


CoolPad- A Big Disaappointment

 

Apr 18, 2013 by mzdee53

The only Pro I have is that this phone was affordable and eligible for a 50 buck rebate .
Cons: Everything else! ,
The external memory size left much to be desired. Even after I added a 16 GB SD card, I was still being asked to remove apps! Why? Because the phone will not allow you to transfer most apps to your external memory, that's why!
The orientation sensor was no good .The orientation changed whenever it pleased.
When using the keyboard, it would not recognize certain letters cannot tell you which ones because it was a random situation.
The voice caller application started up frequently without any input from me whatsoever.
I am not a tekkie, but the android platform appears to be outdated with no signs of any updates available, so lots of apps was out of my reach which may have been a good thing cause I could not download any more anyway because I was out of storage space, in spite of 16 GB external memory
I missed lots of calls because the ringer volume varied on its own.
The phone is thick, clumsy, and heavy. Too large for not being able to have more memory!
What isn't wrong with this phone?
I had bought my college student son this same phone. He called me the other day to tell me that he cannot use his phone because the screen went out on it. Oh by the way,I purchased the phones in October 2012!
The pull down bar kept rolling back up!
Oh don't let me forget to tell you that the battery life was dead, get it? Dead! I had to charge the Coolpad Quattro at least 3 times in a 24 hour time span and I would get 45 minutes worth of use out of this phone.
Needless to say,$100.00 rebate I received and the low monthly phone bill, that the phone qualified me for. All is not a total lost for me! Read reviews folks, they do us in the right direction. I hope that this helps other folks not to make the same mistake. summarily speaking, I found no redeeming qualities for this phone at all. Just the promotional aspect of it all!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Frustraed it

 

Jan 22, 2013 by jaymaurivas

The phone is a ok phone for a person that dont used it a lot, great price but, key pad is so bad is slow everytime you try to type fast the keypad don't respond, a lot of app are not support it by the phone.
4g work great, I never have a drop call, poor battery life, I have to purchase 2 more batteries and i keep 2 charge and one in used, if i get 2 hour battery life is a lot. is not many accessories to choose out there. Bad camara quality, today days the cell phone have better camara. I keep the phone because I cant afford to purchase a new one. This company have to work hard if want to be in the race of cell phone business.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Square does't work

 

Nov 4, 2012 by Joparratia

Nice phone, keyboard not the best, and some apps doesnt support example square.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone but ..

 

Oct 22, 2012 by chriswezy

Nice phone , Great Processor speed but Ive had multiple problems with this phone . The soft keys are very Defective and Annoying . Youtube on full screen hd glitches allot . The front camera quality it terrible . Very bad Battery . But this is the company's first phone. The good thing about this phone is the amazing blazing fast 4G speed and the 4 inch screen . Nice phone for 80 $

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


standard 4g smatphone

 

Oct 20, 2012 by jewelz95

Not the best phone out there but, it could be a great starter phone for anyone making the transition to 4G service on the phone is definitely more reliable however a few things I'm not too crazy about, for one the screen resolution could be a bit better for such a large screen and I wish it would respond a little quicker but for $79 I guess you could say you get what you pay for.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2