Phone Scoop

printed November 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3861&r=40823

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Pantech  ›

Pantech Renue

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  3  

Phone Scoop Review

1.5
Overall
1
Reception
4
Battery Life
2.5
Hardware Usability
3
Hardware Quality
1
Display
3
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
0.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.17
Overall
3.83
Reception
3.33
Battery Life
4.5
Hardware Usability
4.17
Hardware Quality
4.17
Display
3.17
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
2.5
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

I love this phone

 

Mar 8, 2014 by CRK4385

I purchased this phone three weeks ago as a replacement for another phone I had that recently got liquid damage. I am glad that I made this purchase. What got me interested in this phone was the small and cute size. It fits easily in my pocket or purse. I also like the fact that it is a world phone. I like the slide out QWERTY keyboard and the audio quality. It is louder and clearer than on my previous phone. I also like being able to set the touch feedback. This phone's call quality is pretty good for a quick messaging phone. This phone hardly drops calls and it is pretty durable. The camera and video recorder on this phone are not the best, but I did not buy the phone for that purpose. I like the address book. However, I wish that it allowed me to enter my contacts' instant messenger screen names in their entries. I read numerous complaints about this phone not notifying users of missed calls, but this phone actually does do that. You just have to be on the main screen to see the notifications. If you have the phone on another screen, the notifications will not be displayed. I like the touch screen and the touch-sensitive buttons. However, I think they are too responsive. All in all, I am happy with this phone and recommend it to others.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Mid Range/High End Feature Phone

 

Oct 11, 2012 by DocAlchemy

I received the Pantech Renue as a insurance replacement for my old LG encore( I was lucky to get it new and not refurbished)

Here is my review.

Pros:
Very good solid phone build
Easy menu interface
A lot of bells and whistles for a feature phone
Decent browser (Remember this is a feature phone not a smart phone)
Easy to use (messaging and phone call)
Battery life

Cons:
A auto focus and flash would have been a nice addition.
A little more internal memory
Easier way to delete recent text message recipients
Even though the menu interface is easy to use. A few menu pages could be deleted.
A cover for the micro usb to keep out dirt, lint. etc
A front facing full duplex speaker phone
FM Radio option.
Need better browser software support. When it tries to switch you to the HTML version of a page. It locks up sometimes.
Have to read the AT&T tutorial and the Pantech website tutorial to find out how to adjust the settings on the phone. Not much documentation is provided.

My phone recently died and I decided to get an insurance replacement.

I was surprised when they offered me the phone. I was a tad bit hesitant (due to the fact it was a sideways slider and all I have ever used was full touch screens)

But after having the phone for a week I have to say I am extremely impressed with my first Pantech phone.

It does all I need to do (Facebook, Twitter, Check Email, basic web page surfing)

Two things to remember when you are considering buying this phone. It's a feature phone and will not have all the bells and whistles of smart phones and you will need to go into an AT&T store and have your SIM card updated. It uses a micro SIM card.

I hope AT&T and Pantech provide software support to knock out a few bugs and glitches. (Crossing fingers that an software engineers for Pantech and AT&T read these forums)

If they do this phone will be a very good option for people not looking for a smart phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

I love this phone!

 

Feb 16, 2014 by crkkuczek   updated Feb 21, 2014

I bought this phone today as a replacement for my liquid damaged LG Xpression. In the short time I have had this device, I have found many positive things.

Positive:

- well-built
- audio quality
- touch buttons
- speaker quality
- bright touch screen
- power saver feature
- loud ringtones (pick the right one, though)
- vibration feedback setting you can turn on and off
- comes with the data cable to add and remove content from the phone
- thin
- world phone
- physical slider QWERTY keyboard
- good battery life
- can move the icons around on the menu screen to your liking

CONS:

- I wish the ring volume was louder.
- could have better camera, but that is not what I bought the phone for.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

speaker problems....

 

Nov 21, 2013 by allidance

Ive actually had the same problem with my pantech renue. I purchased my first one and about a month later I would make a phone call and they could not hear me but I could hear them. I took it back and the insurance sent me another one and again I had the exact same problem. Now I am debating on whether I should have insurance get me another or if I should just go buy a different kind of phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NO

 

Sep 21, 2012 by bizzyvietboi

cons - text message ringtone not loud enough (had to set it to go off every 2 minutes), Battery died in 2 days on standby, loading pictures take too long, response time on it is picky.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Does not indicate missed calls

 

Sep 8, 2012 by rereksnake

Requested this phone, without data plan, to be used for simple text and telephone usage.

The phone will NOT indicate missed calls, if you should receive one. You can navigate to the "call log" and find out there if you have a missed call - very very bad. I called Pantech, and their solution is also to navigate to the call log and see your missed calls.

This single reason alone is why I am returning the phone.

Should you still want to purchase this phone, the screen resolution is pretty weak. I often accidentally "hang up" the phone when I retrieve it from my pocket.

As a smart phone, this is the bottom of the barrel.

The only plus I can think of is the slide out keyboard.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2