Phone Scoop

printed July 26, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3847&r=41136

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Droid RAZR M

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  5  

Phone Scoop Review

3.5
Overall
4
Reception
4
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
4
Hardware Quality
3
Display
3
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.21
Overall
4.25
Reception
4.63
Battery Life
4.75
Hardware Usability
4.75
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
4.13
Interface Speed
4.13
Audio Volume
4.13
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Nice features, but bad call quality

 

Dec 1, 2012 by jbraude

When I was eligible for a Verizon upgrade (from my iPhone 4), I narrowed my choices to the iPhone 5 and the Droid M. I went with the Droid M because it was $150 cheaper and received many glowing reviews.

I set up the phone easily and liked its many features...but then discovered that phone calls sounded terrible. I called many people to get their opinions and it was unanimous - the calls sounded bad at both ends.

I considered just exchanging my phone for another Droid M, but decided just to pay the difference and go back to an iPhone. Using the iCloud backup from my iPhone 4, I was able to set up the iPhone 5 and have not looked back.

The Droid M was worth a try and maybe I just got a bad one, but based on my experience, I can't recommend it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Possibly The Best LTE Phone Currently Out

 

Nov 20, 2012 by GrinderCB   updated May 4, 2013

The RAZR M is now my third LTE phone (thanks to my employer's test phone program). I've had it about a month now, activating it with Ice Cream Sandwich and just getting the Jellybean update last week. This phone is smooth. Everything works. I love the nice, tight body and with the Kevlar back and Gorilla Glass touch screen the RAZR M feels durable. The screen bezel is minimal so there's no wasted space on excess case size. As a result even with a protective silicon skin the phone fits easily into a pocket. Apps open quickly and the touchscreen is very responsive.

Pros:
-Limited bezel reduces body size without giving up screen size
-Responsive touchscreen
-Excellent battery life

Cons:
-Would love an extra 1/4"-3/8" screen size (at my age I have to get my glasses to read my phone)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Best phone I have ever had or sold!

 

Oct 22, 2012 by dmartin479

Motorola has simply outdone themselves on this one. I did not like the bigness of the Razr Maxx when trying to text with one hand and this Razr M is the perfect solution. Great battery, great resolution, only issue would be that I had a customer that bought one from me and could not get signal at his home and he could with an HTC Incredible 3 4G LTE. That astonisihed me because Motorola has always ruled with the best chip set for signal in the past. But hands down I will not be using anything other than the Razr M until something better comes along and that will be tough. 4.3 inch screen is awesome and not a giant to carry around.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Excellent bang for buck phone

 

Sep 19, 2012 by NSmitty   updated Jun 10, 2013

I bought this phone for only $50 and now that it's free, it's a steal. The basic hardware (chassis, processor, camera) is all top notch and it shows in daily use; the phone rarely exhibits lag or hesitation and I love that it is essentially stock android 4.1.2 with only a minimal Motorola skin on top. I even like the changes that Motorola has made; swiping left to access quick settings, the round clock/weather/battery widget and the new page templates are all great (if you don't like them, just download a new launcher). I was worried that a 960x540 resolution display might seem grainy or pixelated, especially considering it's a pentile matrix, but the screen looks fantastic and the lower resolution is not an issue and may be one of the phones strengths. Because the already powerful processor has fewer pixels to drive relative to a standard 1280x720 resolution display, the phone feels that much faster and likely experiences better battery life as well. Speaking of battery life, this phone is a champ; with a 2Ah battery and 7.9in^2 of screen real estate to power (versus a Galaxy S3 with 9.8 and an iPhone 5 with 6.8), I can make it through 2 days of minimal use and a full day of heavy use. Moving on to the size of the phone; it's a small phone with a display that's as edge-to-edge as any I've ever seen. The size is very close to the iPhone 5 in terms of height and width but it is a little thicker. For the thickness; the phone is wedge-shaped and thicker at the top than the bottom. The thickness in the middle of the device is about 9.7mm compared to the published figure of 8.3mm. The size is right on and the rounded back corners make it comfortable to hold.

Pros:
1. Screen size/resolution is a good balance.
2. Powerful S4 processor.
3. Excellent battery life.
4. Nearly stock Android.
5. Compact size.
6. Edge-to-edge-display (nearly).
7. No physical home button.

Cons:
1. Only 8GB internal storage.
2. Only accepts up to 32GB micro sd card.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Perfect for my needs

 

Sep 3, 2013 by jakelodico

I have owned my limited edition Platinum Silver Droid Razr M for about 5 months. I got it through Best Buy for free with my upgrade. This is my third Android phone - in the past, I have owned the Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate and the Pantech Breakout 4G LTE. In this review, I will be comparing my experiences with those models to the experience I've had with the Razr M.

Let me give you an idea of how I use my phone. I am an absolute music freak, and I am always listening to music on the go. I do a fairly decent amount of texting, and quite a bit of social media checking as well. My screen time usually exceeds just over 3 hours on a normal day.

I'll cover the hardware first. Upon taking it out of the box, this phone felt miniscule compared to my previous Fascinate and Breakout, despite having a larger screen size than the others. It's built very well and has survived several drops with no issues or damage. Best I have owned in this respect. My only complaint about the hardware is the mediocre quality of both the front and rear cameras. Photos always seem to look blurry and unfocused.

Software wise this phone is also great. It runs Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean. I rooted my previous phones, but I have not yet felt the need to do so with this one. The Fascinate and Breakout had bloated, underpowered stock ROMs which I promptly removed and flashed Cyanogenmod onto. Talking stock ROMs only, the newer generation of Motorola DROIDs come closest to giving the Nexus experience to the user. Simple, intuitive, nothing over the top. Perfect. I am still waiting for a 4.2/4.3 update but for now I will hold onto 4.1.

The 2000mAH battery cell is excellent. The Fascinate only had a sub 8-hour life for me, and the Breakout was even worse, prompting me to connect my charger after 4-6 hours of moderate use. This phone gives me 12-16 hours of use on a normal day.

Best of all? It was FREE and has been the most reliable phone I have ever owned. Couldn't ask for better.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

best phone ive had yet!

 

May 11, 2013 by droidiot7

I went from an Apple Iphone4s to this phone and all i can say is amazing. so many things are way easier and more fun on this than the iphone. Dont understand the people on here who gave it 1 star, must not like amazing phones that dont suck.

PROs
-great screen
-loud speakers
-great camera
-fast UI
-light compact and sleek, w kevlar!
-Videos are amazing on here

CONs
-storage
-Do not get the screen protector, makes screen fuzzy!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Motorola Droid Razr M

 

Mar 7, 2013 by MotoLuvr

Best phone I've ever owned, and I've owned dozens of them. Top notch call quality. Full bars most of the time. Excellent battery. The list of pluses goes on and on. No complaints.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AWESOME PHONE!!

 

Jan 19, 2013 by cellularking198

AMAZING BATTERY LIFE AND NEVER FREEZES

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Highly Recommend

 

Oct 26, 2012 by superman223

The Razr M is my first "smartphone". I had a Samsung Convoy previously. Being this is my first smartphone, I don't have anything to compare it too, but I have to say that its overall and awesome phone. It is obviously a big jump from a flip phone, but I didn't realize really how much you can do. Here are some key points:

Pros-

-Build is solid yet relatively light
-Screen is very clear and vibrant
-Processor is very fast
-Camera is good and HD video is great
-All the bells and whistles which I'll only use a fraction of but they are there
-I like that it has a 4.3 in. screen but it still fit's nicely in your hand. It's comparable in size to the IPhone 5
-Gmail and Chrome are great
-There are so many settings to consider that it takes a while to get everything the way you like it, but that is not a big deal

Cons-

-Compared to other smartphone, the battery life is quite good...however, i didn't have to charge my flip phone for a week. I get about 1.5-2 days per charge so far. Use the SmartActions App and other settings to minimize battery usage.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Phone....

 

Oct 13, 2012 by sam912

I returned the Galaxy S III, then the Droid Maxx for this phone. I could not be happier with my choice.

Pros:
--Not the latest and greatest, but the screen is amazingly clear.
--Edge to edge screen and the fact that they were able to submit a 4.3 inch screen into a compact phone.
--Compact size.
--Tremendous call quality.
--Great speaker phone.
--Battery life.
--Overall build quality and feel of phone.

Cons:
--Can't replace battery.
--Phone gets bogged down from time to time.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1