Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3830&r=41064

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG Optimus L9 / Optimus 4G

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  9  

Phone Scoop Review

2.5
Overall
3
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
3
Hardware Usability
2.5
Hardware Quality
3.5
Display
3
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.4
Overall
4.83
Reception
3.83
Battery Life
4.67
Hardware Usability
4.33
Hardware Quality
4.33
Display
3.83
Interface Speed
3.83
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great Quality...Limited Memory

 

Jul 27, 2013 by ricAndroid

Carrier: T-Mobile

I made the jump from a Sidekick 4G to this and do not regret it at all! Sure, the lack of substantial user memory for apps is bad but once rooted and debloated, it does free up more storage.

There seems to be a persistent bug while using the keypad during calls. The screen flashes suddenly and cannot make selections with automated systems. To bypass this, I have to make calls to those systems with the speaker on.

Pros:

Gorilla Glass. 'nuff said!

Nice camera! I removed the stock camera app and am using Camera JB+. Not the best quality at 5 megapixels but good enough for me.

Battery life has improved once I got rid of the background apps like Lookout and myAccount.

Web browsing is swift and painless using Chrome as the default. YouTube plays smoothly.

Movies play flawlessly using MXPlayer. I use the sound boost and it is just amazing!

Cons:

Locked bootloader. No custom roms for the P769 variant.

Frequent flashing of screen while using keypad during calls. Was not fixed with recent 20F update.

White settings menu looks cartoonish. But not a deal breaker.

Too much bloatware! Thank the Gods for the Easy Root method over at XDA!

Limited user storage for apps.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great Phone on a Budget

 

May 3, 2013 by ibnturab

Carrier: T-Mobile

The LG Optimus L9 is a decent android phone that covers all the basics without the expense. The size is perfect, not too small or too large and easily slips into your pocket. Its also a relatively rugged device as I have dropped it several times on concrete and asphalt without causing any serious damage. The rubber cover on the back is great for impact resistance.
Pros:
1) Dual Core Device
2) Great Battery life
3) T-mobile software not ruining device
4) Perfect size
5) Decent Camera
6) Can take a few falls without breaking.

Cons
1) Missing LED notification lights [for missed events, calls]
2) Volume is Low [ especially for messages]

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great Phone .... so far

 

Mar 19, 2013 by Cellular_Whiz

This is a very nice device for the price. I got it brand new off of craigslist, and recently brought a 32gb sd card to go with it. Smooth UI, swype and everything else you can expect from an android powered device. Nice camera, and video, great size and extermely light. Basically everything you want in a phone.

I have one main concern when it comes to the longevity of the device. What I mean by this is, the lack of memory. There is 4GB internal with only 1.8 available to the user. The problem is, LG doesnt allow you to move apps to external memory. Ive only had the phone for a week, and only have 400MB left to add additional apps. And the stock apps I know I wont use (ie Google Books) cant really be deleted to free up space. Im a little concerned about this, but other than that great device. If your going to have alot of apps, you might want to look elsewhere. Still gets a 4.5 from me ... for now that is.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Bang for the buck Pleasantly surprised

 

Jan 26, 2013 by landmarkcm   updated Jan 26, 2013

Well Lg finally comes through with a good phone. Decent battery life, Hardly no lag, Great camera, better then some with higher mp's!! Just proves that doesn't count for everything & I wouldn't want less then 5 but ya its good! Video is excellent too. I thought I was all set with Windowsphone. But wow so many more great apps on Android. Im back & sticking with it on this great device. Nice and slim great looks to. You wouldn't know its a 4.5 inch screen just by glancing. They did a great job with the chassis. Highly recommend & for 199.00 on Tmobiles no contract monthly 4g makes it all the better.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Optimus L9?? This is a Optimus? Move over bacon

 

Dec 30, 2012 by cellfixx   updated May 5, 2013

Two days with this phone and I really like it. Smooth operation.
Pros:
Light, thin, large screen, easy access to the buttons.
Shows 4g service with at&t sim card (after unlock code)
fast internet.
Cons:
1 second delay from unlock to swipe screen. (no big deal)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1