Phone Scoop

printed October 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=383&r=7056

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-E715

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.87
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 4567

Older phone with great features, good buy

 

Jul 25, 2005 by etwod

This is an older model phone, but I actually MADE $155 after rebates with a 1 yr contract. not worth 300, but definately worth around $100

pros:
Image quality is great- pictures are rich in color unlike both my parents free camera-phones.
it can store 200 pictures, I dont plan on taking that many.
led status light: my old phone did not have a signal status led. The led will blink if you have service, which helps at night when I want to make sure I have service. you can choose from 7 colors or off.
You can use it as a flashlight- the second led on the outside is for flash & light. You can hit the side volume buttons for a few seconds to make the flashlight go on. You can also choose how long it stays on for.
I keep my phone on my belt, so its a handsfree flashlight. A bright & very pure white color. awesome for at night!
led will change colors when you have a call (you can turn off also)

cool oled on front
looks stylish

good signal, even in basements (t-mobile IL)

neutral:
no speakerphone, but I mever used it much anyways.
No bluetooth, the reason I got a new phone was because my bluetooth headset broke, and I did not find any other headset worth buying, so its not really missed

No individual ringtones for EVERY person, but you can have it for 10 groups
lags a little, but it DOES do what you type, even if there is a delay

Missed calls do not show up on the oled, but they do show on inside. It will only come up on oled if they leave a voice mail-AWESOME. If you get a text message, there will be an orange icon which is easy to tell from turquoise colored clock.

typing is only hard becuase my cover slips up and down grr.

dislikes:
I expected to get much better battery life from this, my old n-gage qd would get the same as this. I currently get about 2 days of use out of this.
(this may be because I did not fully charge it when I first got it)

for flash to work, you MUST be close to person while in the dark.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Still going strong

 

Jan 12, 2005 by ajgalli

I've used Samsungs for years now. The E715 is one of the best that I have owned. It doesn't have Bluetooth, or an email client, but everything else is there.

Pros:
Nice keypad
Great reception (Chicago, Cincinnati, Atlanta)
Great talk time (5+ hrs)
Good standby (~7 days)
Nice screen
Compact and good build quality
Intuitive menu system
Nice OLED external display
T9 is nice
Flashlight (and camera flash)

Cons:
Custom graphics seems to slow the interface down on occasion
No Bluetooth (but I can forgive)
Okay camera
Send picture is a little cumbersome
PIM needs a little work

All in all, Samsung has made another winner with me. I highly recommend it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


just right

 

Dec 8, 2004 by kuyauvdayear

ive had this phone for about a year now and it just died. but man thats actually a long time considering ive pretty much dropped it a bazillion times.. i also left it in the snow in australia for a night this past summer. my little cousin also threw it up against the ceiling a couple times.. the funny part is that it didnt die from damaged insides.. the battery just cant keep a charge anymore. so all in all this was the perfect beat around flip phone. i hope that my new mpx220 can last as long. if not, thank tmo for phone insurance.
pro's:
-takes a good beating and still keeps up
-high reception with internal antena
-screen is bright even when low in battery
-fast processor
-easy to customize firmware with optiflash and easy gprs
-vga pix are great on 3x5
-IR easily detected by my pda and computer
-alarm saved me so many times. very loud and annoying (perfect to get you up)
-when in silent/vibrate mode, vibration is hardcore!

con's:
-when inside your pocket, camera side button might be pressed and will take lots of pictures
-camera shutter sound took me a while to turn off. no default option to turn it off. you must delete it in the firmware.
-doesnt work too well with other carriers like cingular/att. (not as many reception bars)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone sucks!!

 

Dec 6, 2004 by ziccarer

First of all, the front screen looks great at night but you cant see it at all if there is even a little sunlight!! You cant feel it vibrate unless its attached 2 ur belt!! Even the ringer is not loud at all on high. You cant change the volume unless you go through the menu,( the side up/down button only controls the F-ing KEY volume) Now why the hell would i need the ease of changing the key volume!!! Who stupid is that!! Honestly the phone is crap compared to Sanyo's phone. This phone even feels cheap when its opened! Sorry but i have owned so many phone in the last 6 years and this one is just crap for the price of 250.00!! Also if your finger is over the internal antenna, you just may drop the call! And going back to the outside display, this thing is soo bright at night in my room that it will leave a shadow on the ceiling if you face it upward!!! The programing is just soo bad that whoever programed it must not have a Mobile phone that they use everyday!!!!!!!!!
One good thing is that the battery does last for a good while, camera is pretty good, seeing that i never use a camera on my phone that means absolutely nothing. The flash does turn into a flash light which comes in handy!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This Phone Is Horrible!!!!!

 

Nov 30, 2004 by vizzionman

I bought this phone in july of 2004. I hate it. The camera is to blurry. the screen is to small. No speaker phone. No bluetooth. No mp3. It doesnt let you sign ringtones to individual people. No outside color screen. Annoying little kid ringtones.
Pro's
-A Camera(but sucks)

Con's
-The price
-Everything

I suggest you dont buy the phone. Never buy it.Never.

I cant believe that it is $200 right now. Unbelievable!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SOLID PHONE

 

Nov 18, 2004 by tkdjrod1323

i really like this phone alot..love the disign with the internal intenna. nice screen...loud ringtones..the only thing that is a con is the flash on the camera..cuz it doesnt help a bit..but other than that its a great phone all around.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone but Calendar sucks

 

Nov 14, 2004 by jigounov

Pros:
Phone is great and flashy.

Cons:
1. PC sync cable is for COM port instead of USB
port (For those who do not know: COM ports were popular in the last century but still present in some computers).
2. Calendar is for 1 day only. You can't schedule appointment for tomorrow unless you wake up in the middle of the night and schedule it.
3. Software sucks. Plain and simple. Calendar has no sync with Outlook Calendar.

I returned this phone and got Motorola V600. It's not that flashy on outside but software
designed by humans and fits the century.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


i have the E700

 

Nov 14, 2004 by cecilia

I got the E700 for xmas 2003 and it was da best fone i eva ad da camera is da best i hav no complaints evry1 should by dis! lol england rules!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Satisfied

 

Oct 22, 2004 by quikfeat

Overall, very satisfied w/E715-pros: nice small phone, no antenna, no reception problems, decent camera for a phone; cons: picture caller id not on outside-only inside so of no use since have to answer anyway to see pic inside, organizer if you do use it does not let you assign alarm notification prior to the date you have the appointment on, the most annoying thing for me is it can't vibrate and ring at the same time like other phones. But overall a great phone-if Samsung can fix those cons mentioned for this T-Mobile phone than the rating goes up to a 5.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Litterally Garbage

 

Sep 24, 2004 by sickman9087

software problems, dim screen, bad resolution, loose hinges, easily scratch camera lens, everything terrible.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 4567

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1