Phone Scoop

printed October 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3825&r=41058

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG Optimus G (CDMA)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  2  

Phone Scoop Review

2.5
Overall
3
Reception
1.5
Battery Life
2
Hardware Usability
3.5
Hardware Quality
4
Display
3.5
Interface Speed
3
Audio Volume
2.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4
Overall
4.17
Reception
2.33
Battery Life
3.17
Hardware Usability
4
Hardware Quality
4.17
Display
4.33
Interface Speed
4.17
Audio Volume
4.33
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great Phone!

 

Feb 7, 2013 by insutantu

I'm usually not a big Android fan, but this phone has made me reconsider that view. It is absolutely amazing. The phone is incredibly fast, very responsive, and the screen is beautiful. The IPS panel really looks great. The camera also takes excellent pictures. The battery life isn't quite as long as they say from my usage, but it still lasts much longer than most other Android phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

waste of my time

 

Nov 2, 2013 by tashiray

My first optimus lasted five months before it started over heating and reaching 110 degrees. I went in twice to get it looked at and they finally ordered me a new one after I had to download a gsam app to monitor the temp. I was told in no more than two days I would have the new phone. Five days later they called telling me it was in. I went in they set it up to my account and I was on my way. Once I got home I noticed my phone wouldn't go online so I did a profile update. It took me a few times since I kept getting connection errors or your profile is up to date messages. But after the sixth time it updated. I still had no data I had to be connected to wifi. I went back in where the tech performed a profile update again and sent me on my way. When I got home I again had no 3g. I went back every day for a week and a half having techs do things to the phone so that I can test what they did out of the store since the phone connected to the 4g. They finally ordered a new one giving up saying the antenna must be faulty.The replacement I have now also doesn't go online, won't make calls, power cycles randomly, when I try to text at all it will delete my text half way through, and sometimes will just delete the letter as I try to type. I went in and told them the problems and they just ordered me a new one. After five days I called and was told they never ordered it, and that they would order it that day and they were sorry. I called today five days after they said they would order it and they again have not ordered it. The phone has a nice screen, and nice sound. When it does make calls they are clear and rarely drop. I only had one drop because I was out of range of towers. But I use the internet on my phone a lot and I am tired of being told they will fix it then they don't. I don't get all my texts because some of them are pictures or large messages for a group and they won't download.The phone is also a bit big if you have small hands but you get use to it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Underrated

 

May 29, 2013 by medicineman360

When my latest contract was up, I decided to jump ship to Sprint (don't ask me why). I originally wanted to go with the S3, but the more I read about the LGOG, I realized that this was a little better phone (for roughly the same). Specs wise, the LGOG is actually a S3 killer... but that doesn't always tell the whole story.

Yes, the thing is fast. Like wicked fast. The Snapdragon 4 1.5 quadcore blazes through the the most demanding of processes, without even the slightest hiccup. The 2 Gb RAM only help keep things running smoothly.

32 Gb of disc space (roughly 25+/- Gb is usable) offers plenty of storage, despite the lack of external memory (Sprint only). I was concerned about no external storage, but it's crammed full now, with still another 18 Gb left.

The large screen is gorgeous. Period.

However, there is a MAJOR trade off...

The battery life is nothing but atrocious. Don't believe any of the hype or what the spec sheet states. After heavy "real world" usage, with everything on, I might get FOUR HOURS out of it, if I'm lucky.The majority of this time is spent on WiFi. You can cut corners and manage about 8 hours ("real world" use), but this is with the display set to 60%, 2 of the 4 cores on the cpu cut off, data off (wifi only). bluetooth off and power saver and "eco mode" on. The display is the largest battery hog, by far. Granted, only running in dual core mode, the cpu is still plenty fast. I just don't like to see a company tout certain features, when you have to disable them, almost right out of the box, due to the poor battery life.

Outside, in bright sunlight, the camera provides excellent results. Once you get to low light situations, or indoor shot, then the camera shows its weaknesses.

The external speaker is on the back side, so if you lay the phone on its back, the sound will be quite muffled.

Call quality on Sprint is good. 3g speeds are worse than AT&T's Edge speeds. LTE is just about here, and it's FAST!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Incredible!!!!

 

Mar 2, 2013 by ronbaker33   updated May 4, 2013

I made up my mind that it was either going to be this phone or the Samsung Galaxy III. I considered the Galaxy Note 2, however I thought that phone was a bit big. It's more of a tablet that has calling capabilities.

I chose the Optimus G. This phone is incredible. Great Screen. Super Fast! The camera is Amazing! I especially liked the fact that it didn't have a bunch Sprint bloat that came on my previous phones.

Calling is incredibly clear. It even has noise canceling capabilities if you use the speaker phone which the folks listening to you will especially appreciate.

It has a ton of internal storage. I can load all of my docs from my home computer on it, including pictures and some music and it doesn't slow down.

Some folks have complained about battery life but I have found it comparable to my girlfriends Galaxy III. Of course battery life is going to vary based on use and how much you have running in the background. It does have a built in feature that will turn off unnecessary apps while you sleep or when you need it to save battery life. I can generally go an entire without recharging. I recharge the phone while I sleep.

The only complaint I would have is that the phone is difficult to use at times for 1 hand operation. But, I am a smaller guy. I'm only 5"9" so I guess I am smaller than the average. If I were a bit bigger the phone might fit in my hand better.

The external speaker works well if the unit is held in your hand, but if you put it on the table, the sound is considerably muffled.

I have had the phone just a little over a week and I am still getting to know the phone. I will provide an update when I am more familiar with this phone. I hope this helps.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


perhaps a defected device?!

 

Feb 6, 2013 by hawaiisprint   updated Feb 6, 2013

This Lg phone is ok BUT the battery life is not what they say it is. I had the phone for one day and the battery dies way to quickly. When my phone is plugged to my laptop, the android keyboard goes wack. It starts entering letters that you are not touching and even when you're not touching the keyboard. The phone would also randomly vibrate while plugged into my laptop. Im getting my phone exchanged and until then, my rating for this device will remain a 2.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Phone

 

Jan 19, 2013 by vinnyn031674

I've had this phone for 2 weeks and this phone is amazing the quad core processor is very fast. The screen is very impressive with an amazing picture. This was a great choice for me. Also the 13 megapixel camers takes great pictures.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very nice

 

Dec 13, 2012 by Darryjr2866

All I can say is WOW! I am having a hard time understanding why this phone doesn't get more attention.i have had almost everything out there with exception to the galaxy note2. I am currently come from the galaxy s3 which I loved. I didn't know what to expect from this device being that I can't seem to find every day user reviews.i have done research and there seems to be a mixed bag of professional reviews. Finally I decided I had to give it a shot. Like I said I am coming from s3,no issues with that phone,I'm just a freak. This one blows it away,speed,screen,signal,build quality. The quad core is a beast,fastest phone I have used to date. It feels just right in hand,not cheap plastic feel.screen size is a tiny bit smaller than the galaxy,but works just fine. Just hope people start to realize what a phone this actually is and just wanted to share my thoughts,although no one else seems to be. Great phone, give it a try,

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1