Phone Scoop

printed October 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3801&r=40922

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy S III (AT&T)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  32  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
3.5
Reception
4
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
3.5
Hardware Quality
4
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
3.5
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.3
Overall
4.5
Reception
3.75
Battery Life
4.83
Hardware Usability
4.67
Hardware Quality
4.17
Display
4.67
Interface Speed
4.25
Audio Volume
4.42
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

Finally soemthing to keep my interest

 

Jul 15, 2012 by Jefesinbad

I've had this device for 2 Days now and absolutely love it. My recent devices include the Samsung Galaxy Nexus , Rezound , Bionic, Droid X2 and Droid X (on VZW), EVO, EVO 3D and Phonton (Sprint). I carry an iphone 4s for work. The S3 is my personal device
Here's my breakdown:

PROS;
-Screen in crisp and a pleasure to look at. Colors are true and text is amazingly clear.
-Camera takes amazing photos and works like it should, smooth and worry free.
-Calls are clear and loud, no echoes or static.
-Data is crazy fast, processor works great and device maintains nice signal.
-UI works and interface has nice intuitive features which make it the best Android UI on the market.
-Beats Audio is the real deal. The sound from these earbuds is nothing short of amazing.
-The battery life is astounding

CONS; None for phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


WOW

 

Nov 8, 2012 by ested23

This phone is a beast! There is so much things to learn, but its worth it. OMG! I just switched from HTC Vivid (in which I liked a lot) and man....a BIG improvement with the Galaxy S III!

Pros:
Great sound and call quality, loud speakers. SUPER fast internet browser. Size of the screen. GREAT picture quality (takes beautiful pics). Video is excellent too. Bluetooth connection and just tapping another phone to transfer (NFC) is another great feature. I don't fine anything wrong with this phone except that I am finding more stuff that I did not know was phone that is so much fun and useful to have. Very user friendly.

Cons:
None that I can find.

I love this phone.......PERIOD.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

The Best Device as of 7/29/12

 

Aug 11, 2012 by Jefestokes   updated Apr 28, 2013

I have everything from the rezound to the Razr Maxx and this by far is the best andriod phone on the market ,
Battery - I get 14 hours of somewhat heavy use. The HTC One series and the S3 line up are game changers.
Pro:
Audio Quality
Battery
Gorilla Glass
Gestures
SVoice (but android has had Google Voice for 2 yrs)
Slim
Swype On Board
Fast
Camera

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT phone

 

Jul 12, 2012 by prikay

Switched from a captivate about a week ago and was very pleased with that phone. The galaxy s3 blows it away! Standing out most to me is its pure speed -- both operating system and data. Also love the screen (its big and looks great) and camera. Call quality and speaker phone are excellent. The large size took some getting used to but now i dont want anything smaller!

The only cons I can think of are 1. Was hoping for better battery performance (but its not bad) 2. the default ring tones are pretty awful and 3. I've had problems setting up Google voice.

Near perfect, great job Samsung and Google.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Galaxy SIII

 

Jul 6, 2012 by BarnettJr2

Somewhat excellent phone, had Galaxy Skyrocket SII. Still getting use to phone . features & settings. Screens very similar. SIII somewhat faster. Prefer Skyrocket's less rounded corners & capacitive home button. After having capacative buttons for years now, seems to be a pain having to push a mechanical button for home screen. No overheating probs. Had to take batt out a couple of times to reset on freeze up. Seems to take more effort to slide unlock screen. N power saving mode, if u turn on reduced processor speed setting, slows down to much for me. Batt life isn't quite as good as Skyrocket, hard to get more than 10 hrs, with moderate use. Could get 12 hrs.+ with Skyrocket, with same use & settings. Reception & sound farily similar to Skyrocket SII.
Had for less than a week so far, only time will tell.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very pleased with phone.

 

Jul 6, 2012 by Brancieri

Had the phone for about a week and so far it is excellent. I'm coming from the BB Torch 9810. I have a hard time adjusting from the physical keyboard to the screen virtual keyboard. But, I am getting used to it fast. The voice dictation for email and texting is excellent. It transcribes as you dictate. At first I thought it was a little big, but again, I'm coming from a small device. I like the screen size and I have average hands so one hand texting is possible, without a bulky case. I have the body glove case from AT&T. Fits good and is thin.

Pros: Screen, apps, voice recognition, speed, multiple applications...ie you can watch video in the upper corner while writing an email or text.

Cons: in bright sunlight, you have to shad the screen a bit to see. Battery, but what can you really expect from so much power and the screen size.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


nothing even comes close!!! the best on the market!!!

 

Jan 28, 2013 by robert7107

i know am late here phone has been out for awhile now but, i had to give my option. still maybe people out there up for a upgrade and on the fence about this phone or which phone to get. so with that being said......

I'll keep it simple but detailed... hehehe confused hold on...

pros:

excellent signal strength (3-4 bars ) i live outside the city area (at&t)

battery.i take it off the charger in the morning and put it back on the charger when done for the evening and i still have 35-38% left.. i use my phone a lot!!!

call quality is clear.
web browser/apps is smooth and practically flawless..
big beautiful screen that jumps right out at you
speaker volume is amazing, phone is very loud ..
the jelly bean os is amazing. ics is good too but trust me jelly bean is it.
excellent features ..... very easy to custom to your liking....
build is good could use improvement..less plastic..
easy access to battery ,sim and sd card.... havent had to do a battery pull as of yet. old phone i was doing a battery pull weekly at best...

cons:

nothing really bad to say about the phone. would hope somewhere down the line they could update the keyboard with some color choices, want to keep stock keyboard but swift key is tempting ...

i own the pebble blue since 12/5/2012

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great phone for great price!

 

Nov 4, 2013 by Resendetra

I decided to get the S3 last night while at Best Buy, even though I was looking at the S4, but didn't want to spend $200 (it was only $1 for the S3 on a 2 year contract). I've never had a contract, always stuck with prepaid (like Boost or MetroPCS), so that in itself was a step up. I love this phone so far! It does everything that I need it to do and more. It takes nice pictures for an 8MP camera and watching videos is a crisp and clear experience. Call quality is really good, I can hear the person perfectly, and they can hear me just as good. Even the speakerphone is loud and clear.

You actually get more user accessible internal storage than the S4, which kind of sealed the deal for me. Because we all know that not everything saves to the SD card.

Signal strength is so good in Southwestern Michigan. My boyfriend used to have T-Mobile and he couldn't even get service where he works, but now that's not a problem with AT&T.

Battery life isn't too bad. A friend told me to let the battery drain completely (to where it shuts off) and then charge it until 100% without using the phone. It will help the battery life for the future.

I had the Samsung Galaxy Rush through Boost, which was a great phone, but the S3 knocks it out of the water, of course. My bf had the very first Galaxy, which he hated and enjoyed throwing it at the wall when it would freeze up.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wow... just... WOW!

 

Dec 6, 2012 by IMBACK20

I am coming off of an S2 Skyrocket and while i really had no gripes with the rocket, i must say the S3 edges it out... but just barely in certain areas. it is the little things that make the difference. first and foremost let me say that the S3 is faster and smoother than the rocket. swiping between screens and switching between tasks is a breeze compared to the old 'rocket. The addition of the LED notification light is welcome. compared to the rocket's waking the screen whenever a text or notification is received. also warmly welcomed is the inclusion of a flashlight widget (where as with the rocket I'd have to download an app from play store). Battery life seems to be the same or slightly better than the rocket. the camera is a major improvement over the rocket. I've seen many complain about the size (even with large hands) yet i do not seem to have a problem. i am 6'4" with big dumb fingers and i can navigate the soft keyboard with nary a type-o. now to the downside. these are just personal gripes. when i upgraded my rocket to ICS 4.0.4 i was given a bunch of control widgets to put on my home screen that the S3 lacks (maybe they are there and i have yet to find them... beats me) for example, i had toggle widgets for voice control and driving mode. an "active applications counter" widget that would open the task manager when tapped. for that matter the S3 doesn't even HAVE a task manager icon you can put on a home screen! (i managed to find one in the play store though). however i shouldn't have to... most if not all other androids (with the exception of a few crappy boost mobile droids i have owned) included this icon. not sure if i am liking the hard home button. much preferred the capacitive one from the rocket. also gone are home screen toggles for wifi, gps, bluetooth etc (these were moved to the drop down notification bar i soon discovered). In short... a few minor concessions in the upgrade but a rock solid phone all around. deff recommend it to others.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung hit it out of the ballpark

 

Nov 14, 2012 by kettir   updated May 7, 2013

PROS:
-good speaker volume
-beautiful display
-large screen, but I can still use one thumb to control the touchscreen
-8mp camera takes great photos and video
-4gLTE
-ICS runs smoothly and touchwiz is fast and easy
-16gb of onboard memory so I don't have to move apps to the SD card constantly
-battery life seems very good for such a large display
-tower reception is better than my Inspire

CONS:
-If you update to Jellybean, you're gonna have a bad time (it eats batteries, unlike ICS)
-The battery cover seems flimsy but use shows it wears just fine
-I'm concerned that a hard key for HOME will wear out
-We need better zoom on camera phones overall, megapixels is all very well but zoom is very important too

My overall opinion: this phone is AMAZING. I'm not even going to update to the s4 because it doesn't have enough new features to make me spend the money! I've had this phone now for 6 months and I LOVE it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1