Phone Scoop

printed October 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=38

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo SCP-5150

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Average Ratings

4.11
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

THis is a great phone!!!!

 

Aug 7, 2002 by D.L. Williams

This is the best phone on the market. It has everything a cell phone user needs. I have not had one dropped call in 9 months. Thank you sanyo.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


the most reliable phone out there

 

Aug 6, 2002 by Keerthi Kanubaddi

I have used every phone offered by Sprint PCS and I love the SCP-5150. I actually had a Sanyo 5000 but upgraded. The phone has flawless reception and strong battery life. My only issue is that it does not always catch the first number you type when switching from wallpaper to call initiation. I am looking forward to new 3G phones from Sprint PCS.......until then, the Sanyo 5150 is a sure bet.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


1-2 TKO for the Sanyo-5150!!

 

Jul 21, 2002 by Ralph Nader

This is phone is by far the sweetest phone for the things you get. I have seen and used alot of phones under Demo roadshows and this one by far can swings its chickens in the coope.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sanyo 5150

 

Jun 28, 2002 by Chuck Steele

I must admit I was always a Motorola fan and would have no other, until.....my color l.e.d. timeport went on the fritz.
I was told no more Motorola at least until the fall. So Sprint could not fix or replace with another Timeport.
I went for the Sanyo for all the toys and looks of the phone.
Also the phone I have is made in Japan and therefore as an electronics buff, I liked that, as opposed to Korea.
The phone receives so well, I talked and held a call inside an elevator, no kidding.
I've had the 5150 two weeks and can not find anything wrong with it and all my friends and co workers want one.
So many features I haven't had time to program all of them yet!
Soooo, the phone has reliability, great looks and great functionality, what else can you ask for.
And I was able to get the leather case, car cord and cable with software to go with it.
So much for Motorola.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Amazing phone + holds signal great

 

May 5, 2002 by Vassili Sukharev

Saw the post above and decided to comment. I used to own a Samsung 8500 for a year and a half and it was a great phone worked real well for me. Time came to upgrade and I tried A400, and to my surprise the reception and sound quality wasn't as good as 8500. I then tried 3 more A400's and they turned out to be marginally better than the 8500.

Upon reading on on sprint pcs newsgroup that phones with the best reception are made by Sanyo, I decided to try 5150. It's an amazing phone. The only little gripe is that the speaker could be a notch louder. It's good enough for most but the noisiest environments.

Regarding previous post, this 5150 holds signal WAY better than all 4 A400's I've tried. The A400 used to die at my work deep inside a large building, the 5150 works like a charm -- haven't dropped a call yet (A400 couldn't even get a signal!)

A couple other places where A400 used to barely catch a signal and kept dropping calls all the time, well the 5150 is just several heads above it. I'm extremely happy with the phone and will keep it whereas the A400's went back to the stores. I would suggest that the previous poster try another 5150 in case he got a bad unit.

Great phone. By far the best signal reception I've seen with sprint phones (same holds for all other sanyo models accoring to alt.cellular.sprintpcs).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I Love This Phone and My Friends Do Too!

 

Jun 13, 2002 by aj500

Everything is great about this phone except for one thing, the speaker volume is not that high when needed the most but when you plug an earpiece in everything is great.
I have had seven phones in the past two years and the 5150 is by far the best. What I like most about the phone is the many options it has.
I am now waiting for Sanyo to release new phone that has every option the 5150 has and more. I'll just try to hang on to this one until they do.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


So far so good

 

Jul 1, 2002 by no2gates

I've had the 5150 for 3 days so far and love it. The phone holds a signal better than others I've had, the pointer/mouse thing is not great but it's fairly good. The sound quality is very good, but the only thing I don't like is the speaker hole is a single hole, that you have to position just right to hear the caller.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The 5150 is almost perfect

 

Jul 1, 2002 by Maggie Armstrong

In addition to great reception, great battery life, great ringsers & easy to navigate menu - I really love the feel of this phone, it seems the best balanced of any phone I have had. It is easy to use with one hand - not too small, not too large. It is really a beautiful object. Love the way it "snaps" shut. It lacks only one feature I would like to have - GPS.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Still works

 

Feb 2, 2005 by donvito

I have this phone for about 3 years now, and it still works, it's all beat up but it works,
personal experience with almost all sanyo phones ether through work or personal use has made me like them better than anything else on the market with few exceptions,
i'm getting the 5600 for my self and i'm trying to get an unlocked sanyo s750 gsm european phone for my brother.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sanyo is the best!

 

Dec 28, 2004 by ldordal

Let me first say that I have worked in the wireless industry for the past 4 years and that when I first got this phone I worked for PCS. I tried a Samsung first, then an LG, and finally this phone in March 2002. Can I tell you that I have never seen a phone yet that I would even think about moving too- besides maybe that Black Hitachi they carried. The menu driven displays (instead of the goofy icons) is excellent! I love being able to download my ringers and pictures without having to get on the web- and the voice command function (this is inherent in the 2G service) is awesome because I can call my personal email from the phone! I like the substantial feel of the phone- I have dropped it several times and it still looks like new! I also like the size- sometimes the phones that are super small feel awkward against your face. In any case- the fact that Verizon wireless has no Sanyo phones in it's inventory is probably the main reason I stay with Sprint for now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2