Phone Scoop

printed July 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3779&r=40883

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG Motion 4G / Optimus Regard

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  4  

Average Ratings

4.54
Overall
4.33
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
4.5
Hardware Usability
4.83
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
4.33
Audio Volume
4.17
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

hidden specs

 

Dec 5, 2012 by Orange Juice.Box

I've had this phone for a while now and I must let you know that I have also rooted it

Pros of having it rooted

1.5 Ghz clocked speed after root, not the 1.2 ghz
Removing bloatware... Some you'll just have to freeze
Ice Cream sandwich! But with the launchers available you can get the jellybean feel
Block ads when rooted :)

Cons
Small screen... Could be better
Limited to 5 gb of internal memory... Does not allow app2Sd so if you get a 32gb card.. You'll only be able to put music or videos but for what when you got play music and Dropbox apps...

Overall great little phone but wished I could do app2Sd to save more internal memory.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Amazing phone - Who would have thought? Very Happy!!!

 

Oct 21, 2012 by orlavin

The LG Motion 4G for Metro Pcs is amazingly good.
Here is my story, I had AT&T, which was the best, but the bills were too high. Then I went to Sprint PCS and I wanted to cut my wrist the first night because of how slow the data was, then I made the stupid move to Verizon just to try it out. They are not good as they claim. I had more drop calls and 4G service was not in my area. FINALLY, I said let me give Metro Pcs another try (I had them before all this 4G came out) And I gotta say WOW. The LG Motion 4G is super fast and very smooth.

Pros:
Android 4.0 OS
5GB Internal user memory
1080p Video Camera
5MP Cam w/flash - BUT the camera sucks for indoors. Outdoor pics are better.
Screen Display is bright
Smooth and attractive
Small/Pocket Size with an acceptable 3.5" Screen
No Lagging what so ever!
$55 per month w/tax for Unlimited Talk/Text/4G Data Speeds
Additional SD Card Slot for more memory up to 32GB Card
Front Camera for Skype
Call quality is good

Cons:
Battery will get me about 5 hours of heavy use and 7-8 hours of light to moderate use. Could be better!
The charger port is oddly on the side vs. the bottom for a better grip and use of the phone while charging.
Ringtone should be louder

BEST IF IT HAD:
If this phone had a 4" screen with Super Amoled, 8 MP Camera and 1.5Ghz Dual Core - This would be a monster!!! BUT for only $149, this is the BEST phone out in Metro Pcs.

Metro is coming out with the Samsung Galaxy S3 in two days, but honestly, the specs for the LG Motion 4G are all I need. The S3 will be $500, thats insane!!!

Take it from me - get this phone. You will not regret it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great little phone!

 

Dec 9, 2012 by lrwilliamsjr

I've had my LG 'Motion' 4G for several days now and, so far, I've been VERY happy. The phone is compact, lightweight, and fits easily in both hand and pocket. It's 1.2 Mhz, dual-core processor (which is actually running at 1.5 Mhz, right out of the box) feels significantly faster and smoother in operation than the 800 Mhz, single-core Samsung 'Admire' it replaces. I'm ecstatic that this little phone has 5 Gb of internal memory versus the scant 125 Mb in the Samsung. The LGM4G has a 5+ Mp camera (with front-facing camera, too), and full 1080 HD video capture. It is also the only phone in it's price range ($149) running the Android 4.0 operating system (aka., "Ice Cream Sandwich"). This is clearly the BEST phone MetroPCS offers in it's price range. A drawback (if it really is even a drawback) is the 3.5" (340 x 480) display. Never the less, the display is crisp and bright, and given the phone's other stellar specifications and performance the screen size is, in my opinion, a non-issue. If you're considering the LG 'Motion' 4G there is nothing about which to hesitate. It is a wonderful little phone. Also... I was lucky enough to get in on a special promotion with MetroPCS for unlimited talk, text, and web for only $30/month! The only caveat is that I get a very limited amount of 4G data transfer on this plan--afterwords transfer slows to 3G speed. If you must have unlimited 4G your plan with be $55/mo. Now go your new LG 'Motion' 4G, and enjoy!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

love this phone

 

Nov 12, 2013 by lonnie0526

Carrier: Cricket

I've had some low to mid range phones, so this is an upgrade for me. I'm used to the small screen too, so that didn't bother me. I love that it fits in my pocket, I guess that's why I keep going for the smaller phones. Speed is good. I'm on Cricket, so came with Muve music(unlimited free song downloads). I guess, coming from ginger bread to ice cream sandwich, I'm really impressed.
there is 1 con, the front facing camera doesn't take great selfies.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

HAPPY WITH MY LITTLE LG MOTION!!

 

May 22, 2013 by Angimen1   updated May 22, 2013

Carrier: MetroPCS

First of all, this review comes from a previous iPhone 5 AND Samsung SIII user ( I seem to have a thing for phones).

After getting fed up with all the hidden fees from my previous wireless carriers, I switched to MetroPCS, and therefore, purchased the LG Motion.

PLEASENT SURPRISE!

This little phone does it all (at least for me).
Fast, easy to use (a common complaint amongst ex-android users), and fits easily in my purse and jean pockets. I didn't want to spend a load on 'high-end' cell phones, so I opted with a 'middle of the road'.

No complaints so far!

The only thing I would change on this phone is the battery life, but then, ALL smartphones have that problem it seems,(I had the same problem with my other smartphones).

Also, the speaker/ringtone volume, but I guess that would depend which ringtone you are using.

I recommend this phone if you don't want to drop a load of $$ and still need a phone that will come thru for you...If you get it, you will not be disappointed.!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


best in class

 

Mar 31, 2013 by scarygary   updated Apr 1, 2013

This is best in class phone for its class being small screen 3.5 inch...i have used iphone and feel this one is just as good if not better

Pros

Screen - very responsive, bright, workable in sunlight (where you can safely guess images)

Platform -4.0 is powerful and has all the latest features that Samsung Galaxy s3 has

Very receptive to touch - i have tiny fingers, so i hardly have to backspace when typing a text

Foam and built quality - plastic, but higher grade, but back battery cover is flimsy, will not be in issue if you have a phone cover though.

Cons

Battery life...but i m heavy user and still lasts all day (let me mention that my friend's i-phone 4s does not last as long with just as much usage, he carries a charging cable everywhere)
I really cant think of anything else in cons

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

My Goodness

 

Mar 23, 2013 by DURMAR   updated May 15, 2013

Carrier: MetroPCS

***UPDATE*** Its been a few months now since getting this phone and it is still impressive!!!!. Definitely worth it! The processor is a fighter and it wins!

I must say this phone was A Shocker. The 1.2 ghz processor is super fast. The camera is quick and videos are great. I hate all the bloatware but which carrier does not do that?.

Only gripes: battery could bit better and pictures can be grainy indoors. Otherwise, awesome little phone for the price. My family has 4 of them!

Sweetness added to a no contract plan!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LG Optimus Regard/ Motion 4G

 

Mar 2, 2013 by patwackp

Bought this phone on Cricket in Austin, Tx. Cricket's version is called The Optimus Regard.
Coming from T-Mobile, this is a much nicer phone with a lot more internal memory for apps.
the 4G speed is almost equal to T-Mobile.
Cricket even gave me $100 off for transferring my number. SWEET!

I would highly recommend this phone to anyone who wants a 4G LTE android phone but doesnt want the contract with the bigger guys.

The 2 biggest items that sold me is that I can use the phone as a mobile hotspot and it has Cricket's Muve Music service.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


not too bad for $149

 

Oct 20, 2012 by jewelz95

Over all for a 4g on a no contract basis its a great phone great video quality(1080p) camera not too bad being just a 5mp very happy with the size of the internal memory (5gb) 4.0 platform, love it....... and size is more than convinient for those of us who prefer a pocket size

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


surprisingly, very good and very fast

 

Sep 12, 2012 by Janet

I am very happy with this phone. it has a great clear screen, good size. the phone is light enough and easy to hold. call quality is less than perfect but it still works for me. I am writing this via the Google Talk to text and I love it. also this is a 4 G phone and you can tell the difference from other non 4 G phones immediately. dont be confused and don't have expectations of an Iphone but this is an android ice cream 4.0.1 phone 4 G unlimited for 55 dollars a month and it more than delivers. it has camera and video the camera is a decent quality but it's not a photographer's camera. and at the speed of the 4 G speed I can stream movies

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2