Phone Scoop

printed April 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3742&r=40552

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC EVO 4G LTE

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  30  

Phone Scoop Review

3
Overall
2
Reception
3
Battery Life
2.5
Hardware Usability
3.5
Hardware Quality
4
Display
4
Interface Speed
1.5
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.34
Overall
4.38
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
4.5
Hardware Usability
4.38
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
4.13
Interface Speed
4.38
Audio Volume
4.63
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

Nice Comeback

 

Jun 6, 2012 by KeepNTouch

I thought before that it took Sprint a while to come out with a nice phone, but I actually believe Sprint has had a few hits in the past few months. I've had the EVO 4G LTE for a day now and running it side by side with a Samsung SII, this device has faster download speeds on '3G". As for no LTE, the network operator actually has eHRPD as the network mode, which is a stop gap for 3G and 4G.

Call quality is excellent, signal is great, as well as camera and beats audio.

The screen real estate is nice for the phone's size. If you want to maintain unlimited data and don't mind waiting for the speed, why not pick one up.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


So nice I brought it twice.

 

Jun 8, 2012 by kinster02

As a user of all three Evo's I must say that this is the best and they will only get better. The phone is thin and light with just right about of weight so that it doesn't feel like a hollow toy (Samsung) and made with quality materials. The screen the new Sense 4.0 with ICS is absolutely beautiful and is a joy for me to use. It will take some time to get use to the missing menu button and the new tweaked Sense 4.0 and ICS, if your coming from one of the older phones. Also you will get a black menu bar at the bottom of apps that haven't been updated. but once they do it will be gone.

Pros
Thin lite weight beautiful body
Sense 4.0 & ICS
Battery life
Screen
Kickstand & camera button

Cons
None that really matters

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Believe all the Hype!! Awesome Phone

 

Jun 4, 2012 by JAMBO1228

Trust me when I say that you will not find a better smartphone out there right now and if you do not believe me Just go and try one out. I have owned just about every brand of phone out there, you name it and I have probably have had one at one time or the other , I honestly cannot find any defects with this phone. The phone is a little big but that is they way the industry is going.Next we will be carting a tablet on our hips .but coming from a EVO 4g no problem!!
Pros::ice cream sandwich
Beats Audio(awesome)
Battery life
Very Little Bloatware
Cons:CANT FIND ANY

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice Try, But Flawed

 

Jun 6, 2012 by dcomdude

I'm a former EVO 4G owner that upgraded to the E4GT, and then to the EVO 4G LTE.

I really, really wanted to like the EVO 4G LTE. The EVO 4G holds a special place and I hoped the EVO LTE would do the same. (But I think I'm going to end up returning this phone.)

These are major issues I ran into:

1) The USB port is on the same side that normally needs to rest on the surface when using the kickstand (i.e. it prevents the phone from being charged and used as an alarm clock while traveling). You can flip the phone over and the kickstand has enough tension to still keep the phone standing -- but it's not natural. The angle is far from ideal for viewing at eye-level (e.g. on a night stand), and the charging cord would be exiting the phone straight up (i.e. easy to hook and knock over).

2) No physical menu button. Everything depends on a soft menu button now. Often there are two on the screen (one at the top, and one that occupies the entire bottom screen row all by itself). And sometimes you don't get a soft menu button at all when you know the activity has menu options (so there's no way to bring them up). This is the hardest pill to swallow. I would much rather have a physical button.

3) The plastic upper half on the back gets marred with finger prints way too quickly. This is crazy, because the lower half of the back is absolutely fabulous.

4) Initially it seemed like the radio was a little worse than the E4GT. I read something that said NFC can degrade CDMA radio performance so i turned NFC off. It seems better, but the jury is still out.

Otherwise, its a fantastic phone. Battery life is very good (coming from the E4GT). GPS fixes are almost instant, every time. Hardware build quality (other than the issues mentioned) is very good. The phone is nicer to hold than I would have thought (after playing with a non-working demo a couple weeks earlier). And, from the front its a gorgeous phone. From the back, I'm actually a bit embarrassed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Love the phone

 

May 17, 2013 by jgerstorff

Let me preface this by saying I have always loved the Evo series from HTC. SO...I might be slightly biased. I waited forever for Android 4.1 to come out on this, and it was well worth the wait. The butter project worked well with this phone. Call quality is good for me. The only problem is they are working on the LTE network here and towers are up and down all of the time, so when I switch from upgraded towers to older ones, I lose calls and signal. (Kokomo, IN). This phone is fast when it has wifi or 4g connected and even with the advanced 3g, I am keeping signal so much better than with this phone earlier and with previous phones. The Palm era task manager is great for saving battery life. I have a baby coming and I have no issue with battery life even when staying in contact with the mother all day. I wish there was front facing speakers like with the One, but its not huge for me since I jack the phone into my car speakers. I have no issues with the touch screen and as long as I keep it calibrated, I plan not to. The phone also has a cool design and good resale value right now. HTC, especially the Evo's have always been a specified type of person to like them, but I would definitely recommend for anyone. I love widgets so it definitely is higher on the list than Iphone's for me, and as long as I get to have 4g full time soon, I'll be thrilled with this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

From 4G to 4G LTE

 

Mar 4, 2013 by sprintvisionary   updated May 4, 2013

The HTC EVO 4G LTE is an excellent device. I honestly believe that HTC is the best smartphone manufacturer, with Samsung and Motorola running a close second/third. Why you may ask? No one has been bright enough to duplicate without completely copying the HTC Sense integration.

PROS:
brilliant screen display
Beats audio (headphones only)
rear camera
multiple position kick stand (love it!!!)
HTC Sense (4+ awsome!!!)
memory capacity
battery life

CONS:
speaker/mic
(fixed with next model HTC ONE)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


TINY CALLER ID

 

Jun 12, 2012 by acdaleco

Why have a giant screen and a caller id so small i cant tell who is calling?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


HTC EVO 4G LTE

 

Jun 8, 2012 by mrcharity

I had the original EVO and loved the fact that it had a large screen, but the battery life was awful, so I sold it. I have since then had a number of phones (Epic, Iphone 4, Blackberry Torch, Blackberry 9930, and Motorola Photon), and currently am using an Iphone 4S for Sprint and also the HTC EVO 4G LTE. I finally got rid of my blackberry after years of being a user and got the photon because it was only $20 at the time. Android has come a long way since then, but the photon was still not living up to my expectations. I got EVO 4G LTE on the first day it was officially released by Sprint and I must say it is a VERY SOLID PHONE. Battery life better than any android I have ever used, screen is amazing, and ICS along with HTC Sense work well together. I have always been a fan of HTC phones, and they did not disappoint with the new EVO. The lack of LTE is not on the fault of the phone, but on the carrier, and Sprint's 3G works fine for me, especially on this phone. May get the SGIII when it launches to test it out, but ANYONE should be happy with the new evo. Great job Sprint and HTC, another WINNER!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


HTC EVO 4G LTE

 

Jun 4, 2012 by zayah76

OK well got my phone may23rd and received free case from Sprint since I pre ordered and everyone had to wait because of the whole patent issue. So my first impression of the phone and the appearance is A+ software I love it I'm coming from the original first EVO and I must say the sence 4.0 is gorgeous with the Ice Cream Sandwich makes a great fast snappy phone to use. Ok so now let me get to why I gave it 4 stars it looks like the EVO 4g LTE has the same light coming from the screen issues as the old one. So all you owners of the new phone look at your phone with a black scene in the dark some phones show with out being in the dark but right above the home key you can see about a half inch line going up the screen so the is light leakage and it is known on the web and people are contacting sprint and HTC but the good thing is you can't see it unless maybe your watching a movie or a dark web page. If you wan more info Google Htc EVO 4g LTE screen leakage.

http://forums.androidcentral.com/htc-evo-4g-lte/176066-light-leak-home-button-pic-inside.html

Pros. Camera/ Sence 4.0/ Ice Cream Sandwich/ Hd calling/ Micro Sd Card Slot

Cons. Basically None just the light leakage but I guess no big deal.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1