Phone Scoop

printed April 18, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3684&r=40929

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC One V

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  14  

Phone Scoop Review

3.5
Overall
3
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
4
Hardware Quality
3.5
Display
4
Interface Speed
5
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.5
Overall
4.67
Reception
3.33
Battery Life
4.33
Hardware Usability
4.33
Hardware Quality
4
Display
2.5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Incredible Specs

 

Dec 8, 2012 by Geekasaurus

I am replacing my old Droid Incredible and found that this phone has almost identical specs. My Incredible cost me several hundred dollars plus a 2 year commitment to Verizon. I am with a new carrier now. At the time I purchased the Incredible it was one of the best phones on the market. Now almost 3 years later its a bit long in the tooth.

The specs are so close its just best to say what is different.

What you get new with the One V:
+ Ice cream Sandwich
+ almost double battery life
+ Better audio

- Lower res camera
- Non replaceable battery

Same processor
Same screen

I consider the One V a budget entry level phone. What I enjoy is I get a phone with identical features as the Incredible at a fraction of the price.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Review from a CRICKET customer, not a VIRGIN customer

 

Nov 13, 2012 by sbc.cgu

Just a clarification that the two prior reviews who gave this phone really bad ratings are actually VIRGIN customers, not CRICKET customers. Each carrier engineers the phone to work on their respective networks.

I am a Cricket customer and have had this phone for a few months. I really like it.

PROS

*Ice Cream Sandwich O.S.
*Beats Audio (It's amazing how different music sounds. You can actually hear the bass on tracks. My roommate has an iPhone 4S and we compared the speakers and both agreed that the HTC One V sounded much better.)
*Muve Music on the phone (Free music downloads! I love it. Cricket just released a 3.0 version of Muve. It's much better with hardly any bugs.)
*HDR recording
*Continuous shooting mode (I can snap pictures while recording - Very cool feature!)
*Lightweight
*Fits nicely in my hand
*The "chin" on the phone (Feels more stable to hold it. I don't feel like it's going to slip out of my hand.)

CONS
* No front-facing camera
* Doesn't come with headphones
* Doesn't come with an instruction manual (Found one online on Cricket's website though)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

This is a really nice phone for the money.

 

Aug 5, 2012 by det2kas   updated May 20, 2013

This is a very nice phone. It is slim and feels very nice in the hand. Prior to this phone, I had the LG Optimus S. This is a perfect upgrade with more storage and a faster processor. The data speeds on Virgin mobile are much faster on this phone over the Optimus S (.25mbps vs 2mbps). Not sure why this is as they are both 3g phones. ISC performance is snappy and acceptable. Pay as you go rules.

Pros:
Great Value
App Storage
32GB MicroSD Card Support
Thin and Lite
Android 4.0
Snappy Performance

Cons
Integrated non-replaceable battery - not sure why i care.
No front facing camera - should be standard equipment.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

absolutely wonderful phone

 

Sep 14, 2012 by longrider692001   updated May 4, 2013

Carrier: Cricket

Cricket is really starting make some waves with great phones like this! slim, sturdy, quick, decent cameras, and so on. as far as heating up issue... listen people... it's a THIN PHONE, it's gonna do that... this isn't your pc or gaming system that has a fan to cool it down! Keep on ROCKIN the newer better phones Cricket!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


House of Cards

 

Sep 17, 2012 by tsimpson

Initially impressed somewhat with this Virgin Mobile phone for my daughter.

It may have been a little overpriced IMO, but she wanted it and it just felt real nice. Sleek, great GUI and responsive.

The battery/sim cover which doubles as the antenna however is held on by a the proverbial thread and had fallen off (who knows where) within a weeks time.

HTC support said they required any defective parts to be sent to them before they would replace. Since the defective part was lost, they said they could not help me.

Not even an ultra inflated "$29.99 + shipping" replacement for the ~0.05 cent piece. Nada. Nothing.

Oh, well, lesson learned. The One V was my first and last HTC.

I'll be purchasing the Kyocera Rise on Virgin for it's replacement and will post a review after it gets some use under it's belt!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Deal-Breaker

 

Jul 24, 2012 by C Monster

I'm a Virgin Mobile customer. I bought this phone locally, then swapped twice because it struggled and often failed to go on-line and more importantly, heated up so much in the process that it nearly burnt my hand. So, I have had 3 One V's and every one of them did the same thing.

I liked almost everything else about it, but the above-mentioned issue was a deal-breaker. I'm also not crazy about the non-removable battery, but I would have put up with that if everything else had been OK.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1