Phone Scoop

printed August 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=359&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola V500 / V525 / V505

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.16
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 4

Not Happy

 

Dec 30, 2004 by ronee1122

I heard terrible reviews about the V600. After using it for almost a month, I switched to the V505 and was very disappointed. The voice quality is much inferior to the V600. If I can switch back again I will.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great design but lacking

 

Nov 27, 2004 by maxh

Here is the overview of my experience:

PROS:
- well designed keyboard and excellent rendition of the clamshell form factor.
-nice size and has a quality feel to it
- speakerphone
- bluetooth
- Generous high color screen
- excellent reception and voice clarity

CONS:
- Annoying SIM chip holder
- menus somewhat convoluted
- Poorly designed phone book
- poorly written user manual
- speakerphone lacks key functionality

The one aspect of the V505 which stands out is the amazing clarity of the ear piece. Hands down the best I've ever experienced. After that, the touchpad comes in second affording the user a great layout and ample space per key for ease of use. The color screen is nice but my main concerns with a phone are how well it performs the daily tasks I need so I really don't get that excited this aspect.

The SIM chip holder on this phone is puzzling. What's with the WW2 style sliding metal clip? Moto should use the plastic frame SIM holders like Nokia. The menus are ok although they become confusing at variuos points. The phone book is another area of disappointment for me because on my Nokia, you have one phone book listing per person that contains all their different phone numbers and contact info rather than having one listing for for their home number and another for their cell phone etc as the V505 has. The speakerphone is nice but it will only allow you to engage it after the person you are calling has answered whereas the Nokia 6800 allows you to put a call on speaker immediately after dialing the call. The speakerphone is important for me so this was disappointing. Lastly, the user manual is atrocious. For instance, it talks about about 1 touch dialing and speed dialing. What it doesn't make clear is that for each phone book listing, the speed dial field is where you need to program the 1 touch dialing feature. In other words, a one touch dialing field doesn't exist in this phone but you wouldnt know it from the manual.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


V505

 

Sep 29, 2004 by knightrdr23

This V505 Phone is really great, I don't know what the V600 had wrong with it, but the V505 doesn't have a problem that I can see besides the ringtones and wallpaper.

I had a Samsung E316 that was dropping calls all the time and didn't get service inside my work. The V505 does get service inside my work and hasn't dropped a call in the 2 weeks that I have had it.

Service AT&T GSM

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good solid phone

 

Nov 10, 2004 by Jersian

When I switched to AT&T, I originally purchased the V220. I didn't like it at all. The display was too small, fonts too large and the LCD was too grainy. Also, may of the features I had grown to love on my Verizon T720 were missing.

I looked at the V505 and discovered that not only did it do almost all of it what my T720 did, it did much more. It is a solid feeling phone with the same interface as most Motorolas so it was easy for me to get around the menu selections.

I wanted a camera phone and alarm clock in addition to the featurs I had on my T720. They were my preferences. I wish this had an M3 player for songs, but if that is all I am missing, so be it.

With an optional Bluetooth adaptor (Best Buy $40.00), I was able to upload photos for wallpaper and edited mp3's to use as ringtones. No more buying ring tones!

After getting Mobile Phonetools to work, I also enjoy the fact that I can download my address book and calendar to my computer as a back-up.

Overall, this is a great phone. There are some shortcomings with AT&T, but I am hoping for some improvements once the AT&T/Cingular merger is complete. I like this phone so much however that I am willing to overlook those shortcomings.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Nov 1, 2004 by cybero

I got this phone unlocked for T-mobile and i must say the reception is great

+++Pros+++
Great Reception
Good Camera
flawless Bluetooth
great display
nice keypad
good voice quality
nice speakerphone
voice dialing
---Cons---
Kind of big and heavy
Average Battery LIfe(not bad but could be better)
non-reprogrammable right softkey
slight menu digging

the cons are minor and if you buy this phone i doubt youll regret it

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Oct 28, 2004 by hawaii007

The ear piece and speaker clarity are great. The photo resolution is the best of the three phones with camera features that I've had. ATTW mMode is faster than Tmode and is easier to use.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not a bad phone but certainly not the best!

 

Oct 16, 2004 by Da_Return

I bought a Motorola V525 about 2 weeks ago. I used to have a Moto V66, V60, V70, Samsung S300. When we're talking about features, the Motorola V525 clearly surpasses any phone I've had in the past. It has a decent camera, nice reception, outstanding screen, very loud rings and BLUETOOTH. What I don't like about the phone is that it's a little bulky, pretty heavy, The phone would sometime shut itself off even though the battery's full. When i use the camera it would also freeze sometime, then it shows me a white screen for a few seconds before going back to normal. Maybe it's because i got a bad one. Anyways I decided to put this phone for sale and just bought myself a brand new Motorola V80. It's still a pretty good phone, try it out and u might have better luck than me.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


So far so sweet!!

 

Oct 21, 2004 by DJMasters

I've only had the phone for about 2 weeks, but so far I dig it! Awesome reception & call clarity. A little on the heavy side, but not a deal breaker at all. Lots of accessories available for it, and the data software was easy to setup & get working as a GPRS modem for my laptop. Camera takes decent pictures & make it easy to email them.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love It!!!

 

Dec 11, 2004 by meow

All I have to say is that I love, love, love this phone! I've never had a Motorola before (I was influenced by others dissatisfaction with Motorolas) and just decided to try it. I'm so glad I got it...
*Camera: Great! Takes very clear pictures... I do agree with another poster though, zooming in to object does not keep picture clear though
*Sound: like others, no one can tell I'm on a cell until I mention it
*Ring Volume: Highest volume is very loud and can definitely be heard over other noises
*Ring Tones: not too fond of the many ring tones already available on phone, but I love the option of downloading MP3 tones
*Display: screen is not as big as my old phone, but big enough so that pictures/wallpaper looks good
*External Display: I like the display lighting up blue, looks nice (all I have about that! lol)
*Look/weight: It is a bit heavier than other flips, but doesn't bother me any. I'd like to be able to possibly change the case/cover, but not something I need.

Overall: 5 Stars! I highly recommend this phone =)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


V500, Not exactly the greatest, here's why...

 

Nov 27, 2004 by Deftony

Where do I start? The V500 has its positive and negative sides. The absolute number 1 problem with the v500 has to be the bluetooth... its very very rubbish! Mine never connects with any kind of bluetooth device, others can connect with me but only on rare occassions.

The other real beef I have with this phone is the screen. Yes its nice and good res, but it too is unreliable. Mine malfunctioned and had to be sent off to Motorola to be fixed... The phone does have some positive points though, such as being able to use a USB data cable, the camera, and the memory isnt bad.

All in all, the V500 would be good for a more novice phone-user, one that isnt intending on using things such s bluetooth, and doesnt mind its unreliability in favour of the other features.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 4

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2