Phone Scoop

printed July 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3541&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Apple  ›

Apple iPhone 4S

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review

4.5
Overall
3.5
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
4.5
Hardware Usability
5
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
5
Interface Speed
3
Audio Volume
4.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.53
Overall
4.75
Reception
4.25
Battery Life
5
Hardware Usability
5
Hardware Quality
5
Display
4.63
Interface Speed
4.13
Audio Volume
4.88
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 5
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Nice phone

 

Jan 24, 2014 by rickp315   updated Jan 24, 2014

Carrier: AT&T

I'm seeing ads on TV about how people are getting off the iPhone bandwagon. Not standing in line for a phone, settling for the newest Droid device. But has anyone ever wondered why there are lines to buy iPhones? I do not see people forming lines for the latest offerings from other smart phone manufacturers. Why? Because Apple offers a device with solid features, amazing innovations, and just making cool devices. Sure Droid based devices sell more than iPhones. But the Droid OS is offered by at least 4 phone companies, LG, HTC, Samsung, and Motorola. Those are the ones I know of. There may be others.

The iPhone 4S is my first Apple phone, and I couldn't be happier. It's built solidly (I have mine in an Otterbox case), the technology is amazing, and the ease of use is top notch. Siri is very cool. While she's not perfect, it's taken voice command to the next level. The App Store is absolutely huge. If you have a need, no doubt there will be an app for it. Is this a perfect device? No. But name one device that is totally flawless. It's all based on user experience/satisfaction. This goes with ANY smart phone device. For instance, Apple Maps has voice guidance, but it has given me wrong directions. My dedicated car GPS has that feature, and it does a better job than ANY smart phone I've seen. iBooks is nice too, but the screen is not big enough to do any serious reading with. But this also true with other devices of similar screen size. Get a tablet, or dedicated reader. I know my middle aged eyes work better with larger screens for reading.

Overall, I'm super pleased with this phone. It does far more than any other device I've ever owned. Give this phone serious consideration. You just may like it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

A Step Up

 

Jun 14, 2013 by Trilla12

Carrier: AT&T

Yes, you've heard it here first, friends, the beloved iPhone 4S. Now I'm deep into the iPhone game, this being my third iTelephone.

PROs:
It's everything you want in a smartphone.

CONs:
Slightly short for my taste. Display needs to be a fraction of an inch taller.

Bye Bye AT&T!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Okay, still has a long way to go

 

Feb 17, 2013 by goodolphone15

I used to be a total Apple fan when they were first starting into the phone world. I was always on a CDMA carrier so I could never have one. When the 4S came out I decided to go ahead and upgrade my phone to get it.

I have used a iPhone 3G and iPhone 4 in the past for my company provided phone so I am very good with the OS. However that is my main problem with this phone. Coming from a Galaxy SII the Android UI is just great. I have never had any problems with anything and It is right speedy. Whenever there is a major update I am always excited to see what changes they have made. Apple is very lacking in this, every time there is a update nothing changes. This UI is old. Yes it works but very old and no longer is keeping up with the smart phone market. Also there are NO customization features like Android has. Everything is way to locked down.

Pros
Ease of use
Battery Life
Screen looks great
Very Fast
Cons
Old User Interface
Looks great but very fragile
No Customization features
Apple maps is a total joke

Overall this is a good phone for children. It is far from a Android powerhouse.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


iphone 4s

 

Sep 22, 2012 by AMackCampbell

Summery:

Great phone, easily managed, simple to navagate and with a fun look to it. I like that its simple, fast, easy to use and has the slide to lock features PLUS my password meaning my kids can't accidently call japan (or 911 should they get a hold of my phone)

The graphics on it for videos are amazing, the sound quality crystal clear, even youtube processes on it so well its incredible.

I upgraded from an HTC 7 Pro which was a TOTAL joke. This phone is so much better its sick and twisted in SUCH a good way.

Pros:
Aps are easy to install and Uninstall
Fast speeds for videos
Good memory (64 Gig)
Great picture
Wonderful sound with music
Simple to use
Easy way to add contacts
Aps are easy to access and folders (that you make) actually make sense.
GREAT battery life. I use a sound/sleep ap with an alarm in the morning and it only drained the battery life to 3/4 battery for 8 hours.
It TELLS you when the battery is low, it also tells you how much charge it has to it.
Its not incredibly heavy, compared with my last phone its light.
It has two cameras, one back and one front which makes a great deal for using Skype with relatives
It has an app that's a free phone tracker in case you LOOSE your phone (with children in the house that sometimes happens)

Cons
Uhhhh? This so far doesn't have any. I doubt ill find any either.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

iPhone 4S and iOS

 

Sep 18, 2012 by BroJim   updated May 4, 2013

Carrier: AT&T

I jumped off the Motorola train and onto the Apple train back in August 2009 an I have not missed ANYTHING Motorola has to offer.

I have operated many Windows phone and many Android phones over the past 2 years because of my job and the insistence of my company on buying CHEAP iPhone wannabes!

My personal phone is (currently) the iPhone 4S. I have operated this phone for over a year without any issues at all. 90 percent of my "online" time is spent in the vicinity of a WiFi, but the 4G speeds in my area are sufficient otherwise...

The phone is built as solid as a tank.

The OS is the leader among the others. I would rank, in this order...iOS, Windows and Droid (dead last). Droid is a clunky copy of iOS. Anyone with one eye and half sense can pick up on that immediately.

Apple hardware is reliable and robust.

My next phone IS the iPhone 5. Just gotta wait until they are back in stock!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love This Phone

 

Aug 17, 2012 by Nyko

I waited a long time for this phone, when it first came to Sprint, they were not allowing it on upgrades so I got the EVO Shift which was horrible! I got the Iphone4s now and have over 60 apps on it and only takes half the memory the evo did which was the same capability (with a mem card), I can not say enough good things about this phone, very easy to use, user friendly, no dropped calls and the best thing about it is that every single function it was built for actually WORKS!! Many people are complaining that the screen is not large enough, etc., but I think its perfect, the larger the screen, then of course the larger the phone, you may as well carry the Ipad then.

Pros: Everything works perfectly
no dropped calls
fast

Cons: battery life

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sweet phone

 

Aug 13, 2012 by iPhone4user

I pretty much like everything about the iPhone 4s, so far I've had no problems with it.
PRO:
1. Siri
2. Camera/video
3. Resolution
4. Fast internet speed
5. Reception/call quality
6. Build quality
7. Apps

CONS:
1. Screen size
2. No customization

I still have to give this phone a 5 square rating, due to the fact that the Samsung Galaxy S III doesn't blow it away. In other words, it can still hold it's own against Samsung's best, can't wait for the next generation iPhone to come out now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love it!!!

 

Apr 3, 2012 by ishasea

I am a former longtime Android user G1, Nexus One, Sensation, Atrix, etc.) Well, I just had to give the iPhone4S a try, and I absolutely love this device. I have no complaints at all, not one. I now cannot wait to see what the iPhone5 has to offer!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Fantastic Phone!

 

Jan 22, 2012 by tcr32

At first I was very hesitant to switch carriers for this phone. Now I'm wondering why I wasted all that time thinking about it!

Pros:
- Extremely Solid Bulid
- Fantastic Screen Resolution
- Speaker quality you wouldn't expect from a phone (Yes, it's GREAT)

Cons: (More like things I won't mind getting used to)
- Smaller Screen Size
- Sharp, Non-Rounded Edges

The iPhone 4S is an incredible phone, hands down. The cancellation fees from my previous carrier are well worth it. Another key point I'd like to mention (Only because it's a big pet peeve of mine) the microphone is on the bottom, so when you're talking in the wind it won't be heard on the other end. This also prevents the ever so annoying breathing into the microphone you can often hear. :D

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Apple is the best.

 

Dec 3, 2011 by cbradley26

I owned every iPhone up to the 3GS. I did nt buy the iPhone 4 because I had became bored with the whole ios. I just recently decided to give apple another chance and bought the iPhone 4S with the new ios 5 and siri. I must truly say that I am impressed and will once again be a proud owner of a iPhone 4S.

Pros: Everything
Cons: Battery life (Hopefully will be fixed soon but still better than android phones)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 5

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2