Phone Scoop

printed July 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3541&r=40353

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Apple  ›

Apple iPhone 4S

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review

4.5
Overall
3.5
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
4.5
Hardware Usability
5
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
5
Interface Speed
3
Audio Volume
4.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.53
Overall
4.75
Reception
4.25
Battery Life
5
Hardware Usability
5
Hardware Quality
5
Display
4.63
Interface Speed
4.13
Audio Volume
4.88
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1234 5 
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

By Far the Best Smart Phone

 

Nov 23, 2011 by gitano1   updated May 4, 2013

I have owned several Blackberrys and most recently a Droid X. I had an opportunity to get an iPhone 4S and went for it. I could not be happier.
RIM seemed to produce an inordinate number of defective phones. Of the three models I owned, the only one that was defect-free was the Curve 8330. Both the Tour and Bold came with major problems with basic functions, faulty microphones, malfunctioning GPS, Malfunctioning Bluetooth, Speaker that detached on the Bold and stopped functioning.
By comparison the Droid X was a superbly put together phone. Other than having to do a hard restart a few times a week to clear all of the caches, most utilities functioned faultlessly. There was a problem with the Droid that is, apparently, shared by all Droids, if the forums are to believed. It has to do with GPS dropping or not being able to find the satellites. This was a frequent problem during my afternoon commute. No solutions mentioned in any of the forums, nor the advice of Verizon techs resolved the issue which seemed to be worse during the hot days.
The iPhone has functioned with impeccable accuracy. The GPS, I use TeleNav, has never failed to operate in any conditions. Bluetooth connection to the BlueAnt Supertooth is better than either the Blackberrys or the Droid as is demonstrated by the volume which is much higher with the iPhone than with the other phones.
Voice recognition was excellent on the Droid, but significantly better on the iPhone. Accessing it is much easier as well.
The keyboard on the Apple is much easier to type on than any of the various boards I tried on the Droid. Auto correction is amazingly accurate.
have used it, it has been very cool.
Perhaps the leading difference between the iPhone and the Droid is that I paid $300 for the Droid, 6 months later it was deeply devalued by the introduction of of new models. This does not happen with an iPhone. iPhones hold their value much longer. In all ways, the iPhone is a superior phone.
Still love it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Still On The Fence

 

Oct 18, 2011 by radcloser

I carry two phones cuz I don't like giving customers my personal cell number. I upgraded from the evo 4g to the Motorola Photon for my personal phone. I was using the Virgin Mobile Optimistic V for work but ported the number last week to Sprint to get the iPhone 4S. I have spent the last three days comparing the two phones.
Data: The iPhone is a slug compared to the Motorola (on 3G) . I did download speed tests with both phones on 3G and then both on wifi. The Motorola spanks the iPhone in both tests. Internet pages load much faster on the MoPho.
Call Quality: I dropped a call while using my iPhone while sitting at my desk. I picked up the MoPho and called the person back and spoke with no problms.
Camera/Video Recording: both cameras are great but have differences. However the iPhone seemed to take pics with more realistic color tone. The video on the iPhone is obviously better since it records 1080P.
Result: Returning iPhone for Samsung Galaxy S2.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


iPhone 4s is ok

 

Oct 15, 2011 by Jqwalls

Got the phone for sprint on release day. Went from evo 4g to white 4s. Not thoroughly impressed. Nice phone all around but not really better or worse than my old evo. Its a little slower at loading web pages on wi fi and 3G than my evo was but not much. Honestly, I think if you are considering an iPhone just go play with it and see if you like the way the menus and pages are set up because it's really just a matter of opinion between android and ios5. Personally I think the iPhone 4s is smoother than any android phone as far as touch response but android is def more user friendly in my opinion. The battery life is not great like apple claims but its not bad either. Siri is ok but doesn't work near as fast as it shows on the commercial. Still I chose this phone over the samsung epic touch and the evo 3d and so far I don't regret it. I do miss a larger screen tho. Hope this helps someone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wait for the 5

 

Oct 14, 2011 by romeo0830

Just picked one up today, was not impressed. Actually liked the 3gs better. The feel of this phone is weird it's sharp edges are not user friendly I hope on the 5 they change that.

I gave it a 4 though because it is pretty fast and the camera is pretty good.

The s shows not to much difference in features though. I dont see the big deal on this one.

Big hype no delivery.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


iPhone 4s...this completely changed everything again

 

Nov 27, 2011 by SiriIsAwesome

I have been wanting an iPhone since...well ever since it first arrived on the market. However, I did not want to go to AT&T to get it. I waited and waited for my beloved (now failing) T-Mobile to get it. Once the 4s finally arrived on the market and when T-Mobile still didn't get it when the 4S came out I just had to sell my soul to the devil (AT&T takeover of T-Mobile). I'm so glad I did! This phone is absolutely amazing and was worth the wait! This phone gets great data service and is very smooth with the new dual chip A5 processor. The screens move smoothly from side to side and pulls up apps with ease. I do happen to miss my unlimited data from T-Mobile though as I'm afraid I might hit the 2 gigs very quickly with all the apps that consecutively check the internet i.e. facebook and email. Phone calls go through with ease as well. I do have to say I am missing the facebook integration from my MyTouch4G but, just to have the iPhone is totally worth it! Oh, I almost forgot to mention, Siri the voice recognition softway is ah-mazing! You ask her to call, text or send an email to any contact. You can ask her to direct you to a location find locations, many many many others.

Pros:
iTunes/iPod(music) integration
A5 fast processor
Siri (voice recognition)
APP Store (tons and tons of apps)
iMessage (to other iOS users, ipod, ipad, iphone, mac users)

Cons:
No facebook integration(plain contacts list, unable to tap a photo and upload to facebook)
No swype (quick texting)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I waited for this!?

 

Oct 20, 2011 by butterblades

Wow… I waited for that?! I have been with Sprint for 11 years and have tried almost every phone on the market except the IPhone. I have anxiously awaited the day that it would come to Sprint. Well after 6 full days with the 4s I couldn’t be more let down. The bottom line is if you want a fun phone to take a few pictures and manage your music this is great. If you use your phone for work, i.e. email with attachments that need to be edited etc. look elsewhere.

Pros:
Outstanding build quality!
Great Camera

Cons:
Can’t save an email attachment
Slow Web browsing on both Wi-Fi and Cell network compared to Evo 4g
Battery life is not what Apple claims
Difficult to move from program to program…
No real screen customization
Email is a pain to move between multiple accounts
Siri is a nice parlor trick, not much more

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone

 

Jul 21, 2012 by Dannymartinjr2306

This is one of the best phone there is

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very Disappointed (Sprint)

 

Mar 12, 2012 by medic357

After having the iphone for almost two weeks I've decided I should have followed my instinct and gotten the Gallaxy S2 to start with. My wifes Epic 4G Gallaxy S(original one with keyboard) is even fast than the iphone. I have no patience for slow phones. Maybe it's not the phone, but the sprint service. But in the past 10 years I have had no other problems with Sprint especially with the Evo 4G I just came from.

Pros:
call clarity
solid build
beautiful screen
easy to learn and navigate
great camera

Cons:
slooooooooooowwww!!!!(atleast on Sprint Network)
Battery life sucks

Conclusion: Greatly built phone, but Sprint network not ready for it. I'm switching to the Gallaxy S2.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1234 5 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1