We're giving away 10 HTC One (M8) harman/kardon edition phones for Sprint! Enter now!
Phone Scoop

printed October 2, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3475&r=40190

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy Nexus (LTE)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  39  

Phone Scoop Review

2.5
Overall
3
Reception
2.5
Battery Life
3
Hardware Usability
2.5
Hardware Quality
3
Display
4
Interface Speed
3.5
Audio Volume
2
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.67
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Had high hopes. wish I waited.

 

Apr 24, 2012 by johnko

I loved this phone when I first saw it, and Android 4.0 is great. I have really wanted to love this phone, and in some ways I do. But overall, I am rather disappointed by it. I do not write a lot of reviews, but my favorite to read are those that keep it simple with pros, cons and some explanation. So that is what I am going to do... The good first.
++
+Android 4.0 ICS
+++Ability to disable Verizon bloatware (pretty big deal)
+++Multi-color notification light (this was one of the biggest selling features of this phone for me)
+++Almost zero shudder lag for the camera
+++Bright, clear screen (although you can not run it at full brightness or it will be dead by noon)
+++Fairly fast on 4G
+++Location of on/off button

OK... now on to the disappointing part...

---Battery life. (I bought the "extended" battery from Verizon about a week after getting the phone. It was a marginal increase at best and I still can't make it from 8:30AM to 10:00PM without recharging. This is with very light, to sometimes moderate use with NO GPS, WiFi and about average about 3 hours with bluetooth turned on and the screen at 40% brightness. Horrible.)
---Speaker/ringer is simply terrible. (it doesn't get loud enough and when it is put up to max, it is impossible to use because the sound is so distorted).
---The vibrate is the worst of any phone I have had. (I've missed three calls in a row once while it was on vibrate in my front pocket)
---Cell reception- both 3&4G are not as good as Motorola and a few other phones.
---I don't have any crazy apps installed, mostly basic stuff yet I still have freezing and restarting issues.
---The camera. (yes, I realize megapixles are not everything, but for a premium phone, it should have a better sensor)
---No SD card slot, video out, or any other ports.

Overall, it is not a terrible phone, just not what I would expect from an Android OS flagship. I wish I went with the RAZR Maxx

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone

 

Jan 13, 2012 by versatileslim

Haven't had any issues with mine after 2 weeks. Camera is 5mp however with the resolution of the screen it is a non issue. For everyone talking about SD card suport do research before you buy the phone, duh. The phone has 32GB built in and wireless storage capability rendering that a non issue as well. My battery last me 11-12 hours consistently. The only issue I have is the fact that all apps are not compatible with ICS.....THAT'S IT. Other than that it owuld be a 5 in my books. Stock Android >>>>>

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great but has flaws

 

Feb 5, 2012 by PhoneFanatic1956

I trade phones at least twice a year and sometimes more in the never ending search for the perfect phone. The Galaxy Nexus is closer than any I have found to this point but it still has a few irritating flaws.

PROs:
- Large, HD screen
- Ice Cream Sandwich OS
- Extremely fast shutter speed on camera
- ICS
- Fluent multi-tasking
- Battery (I easily get 12 hours with moderate use)
- Screen looks great
- Nice design (fits well in hand)
- Fast and responsive
- Google will update the Nexus handsets first
- TI Omap 4460 dual core processor
- Super Amoled 720 display
- 32 gigs of storage 1 gig of memory
- Samsung quality

CONs:
- No separate HDMI port
- Limited accessories for now
- Some apps have compatibility issues(for now)
- No sd card slot
- Back camera is only 5.0 megapixels and front is only 1.3 megapixels
- Screen hard, if not impossible, to read in outside light
- Ringtone volume is extremely low with any of the ringtones currently standard on the phone
- Inability to add ringtones

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very Nice phone

 

Jan 12, 2012 by davibw

I ordered this phone after doing a lot of research and seeing all of the good reviews. Yes the display is so crisp and beautiful, totally full of colors, the phone is so fast it is unbelievable, i am totally amazed. I researched for over two weeks and finally came down to two phones, the Motorola razr and the Galaxy nexus LTE. I went with the nexus for the reason of the 4.0 ICS. the build of the phone, the calling quality is good, reception is good, everthing about this phone is good, this is my opinion. I am totally satisfied, so glad i have this phone. This phone is super fast...
Cons, none at all.. I give this phone a solid 5

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


If You Truly Love Android...

 

Jan 3, 2012 by doomsdalicious

...for what it's meant to be then this is the only phone to get. If you want a preloaded phone with tons of apps that make the phone out of the box ready or you don't truly love android, I might recommend the RAZR. I guess the way I could best explain it is if I were to recommend a phone to my grandma, I might recommend an iPhone, for my father or older siblings maybe a RAZR, and for me and my friends who love technology certainly the Galaxy Nexus.

PROs:
- Large, HD screen
- Ice Cream Sandwich OS
- Extremely fast shutter speed on camera

CONs:
- No separate HDMI port

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Definite step forward for Android.

 

Dec 18, 2011 by S M F W

I switched from the iPhone 4S to this. With the 4S I was having frequent ongoing calls with no audio. Apple has refused to acknowledge this problem despite a 90+ page thread on Apples iPhone support page. Anyway...I am impressed with this phone for the most part. ICS is DIFFERENT than other versions of android but once you get use to it, it is a huge improvement.

Pros-
ICS
Fluent multi-tasking
Battery (I easily get 12 hours with moderate use)
Screen looks great
Nice design (fits well in hand)
Fast and responsive
Google will update the Nexus handsets first

Cons-
Signal strength can be a little jumpy (though I've never completely lost signal and this is suppose to be fixed by google soon)
Screen looks a little dark on auto-brightness

Personally I think this is one of the best android devices on the market. It is a definite competetor with the HTC Rezound and Moto Droid Razr.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Nexus and ICS

 

Mar 31, 2012 by chadbordes   updated May 4, 2013

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I was debating going back to the iphone after having the droid charge. The phone was incredibly fast but had issues with it powering off all the time.

I went back and forth between the iphone for simplicity sake or upgrading to the Galaxy Nexus. I have to say the Verizon salesperson was HORRIBLE at promoting products (fyi point out the bonus' of your phones, not the shortcomings). I left the store with a bad taste in my mouth and was going to stick with the charge.

I did some more research and decided to bite the bullet and shell out some $300 for a new phone. I can tell you that my decision was not a bad one. I have had the phone for a week and I really feel that Samsung nailed it with this phone (great job to google for the ICS) I love the customization factor on this phone...this truly is my phone.

The speed is fantastic switching between apps and yes it is a redesigned UI but you will get used to it quickly. The camera is fast, battery life is decent and I love the notification feature, as someone else mentioned, that lets me know I have a message waiting without having to pick up my phone all the time.

I bought the spare battery charger and an extended battery. I have no problem making it through the day on a single charge.

2 cons to the phone which in my opinion are minor
1. Camera-5.0 megapixel not 8...still very clear photos
2. Screen resolution-seems a bit washed out. Not as vibrant as my charge.

I love ICS and appreciate how fast this phone is. I will say this phone gives iphone a good run for the money. It will be interesting to see what iphone does for next gen.

Have a great day.
chadbordes@gmail.com

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Ice Cream Sandwich is the new standard!

 

Dec 18, 2011 by Nupetarian

I decided enough was enough! I broke my Sprint contract because of all the broken promises. I'm big on Samsung and android, so I felt this was the perfect opportunity to jump ship. ICS is a dream come true. I barely scrap the surface of this new OS. It's buttery smooth. The app management system on the home screen is awesome. I love the display and clarity. The dual core processor is super responsive. This is the must buy for Droid purist. It will on get better, because software developers are still upgrading their apps for ICS compatibility. If there is a complaint. I guess it would be lack of accessories, a 5.0 and 1.3 camera, battery life and no sd card slot. Even without that this phone sets a new standard. Verizon 4g is the best. Their customer service is impeccable. Sprint, AT& T, & T-mobile owners do yourself a favor and switch. If you love speed and quality then Verizon is for you. Yes it's more thn Sprint & T-mobile, but you get what you pay fo, in life. The only other devices I would recommend other than this is the HTC Rezound, Droid Razr or Bionic.

Pros:

Verizon network & service
Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich
TI Omap 4460 dual core processor
Super Amoled 720 display
32 gigs of storage 1 gig of memory
Samsung quality
Will get first updates since its a base Google Android phone

Cons:

Limited accessories for now
Some apps have compatibility issues(for now)
No sd card slot
Back camera is only 5.0 megapixels and front is only 1.3 megapixels

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The first one that is self aware

 

Dec 20, 2011 by Pernel1983

I've had more than three dozen smart phones over the years starting with the early blackberry's to the Galaxy nexus ( sampling the moto droid , x2 , razr and rezound).
PROS:
-Build quality is outstanding
-System speed
-4G speeds (really does hit 20 mbps)
- -Interface with ice cream is another world
-Thin - REALLY THIN even in an Otterbox
-Screen/Colors - Makes all other smartphones look washed out
-Feels good in hand --> high build quality
-Really stable

CONS:
-As with any smartphone, battery life stinks

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A really great phone

 

Dec 26, 2011 by Pego

It is really a great phone. Beautiful display and works great. My previous android phones were D1 and DX.
The LTE speed is unbelievable at 30 Meg down and 10 Meg up. Better than my high speed Internet at home.
The only cons are battery life could be better and the sound is low when using you tube and Netflix. The ring tones were all to quiet but i installed my loud phone ringtone and now it is loud.
This is my first google phone and I love it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 23

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2