Phone Scoop

printed August 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3470&r=40207

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC Titan

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  4  

Phone Scoop Review

3.5
Overall
3
Reception
2
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
4.5
Hardware Quality
4
Display
4
Interface Speed
3
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.64
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Amazing smartphone

 

Feb 10, 2012 by Gurggles

This was a my second windows phone (HTC Surround was the first). I've had android, blackberry, iPhone, and webos; but I have to say this is a fantastic OS and handset. I was a little nervous at first but I have to say this phone is worth its price.

Pros:
Large screen, very bright (almost too bright in dark rooms)

Good Battery life, I can use it all day and still feel comfortable with going out with the charge.

Camera is as good as the 4S in my opinion.

Windows Phone OS is very very good. The UI might look daunting at first but its slick. People are get real curious because it looks like no other platform.

Cons:

Does feel a little too big for single handed use (unless you have large hands)

Micro USB is on the side of the phone, so it may not fit in universal mounts with a charging cable.

No micro SD slot.

Data heavy. With all the extra features and background downloading you will see a lot of data use even if you aren't touching it. A 2 GB data plan will be plenty (unless the user streams often)

Do not hesitate on getting a windows phone. The platform is full with features, and will only get better. Skydrive support will beat iCloud any day of the week.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Give it a Try

 

Jan 21, 2012 by debotton

This is my first Windows Phone, my primary phone is an iPhone 4S. I have also used Android. To me this evaluation was more of an eval of the OS then the phone. Well regardless I fell in love with both. First off the interface is fresh and new, and fun. If you love photos you will have this OS. The title interface shows you small photos of all the people in your address book. In fact I think I called a few people up I haven't talked to in years just by looking at their photo which reminded me of them.

Anyway here goes:
Pros: Battery life is the BEST battery I ever used on a smartphone. You find yourself looking at the battery level only on day two as you want to see how far you can get. Unlike most phones you want to see if you can make it home or to 10 PM with 5 or 10% left.

OS is very good, screen is very clear, and the syncing software is good. Never expected my windows phone to sync up to my iPhoto library, and it did.

Cons: Can't get it to work with Lotus Notes Work email. Travler isn't out for it and the Web client that works on every other smartphone won't work in ie on this phone. This alone will prevent me from having this as my only device. So will that said the small app market is an issue for some apps. Almost all the major apps are there...

Conclusion: I am a Mac nut and own everything they make. Windows Phone is very good an worth a try!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Really the best smart phone I've ever had!

 

Dec 31, 2011 by dan327

The first pro is that the Titan's battery life is better than any iPhone or Android phone I have ever used. I have the screen brightness turned up full all the time and it is still better than any other.

Other Pros -
Windows Phone OS 7.5 is really great. Fresh looking with a lot of thought given to make it user friendly. App management is great.

XBOX LIVE integration and Messaging.

Twitter and Facebook seamless integration.

Solid construction metal body.

Easy access to battery and sim card

Great display and very good camera.

Good antenna

CONS -

Voice quality on calls could be better

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


HTC Titan - Almost Perfect!

 

Dec 23, 2011 by SnittyKitty

The HTC Titan (Eternity) is almost perfect. I like Android but owning a pair of Touch Pro 2s (Rhodium) and a HTC HD2 (Leo) I had custom flashed my devices with NRGZ28's EnergyROM and XDAndroid's Froyo 7.1 Android ROMs, thus I gave Windows Phone 7.5 "Mango" a thorough research and turned my attention to the Titan and bought it for 1 cent over at Amazon Wireless. As of this typing it is $99 at Amazon Wireless.

1. Pros - Surprisingly the battery is excellent and there is a battery saver that can be toggled as it drains down. The screen is as advertised; a monster, 4.7"! I have good size hands and it is an adjustment. The antenna is at the bottom of the device; keep that in mind when you have two bars or less; I had to change how I held the device. The screen is bright; I had read it wasn't a HD resolution; however, I'm not complaining. The Titan's 1.5 GHz CPU is a single core and it flies. I'm aware Dual-cores are available but not many as of this typing and the hardware hasn't rolled out on many devices that support it. The People integration is why I bought the device..Facebook, Twitter, other accounts are all together. Windows Phone 7.5 is altogether a separate animal compared to Windows Mobile 6.5. It's fresh and nimble.

2. Cons - At 4.7" it may be too big though I put it up against my stepson's HD2; horizontally really close, vertically about a half-inch. The battery is always too short but all things being equal it does quite well when you weigh all smartphones and their batteries. You can't expect a phone thin as a cracker to have a fantastic battery. No external MicroSD card was not a deal breaker; 16 gigs of internal is enough for me; no file manager and unable to download apps like Windows Mobile 5/6 is what I hate about the industry's mentality; why? Yes, there are ways around it, but given a 1.5% market; why not release the device in an unlock state and show the world the power of this OS? It's that good!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Dec 3, 2011 by xzavier2008

I've had this phone since the 21st when it launched and all I can say is WoW!! This phone is awesome. If you not an iPhone zombie and follow everything iPHone does and can even muster up enough energy to tare yourself away from the Android I would go try this phone. MS has done and amazing job right with HTC. This phone is a beast.
Pros:
Screen Size
Battery Life
Picture Quality
Speed (I've tried to jam this phone up twice and it still wont freeze)

Cons:
No accessories (hard to find, AT&T should have thought head of this)
No kick stand like the other HTC phn's (hey buy a clip that has one when it comes out)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Faith restored in WINDOWS

 

Dec 1, 2011 by popndad210

As reluctant as I was to purchase this phone due to the Windows 6 issues of yesteryear...I took a chance on the Mango and wow...how sweet. This phones camera is to die for and the speed for text, internet browsing and Facebook connectivity is phenomenal. The battery life is great consider HTC's history.
As a man with large hands I was look for bigger screens without the bulkiness and this phone fits the bill.
I've had just about every phone ATT offers and this one by far has me pleased right out the gate, unlike the others.
This is a must buy if you haven't sold your soul to Apple or looking for an simpler alternative to Android...this is the phone for you!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

I love it! Titan is the right name!

 

Nov 12, 2011 by newjerseybrotha   updated May 5, 2013

I have the European unlocked version!

The device is a beast. Not heavy like people are saying, and very fast. He fact that it has a single core, means nothing. This thing is blazing! The screen is on par with the super amoled screens, if not dead even! Its very thin, sleek, and beautiful.

Too many pros, but here are a few.
Camera
Screen size
Thickness
Weight
Speed
Game play
Speaker quality

I could go on and on, but I won't. There is only one con, and that's the battery. Like all data phones, the battery will be short lived if you are a power user like me. But other than that, its the top windows phone right now. Beating out the focus S, and the Nokia. They just can not measure up. GET THIS PHONE, UNLOCKED and enjoy the freedom.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2