Phone Scoop

printed October 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3448&r=40307

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC Amaze 4G

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  17  

Phone Scoop Review

3.5
Overall
3.5
Reception
2.5
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
4.5
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
3.5
Interface Speed
3.5
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.13
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Simply Awesome

 

Apr 13, 2012 by Jmart922

This phone has everything you could expect a flagship could do or have.

I've owned a mytouch 4g slide and a sensation 4g, you take all the good things from each phone adn smash them together and bump up the performance and you got the Amaze 4G.

Screen is exactly what the sensation had, bright colors, with excellent clarity and super responsive

Performance, with a 1.5 dual core and 1GB of ram, this phone runs much better than either phone i had, and can run every app you can possibly throw at it and multi-tast with no hiccup

camera,simply the best or one of the best out there, can't speak enough about this feature, you gotta try out for yourself, definitely one of its stronger points

HDMI/USB both here, nice huh?

Internal storage is 16gb, but you get about 10gigs because of the bloatware, one bone to pick with it, but its not an HTC thing, more T-mobile

Build Quality, this phone makes the mytouch 4g slide seem like a defect, and even gives the cool sensation a run for its money, one of the best made android phones, period.

This phone is getting ICS in the near future, so optimization to the already fast hardware will only make this phone that much more of a good looking beast

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AWSOMENESS

 

Apr 7, 2012 by newbe1

this device lives up to the bill, i manage a dancing company and this device has become my camera for photo shoots and car shows, coming from a mottolrolla cliq 2 and the side kick, the down side is that the phone cannot produce loud volume like the cliq 2 can and there are some spotty issues with static and conversation pause but it has to do with serivce area as well but none the less this device kick A^$%#

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Worth the money...Great Phone!!

 

Feb 24, 2012 by tphone

I have recently purchased the Amaze phone and coming from a Samsung Galaxy owner I can really say this phone is Amazing. The phone has great features that make it worth the money..

Pros:
Camera 8megapixel and front 2mp
Sturdy build
Great call quality(even with one bar)
Crisp and Clean screen making it easy to read
Indicator light on phone(if your forgetful)

Cons:
Battery is decent but could be better

The phone is great and will not disappoint anyone. It has everything you need in a smart-phone from HTC sense which is user friendly and comes from a very reputable company that has some of the best androids around as my personal opinion.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone! (signal *Okay* at times)

 

Feb 23, 2012 by xxlightzoutxx

Pros: Great for HD movies and Games, very responsive screen very touchy at times. Can be very bright during start-up but Has a good Low Brightness setting. Many Apps available not too much bloatware and Alot of Extra Space for Apps. Very Fast and Smooth. HTC Updates available and reports issues of your phone shuts off randomly or other errors to HTC for Fixes. Has WIFI Calling worked great! Front Facing Camera and FLASH Camera!

Cons: Battery is good but could be better but is expected with this phone.
Signal has problems at times example a delay in Changing carriers from T-mobile to AT&T at times...? (The back cover is part of your Antenna check that as well to see if it is seated correctly) Also T-mobile Reps mentioned TASK Killers can cause signal problems..... check with T-mobile for area signal issues to be checked into. Currently has good service 7 out of 10
Micro Charger port is odd not sure why they made it that way but works with all Micro chargers it seems.

Hope This Helps in your decision of purchase (id recommended this phone other then the above) Test out HTC Sensation I'd suggest if this changed your choice seems like a good one

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


So Amazing

 

Jan 7, 2012 by mposton10

I got this phone yesterday after having a Sensation which I loved! IMO, the Amaze is the sensation on steroids physically and internally. Yes the phone is a little bit bulkier than the Sensation, but it still has the high quality feel and internally, it has more memory and HTC actually makes good use of the dual core this time around. Out of the box this phone is fast, but it order to truly make use of all of the Amaze's features you'll probably have to unlock (root) the phone. I know most people won't but think to, but it really does unleash the full potential on this phone. I rooted mine and the battery life has been awesome! I'm not at 12h 4m and 14s on battery and that has been with playing music, web browsing, gps, phone calls, texting and even a couple you tube videos.

Pros
Screen -much better than the Sensation indoors and outdoors
Speed- phone has handled everything I threw at it with very little lag
Battery life- yes I rooted my phone
Memory- more internal memory means the processors can actually do their job
Signal/Call quality-I live in the DFW area so signal hasn't been a problem, but we'll see when I get to the rural parts of Texas.

Cons
3.5mm jack-it's not ideally placed as it's on a curve, but it's not enough to be a deal breaker

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone, I catn believe its discontinued!

 

Nov 5, 2012 by joechains

Great phone, it was good at first but once I got the hang of it, it was better!

Pros: Great camera, very fast and reliable, Amazing camera and screen, great onscreen keyboard (im a big guy)

Cons: The battery didnt last a much at first but then I found how to shut off programs thru the task manager, and now the battery last alot longer They tried to change the adapter but you can still use the mini usb that everybody has (but stock one charges alot faster, even thru usb to pc)

I cant believe this cell got discontinued, no wonder I got it for free! Suckers... ha ha ha I love it, I had the mytouch4g and the mytouch 4g slide, and this one rocks!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best deal out there

 

Jun 19, 2012 by digoxin81

Pros:
screen
build quality
camera
performance
NFC capable
16GB of on board memory
ICS (big bonus here)
Front facing camera 2.0MP (most phones don't have)
Fast web browsing, with smooth pinch to zoom
even with Flash
CONS:
Battery could be better

When you "compare" the phones on this website, the PC Sync isn't highlighted on this phone...this phone can sync to the PC, i do it every other day..."TO DO LIST" really? The HTC to do list is included...just to clarify things for people, this phone is packed full of features...i recommend it

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


HTC One S who?

 

Jun 19, 2012 by RB0087

I'll say this much for comparison purposes, The Amaze 4G has NFC, HDMI out, 16GB built in, expandable memory, removable battery, built better than most android phones coming out (i have the white one and yeah it looks better than the one s), dual-core 1.5 S3 (yeah no S4 here, but not justifiable to pay for IMO), still supported (4.0), 1GB of RAM, and the camera is still one of the best, this phone has been good to me, connection has been reliable, 4G is very consistent and the phone doesn't ever seem to slow down, i've decided to buy one for my wife, the only sad part is, she wants the white one and they don't make the white one no more, just the black, but hey great phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


ICS MADE THIS PHONE EVEN BETTER

 

Jun 19, 2012 by chillguy922

I've had this phone for 5 months or so, its been the best android phone to date, plus with the addition of 4.0, the phone flies! Very stable release and the fluidity is much better, i definitely recommend this phone, the camera is still one of the best

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Terrible Phone

 

Jun 3, 2012 by Katniss_Prim

Seriously, RUN AWAY. DO NOT GET THIS PHONE. Yea you will LOVE it for the first couple weeks but it won't take long for you to begin to realize it is a TERRIBLE phone... you want a PHONE don't you? Not another mini laptop? Well, you will get a bunch of dropped calls, missed calls without even hearing the ringer, missed text messages, A MILLION restarts without you touching it... THERE ARE NO PROS TO THIS PHONE.

run.. far... away.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1