Phone Scoop

printed December 18, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3436&r=39736

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry Torch 9810

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  3  

Average Ratings

4.55
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Excellent Phone

 

Dec 28, 2012 by TMD1264

The 9810 is an excellent communication device, I would easily choose it over an any Apple or Motorola product that I've used, and I'm not sure why RIM is getting bad press for their phones... The 9810 operation is smooth from the start, well-built, with quick internet speeds, and easily offers the best email and texting functionality of any phone available. It does not have a bunch of gimmicks, bugs, or useless bells and whistles, and will never replace my laptop, but it is a superb PHONE and COMMUNICATION device that I trust to provide service in 5 different countries and keep me connected to my office, family and data/info needs when away... Have owned for 18 months and would not trade for anything else...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

May 24, 2012 by tennisbum

Pros: Fast processor
Great camera,no lag.

Cons: battery life seems shorter than my previous torch

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Love my Torch 9810

 

Nov 12, 2011 by Kristyn9728

I just switched from Verizon to AT&T and am a diehard BB fan so I decided to pick up the BB Torch 9810 because the Bold 9900 wasn't out yet. I went on vacation a week after purchasing the phone and got an error that couldn't be fixed. The store didn't have any of the 9810 in stock so I got a Motorola Atrix and I hated it!! But I needed a phone so I had to get something. A couple of days ago I went back to the AT&T store and they allowed me to switch back to the BB 9810 and I am so happy they did. I love the touch screen for apps and such but couldn't live without the physical keyboard so this phone is the best of both worlds for me. I'm just hoping that this phone doesn't end up with the same error and I'm hoping switching to AT&T was a good decision.

On that note Verizon's customer service would never have let me swap out my phone twice within the first 30 days even if it was due to a technical problem. So props to AT&T... already have points in my favor :)

Pros:
-Touch screen/physical keyboard combo
-Great reception
-It's a BB so I can't not like it!

Cons:
-Had to return it once due to error (reason I didn't rate the phone a 5).
-Having to slide the phone open to use the physical keyboard can get a little annoying but not a deal breaker for me.

If you are still a BlackBerry fan give this one a try!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Proper upgrade from BB 9800

 

Nov 11, 2011 by BKS3

This phone improves on the original Torch in all of the important areas.

Pros
Fast processor, no lag.
BB os 7
720p video

Cons
Battery life seems short compared to the torch 9800, a day max.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


High Quality Smartphone!

 

Oct 5, 2011 by ejf2461

I have been a Blackberry User since the Blackberry 7250. I recently had to switch from Verizon to AT&T. When I left Verizon I had a 4G LTE Android phone and was addicted to the 4G Speed and Wifi Hotspot so I want a 4G phone with AT&T. I also missed the way Blackberry sync with Microsoft Office for calender & contacts. So I decided to try the BB Torch 9810. The phone was much faster then my last BB and the tocuhscreen was awesome. The faster processor, more memory, brighter screen still give you 3x the battery life that an android phone gives. The phone reception is better than my partner iphone 4 who sits next to me all day in a squad car and has the same AT&T service. I wish RIM would make a tethering app for this phone. I have to connect the phone to my laptop via the usb cable to connect to the internet.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great device...Solid Blackberry

 

Oct 4, 2011 by Brancieri

Pros: blinking indicator light for messages and or missed calls.
Email is fast and secure.
Keyboard is great as is touchscreen.
Screen is brilliant.
Battery life is awesome, with wifi and bt on.

Cons: none.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very pleased

 

Sep 18, 2011 by stevoe101

Just started using the 9810 and must say ive been very pleased, screen is great and speed has greatly improved from 9800. I have had a few times when it will freeze only for a few seconds but it is rare. Signal is great in Salt Lake city with AT&T. sound quality is exceptional.NOW the only problems are with RIM itself,why cant they add FLASH to this phone? Processor is fast enough,you dont need a dual core to run flash,SO RIM make your phones profitable and add FLASH. the other problem is BB marketplace,Prices are too high for alot of the programs and it needs MORE software added, some programs i was able to use on my OS 6 system with BB 9700 is not compatible with OS 7 on 9810.

Pros
Speed
Great Screen
Very good sound quality
Speakerphone is fantastic
OS 7 a good update.
Battery life is great,two days on normal use

Cons

NO Flash support for video playback
minor freezes at times but very rare
Some OS 6 programs are not compatible with OS 7

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great Phone - Avoid AT&T Address Book

 

Sep 3, 2011 by go93habsgo   updated May 5, 2013

Carrier: AT&T

Moving from a 4 year old Moto Q which served me very well but was on its last legs, I waited for the Torch 9810 to be released (AT&T) and am very happy with it. Was thinking about holding out for QNX, but my Moto Q could last that long. This being my first BlackBerry it took a little while to get used to where everything is, but the transition really was not bad at all.

PROS
Blackberry 7 (really 6.1) OS very nice
Screen - both resolution and touch are outstanding
Keyboard excellent
Slider mechanism and phone built solidly
Battery life pretty good, even with Wi-Fi
Web browser very good
No lag time, responds quickly and crisply

CONS
Biggest annoyance was getting it to sync my contacts with Outlook. Lots of posts in several forums about BlackBerry Desktop not working well with Outlook 2010 (it does now, but there were problems when it first came out) misguided me at first, and for a while it had me scratching my head. But in the end it was not a RIM or MS problem...

Turns out that AT&T puts their own Address Book on the Torch, and that once enabled (my mistake) it makes itself the primary list for syncing contacts. The idea is that you can sync and save contacts (only, not calendar) to an AT&T Address Book online account so you can restore if needed. While some might like this feature, if you sync with Outlook and back up regularly through BlackBerry Desktop then why would you need AT&T Address Book at all?

To fix the problem I went into Settings and then Default Services, then made sure that Contact List (SYNC) was set to Default and NOT the AT&T Address Book. Problem solved, now it syncs with Outlook 2010 just fine.

Before resolving this, I was wondering why RIM does not integrate a contact/calendar manager into BlackBerry Desktop 6 - but now that syncing with Outlook works, all is well.

I highly recommend this phone, just steer clear of the AT&T Address Book if you plan to sync with Outlook.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Loved it until. . .

 

Aug 31, 2011 by rviater

Pros:
Screen
Speed
Keyboard
Battery
Connection/Antenna

Cons:
Glitchy (Which wasn't a huge deal for me)
No Mobile HotSpot Support.
Crashed after 8 days of using it.

I got it the day it came out for AT&T, and It crashed 8 days later, So I took it back to At&t And they tried fixing it but couldn't restore it, and they were out of stock, so I got an Inspire 4G instead..
Hope it was just mine, I did genuinely like the phone and the software.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Torch 9810

 

Aug 29, 2011 by JHB

Purchased phone last week, have had no problems with it. I like the updated OS 7 and the updated processor, very fast compared to the 9800. I like the new graphics and the silver metal look of the phone, looks better than the old 9800. I've noticed if you surf the INTERNET, play games, blue tooth on all day, you will have to charge it each night, but hey, its a smartphone, they will use up the battery quicker. Overall, no complaints, highly recommend this phone, also the 4G is also great. Way to go RIM and AT&T!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2