Phone Scoop

printed April 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3381&r=39682

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Droid 3

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  19  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.61
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Worth the wait

 

Jul 25, 2011 by Mrfist

I've had the phone about two weeks now. I started with the Motorola Devour which was replaced 2 times within 2 months and moved to the original Droid. The phone is great, haven't had very many problems, Which its a new phone and some problems are gonna happen. Had some problems with the camera, took a couple pictures, then went to open the camera back up and phone would reboot. After finally allowing me to open it there was some green lines in the screen when switched apps or pages, but after a soft reset (battery pull) everything has been alright. Lots of good things have been updated since the original Droid, Much better keyboard. Front facing camera. The Dual Core processor is amazing. No more lag on anything. Overall I'm happy.

Pros:
Processor speed
High resolution screen.
Keyboard.
Front facing camera.
Large screen.
World phone.
Toggle switch apps come stock.
Reception is great.
Signal is much better than previous phones.

Cons:
I don't like the way the picture gallery is set up.
Minor camera problems. (as listed above)
No metal battery door.
Battery life is bad, which is to be expected but a little worse than most androids. You just need to tinker with it to get the most out of it.
There is also a glitch with the predictive text, if you turn it off in the settings it is always still there, and after sometimes exiting messaging it's still there. (I'm sure this will be fixed with a patch.)
Too many stock applications that aren't needed.
No independent camera button.

I know I list alot of problems, but alot of these are really minor and petty on my part. I work for a cell phone company, so I'm meticulous about these things. Overall I'm satisfied.

Hope this helps.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best Droid Yet....

 

Jul 23, 2011 by sam912

This is a great phone. Especially if you are looking for a phone with a keyboard. The keyboard was the primary reason for my interest.

Pros:
-Keyboard
-Call quality
-Build
-size
-screen
-World Phone

Cons:
-Camera-I don't understand why Motorola has not come up with a decent camera

I am not sure if I consider the lack of 4G, although I wish it had it. For me, it doesn't really matter because I live in an area that does not have 4G. Also, given the drain on battery, I am not sure how often I would use it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Best Keyboard Droid

 

Oct 20, 2011 by aladdin8705

I have owned almost all droids and this is by far the best 3G droid with a keyboard.

PROs: Keyboard (layout is perfect, buttons are perfect), Volume, Vibration, Processor, camera, front camera, memory.

CONs: Service (drops), Battery life, weight

Awesome phone, I just wish it was 4G :(

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love everything about it!

 

Oct 11, 2011 by bleu_tropix

I'm a diehard fan of physical QWERTY keyboards. These days, they're hard to come by on high-end phones. Coming from the LG Voyager/EnV lineup, the first smartphone worth jumping ship for, IMO, was the Droid 2, then the Droid 2 Global, and now the Droid 3. The D3 has solved all of my problems with the previous 2 versions and topped it off with a bigger, brighter screen and number row. I've had my D3 for roughly 2 months now.

The good:
- good call quality
- keyboard!! love the number row. keys placed like a computer keyboard. the chin makes it unnecessarily too big with my smaller hands and sometimes the keys are a little hard to push, but that's a VERY small gripe.
- screen is bright
- battery life is decent
- although i use a 3rd party home launcher, the new moto UI isn't bad
- good camera, even better camcorder...especially the sound quality of recordings
- extended battery barely adds thickness
- love love love the car mount!
- looks good, i get compliments all the time :)

The not-so-good:
- screen is bright but the pentile display takes some getting used to, especially for viewing small text.
- sometimes reboots in the midst of using google nav, the software update seems to have fixed this though

All in all, an awesome phone. I can actually see myself with this til they come out with a 4G slider.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


She pulls your pants pocket down with the weight...

 

Aug 31, 2011 by rompn4x

Pro's...

Not much bigger then my HTC Incredible

Battery life is not too bad once you shut off everything.

1080P HD recording

Really friggin fast!

Forward facing camera.

Amazing slide out keyboard!!!

Con's...

It's definitely got some weight to it.

Cheap plastic backing plate

Buttons at the bottom of the phone aren't very responsive.

Screen could be better (not close to iphone4).

Overall I am pleased with the phone. It ain't 4G but 4G isn't all that to begin with.
The phone doesn't have the lightweight feel of my old HTC Incredible... I guess ill get used to it. Oh and put a metal backing on it Motorola...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love It Now That I Found The Battery Drain

 

Aug 2, 2011 by mark929

This phone has been great and has everything thing I needed. Unfortunately, the battery life was its weak point. I was dropping from full charge in the morning to about 50% by noon without doing anything except battery checks. To me, this was unacceptable. After much trial and error, I found the problem to be the always on 3G. Since I don't get email "pushed" to the phone. I found a widget (Data Enabler Widget) that would toggle the 3G on and off. I can still receive calls and texts with the 3G off. Whenever I need to use the internet, I just turn it off and then back off once I'm done. This has dramatically increased my battery life. This work around is acceptable to me since this is an otherwise awesome phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love it.

 

Aug 1, 2011 by Airbus83

I will recommend you this phone to any one who is looking for a keyword, this phone is excelent. I switch from apple iphone 4 to motorola droid 3 and i feel good for this change. no only the iphone is the one with good features, there is many other phones in the market that makes the same features or better than iphone.
My suggestions,this is one of those phones out there who makes the change.
and don't worry about it is not 4g, because 4G is not optimized until 2013.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A great phone!

 

Jul 31, 2011 by cpd2052

I have really been impressed with the phone. The qwerty is the nicest I have used. If you are looking for a phone with physical keyboard, this is your phone. I have never really understood people and feedbacks with battery life. The phone will last twelve plus hours for me with moderate to heavy use. I have used most of the Android phones with Verizon, and this is in the top 5% related to good battery life. My only complaint with this phone is the camera. It wants to throw the white balance.

Pros:
Call quality
Speaker loud
Keyboard
Screen
Gingerbread

Cons:
Camera

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


modern, simply amazing

 

Jul 16, 2011 by tdp0291

Here we go. Another droid, not. Just any droid, the droid 3 . It is simply amazing. Its dual core makes it super fast. Its large super responsive screen makes it easy to use. It also has a 8mp camera and a front facing camera. The viseo feature. Shoots in 1080 p .. its simply amazing. I really think this is the best one yet I love this phone I've had it for a week and all the apps I've downloaded, it still hasn't slowed down. I love this I recommend it to anyone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1