Phone Scoop

printed December 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3301&r=40107

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy S II, Epic 4G Touch

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  7  

Phone Scoop Review

3
Overall
2.5
Reception
3
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
3
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
4
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
3
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.36
Overall
2.83
Reception
3
Battery Life
3
Hardware Usability
3
Hardware Quality
4.17
Display
3
Interface Speed
3.33
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

Pretty good for the price

 

Mar 16, 2013 by KingPhoneReviewer

Overall a pretty good device for the price. It does take a little whiles for the GPS to work its way into locating your position and it force closes my apps from time to time but quite a few phones do that anyways. Other than that I give it a average rating.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Really enjoying it

 

Aug 10, 2012 by crunchsolutions   updated May 3, 2013

Carrier: Sprint

Was graduating from a Palm Pixi. Had used an Android at work and wasn't thrilled by it. Didn't want to join the iPhone universe and had been thinking about a Windows phone but Sprint don't seem to be supporting Windows at all (as of summer 2012).

Somewhat reluctantly and in large part thanks to all these Phonescoop reviews, opted for this phone.

Am LOVING it. Cannot believe that the Android experience can be so different from phone to phone. For those who are hesitating, this phone is available at a very good price right now and it's a pleasure to use.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


LOVE IT !

 

May 14, 2012 by kellinicole7789

I love everything about this phone, no hesitation at all.there isnt any cons only pros. they really did a great job with the quality of the screen its amazing! I have us cellular and would recommend this phone to ANYONE!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Very fine phone

 

Apr 13, 2012 by Billy Idol   updated May 5, 2013

Carrier: Sprint

Even with the Advent of the G4 on the Horizon, this device still screams. The Jelly Bean update was nice. I ditched the 1800mah battery for a 4100 which makes the phone a pleasure to use all day long without worry. My only complaint is it is a Wimax phone and Sprint has no 4g coverage worth a darn. But that is no rap on the device itself.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wonderful Phone

 

Feb 6, 2012 by cptamp

Pro:
Signal Great
Apps perform well
Camera is outstanding
Tons of memory (and SD card!)
NOT an APPLE product!!!!!
FAST 3G service
WiFi works great
Bright/Impressive screen

OH, the phone works very well too!

Con:
Battery life is ONE day at best.
4G is overrated

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Epic says it all..

 

Jan 26, 2012 by thenewvessel

If you are considering purchasing this phone.... seriously.... buy it. Go to Bestbuy or an electronic store where you can use the phone in person. Once you use the phone and experience first hand it's sheer brilliance, you will truly appreciate it's title "EPIC".

PROS:
Everything.

CONS:
Nothing.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Truly an EPIC of a Phone

 

Dec 29, 2011 by keepfit7

The things I appreciate most on this phone are: more internal phone memory and the BIG Screen. I'm coming from the HTC EVO 4G (which is still a GREAT Phone) however the internal memory was only 400+MB which I had to reset the phone once so I can appreciate the Epic Touch 4G's larger internal memory-I guess this alone is why I switched to the Epic. The screen is a litle larger than the EVO which I love-not planning to buy a tablet. The Epic 4G is a little faster than EVO also of course with the dual core processor and more RAM. Think HTC EVO 4G with upgraded hardware. Hurry and buy the Samsung Epic Touch 4G - you won't regret it!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BEST OUT THERE TO DATE

 

Dec 23, 2011 by DARRYJR

Lets just start out by saying AMAZING...I have spent probably thousands on phones keeping up w technoligy.Lets just say, i will be with this one for a bit.Screen is amazing, super fast processor, thin, lightweight, I can actually go on and on.I have had all recent phones- Evo, Evo 3d< photon, iphone 4s, by far the galaxy is in its own class.I have read many reviews on this phone complaining about 3g/4g connection issues. Not here. The photon was the best to me of what I mentioned above, reception , call quality, but after using this I am wondering what delayed me in purchasing this one.

PROS
super fast
screen
call quality
build quality
size

battery-not too bad for what it is running

CONS

NONE........

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone...

 

Dec 22, 2011 by quikfeat

This is a very good phone with a NICE BIG SCREEN which I enjoy. The only thing which keeps me from giving it a perfect 5 is I am coming from the HTC Evo 4G and although it doesn't have as fast a processor as the Epic Touch 4G, for some reason the Evo web surfed faster in places where reception may not be the the strongest which makes me believe the Evo has a superior internal antenna. The only other con on the Epic Touch 4G is the Evo resized a web page better when "pinching" the screen wider and bigger. I think Vlingo Voice Assistant is good - haven't compared it with Siri on the Apple iPhone. The one thing I like about Android over the iPhone's IOS is it plays flash videos and it has free turn by turn voice navigation on Sprint. Overall Great Smart Phone - just wished it web surfed as fast as my Evo in places with weaker reception.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung Epic 4G Touch

 

Nov 21, 2011 by PersoninNJ

This phone is great! I had a Intercept - a dog - and thought I was the cat's meow when I upgraded to a Evo 4G. Then I came across the Epic - for only $50 upgrade. And it was only good for that night - so I did it. And I am so glad I did.

Pros-

Screaming fast - blows away my Evo 4.
Screen Looks great ! Watching Netflix never looked better.

Call Quality- I now use my phone more than my landline. People can't tell I am on cell phone - its that good.

Battery life - my day starts off with a conference call for 1 hour each day. Thats at 8 a.m. Then I do about 1 more hour of talking during day and use internet all day and text about 30 times. At 7 pm - still have over half the battery left. Thats great.

Pictures - camera is awesome. Compared my phone with the apple 4s - My pictures were great. But I could see them better with the larger screen.

Using wifi - all things load great and fast.

Cons -

Not an apple so no speaker docks for it.
Not as many clips available for it so far.

Internet speed on SPRINT - could be better. Forget the speedtest - just use apps. I did some side by side with a verizon iphone 4s - att 4s - and my phone. Just went to local papers and NJ.com using stock browsers. Worked ok - wasn't too bad.

Note - I do have a sprint airwave 3g in my house. I have tried making calls with it and with out the unit. The calls still sound good without the airwave. Now 3g service is different - with it on - using internet is superfast. I guess it is what could be if Sprint would upgrade the towers.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2