Phone Scoop

printed September 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3217&r=40466

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Brightside

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  5  

Average Ratings

3.38
Overall
3
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
2.33
Hardware Usability
2.17
Hardware Quality
2.33
Display
2.5
Interface Speed
2.83
Audio Volume
2.17
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Please get your facts straight...

 

Jun 25, 2012 by remlap420

At shargraves07, you don't know what you're talking about. Saying all non corporate stores only sell used/refurbished phones is just silly. And you also stated that the Brightside doesn't have video capability, when it clearly does. I am also an indirect agent for Verizon, and we don't even have access to the refurbished phones that are used to replace warranty issues, only corporate Verizon stores have these. And the only time we get used phones, is if someone returns a phone under the 14 worry free guarantee, then we have to sell it as used, and discount it a bit. And the customer is made fully aware of this. Please stop trolling, your comments are highly inappropriate. Good day.

Samsung Brightside is an excellent, basic phone. I haven't heard of any issues with it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Don't get it at Verizon

 

Apr 29, 2012 by higgs223

Whoever thinks that retail stores other than a Verizon direct store sells "not new" or refurbusihed phones is completely wrong. If retail stores sold phones that were not brand new or never used, they would not be allowed to offer protection plans on them or offer any type of warranty. The reason Verizon stores prices are so high is because they have customers that have no idea they can go anywhere else to get their phones. Target Mobile has literally the exact same phone BRAND NEW for 1/3 of the price.

On to the actual phone now. This is honestly the best "basic" phone I have ever used. The touch screen is on par with most smart phones and the physical keyboard is a great addition. Also, it's made by Samsung so expect it to last you the entire two years of your contract and probably more.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Higgs223

 

May 6, 2012 by Fres9056

Higgs223 was a life saver! I just walked out of Target with 5 BRAND NEW Brightsides all at $20 each! I just saved $400 just on the phones themselves. The customer service there was amazing. I did not have to sign into a machine, wait 45 minutes, then talk to a pushy angry sales person trying to sell me a smartphone. They transfered all my info from the old phones to the new! The Brightside is a great phone. Samsung always makes the best! The touchscreen is very responsive and the keyboard is a time saver! Get this phone if you do not want a smartphone! Don't waste time and money at direct Verizon stores!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


3rd Party Retailers

 

Apr 30, 2012 by bosoxfan12

@ shargraves...You need to get your story straight on 3rd party retailers selling new and refurbished phones. I am a kisok manager for a 3rd party and ALL of our phones are BRAND NEW and we DON'T sell refurbished phones. So learn to do your homework before you start running your mouth!!! Anywho, the Brightside is a great phone for being a non-smartphone. The screen is very responsive and I haven't hear from my customers about any reoccuring problems. Until I do, I will keep praising this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

video

 

Jan 28, 2014 by almost once

cant figure out what is wrong. when I try to take a video it waits like ten seconds before recording. the timer is set to off. I don't know what the 3,5,10 is on the timer. also, if I take a 15 second video it says the file is to big for a video message. on my other Brightside this was not a problem. why does it hesitate before starting to video and why does it say the file exceeds the size when on my other brightside phone sending a 30 second video message was no problem

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

problems

 

Sep 12, 2013 by wlong18

I used upgrade and purchased Brightside 1/14/13. I didn't by insurance since not a smart phone and never had problems with basics. Screen developed a stress fracture internally and could not be repaired. used another lines upgrade and got new one 4/16/13 and a hard case to protect. Now it is having problems with staying on. Would not recommend. Out of upgrades and options.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Not a bad phone

 

Jun 13, 2013 by Logansims

I got this phone for free online thru HH Gregg after seeing it at Verizon for $100. I really liked the slide out keyboard when I first got it. The main touch screen is just okay. You have to press hard and be pretty accurate where you press to get a response the first time. The phone battery is good and the call quality and reception are good but could be improved. I have dropped a few calls where my other LG phones did not. This is a great texting phone with the slide out keyboard. It is difficult to use with the touch screen. This will be my last non smart phone. I really enjoy taking good pictures. The camera is not bad but it does not have a flash. The video capture is pretty bad. The ringers and vibrate are very good. The ringers are loud and clear and the vibrate is strong. The shortcut menu is really nice too. The only thing I really hate is when you have to dial somewhere and then have to use the keyboard: the keys go away, and you have to press back and press keypad which is a dark gray color which is hard to see. Overall, for a free phone, well almost, Verizon charges you a $30 upgrade fee now, it does the job. The touch screen should be improved in my opinion and a flash on the camera.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Do not buy at Verizon

 

Nov 3, 2012 by urban2007

Well, did the research and the info that others provided on this phone are on the mark! Do not buy at Verizon, something we had NO CLUE about and just learned a very valuable lesson in shopping for phones. Currently this phone is online at Target for FREE as an upgrade to an eligible phone. We saved $100 which is what the Verizon store and online was charging for exact same "new" phone. Thank you for your insight people! If you can wait 2-3 days for it to be shipped to you from Target, also free shipping, it's worth it, hands down! As for the phone, it's exactly what my teen was looking for since she's not allowed to have a smartphone yet. Very happy w/ the purchase.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Just about a Smart Phone but not quite

 

Mar 22, 2012 by BGMobile

For what it is, and for what I paid, you get a LOT of phone. It's NOT a smart phone, but it IS one of the most capable non-smartphones on the market. Target Mobile (yes, in a Target Store) sells it for $29.99 right now. Verizon sells it for $99.99 plus a $50 MIR. No-brainer: get it from Target.

A previous reviewer thought the build was cheap feeling. I didn't get that impression, however, I'll bet he/she got it from Verizon for $100.00 + $50 MIR. If I paid that much, I'd probably say the same thing. $100.00 is too much for this phone. The amount I paid, $29.99, was just right.

Pros:
-excellent antennae - great signal
-capacitive touchscreen on par with smart phones - I really like it!
-Very fast/responsive processor
-very stable
-slide out 4-row QWERTY
-Driving mode (reads caller's name or number while driving so you don't have to look away from the road. COOL!)
-GPS is accurate and easy
-Facebook!
-only $10.00 for Internet but it' not full HTML

Cons
-it's not a smartphone
-can't change the home-screen look/feel (haven't figured out how yet, anyway)
-a smidge bigger (wider) than I was looking for

All-in-all, I like it. It's treating me well and I recommend the phone for users looking for a fun, capable, almost smartphone but don't want to pay the $30.00 data fee.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good phone

 

May 19, 2012 by hottphonechick

I actually work as an indirect agent for Verizon Wireless, and I have worked at kiosks as well. I agree with another user that said he managed a kiosk. Ppl definitely should get their facts straight about these kiosks & 3rd party agents. We cannot sell used or refurbished phones w/out the customer's knowledge. We RARELY even carry phones of that sort as it is, and if we do every box is labeled.
On the phone, the Brightside is actually a good phone. It's easy to use and highly responsive. The camera isn't as good as I'd like but it is decent for what you are getting. The battery life is pretty decent as well. All in all, it's a good phone. In my opinion there's nothing too fabulous about it because it IS a basic phone but it is a good piece of equipment.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2