Phone Scoop

printed August 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3207&r=40092

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC myTouch 4G Slide

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  5  

Phone Scoop Review

3.5
Overall
3
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
3
Hardware Usability
3
Hardware Quality
4
Display
4
Interface Speed
3.5
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Waiting for the next model...

 

Sep 26, 2012 by Im.So_Phone-FRESH

I love this phone!!! It's amazing, and quite frankly the best phone out right now that has a physical qwerty keyboard (having already compared it to Motorola's Droid 4 and Samsung's Galaxy S Relay 4G).

Insted of Pros & Cons, here's a wishlist that could make this phone better.

- could use to be slightly thinner,
- new screen size larger than 4 inches with improved pixelation,
- faster processor (at least 1.5),
- better battery life (can i get at least 10 to 11 hours tt),
- upgrade camera (12 or 14 mp),
- more creative design... visual appeal!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


FANTASTIC device! Love it!

 

Dec 18, 2011 by brenteesha

I absolutely adore this phone! After a friend upgraded to this and I had a chance to use it... I knew I had to have it. This is my 3rd Android device, and it's by far the best Android experience I've had yet. (Samsung Epic -> G2 -> MT4GS)

One reviewer complained about how slow the phone was, and I couldn't disagree more! The phone is incredibly responsive. Notification bar pulls down quickly, animations are smooth and high quality, and I can quickly switch between applications with no issues whatsoever.

The screen is quite impressive for an LCD... sharp with nice colors and contrast. The placement of the camera button is rather perfect, and I love having physical buttons along the bottom of the front instead of touch sensitive.

The camera is great, that goes without saying. The photos look a little greyish to me, like the brightness is a little too high. I usually go to Effects and use Auto Enhance before sharing my pictures. However, the advanced features and zero shutter lag make this camera an absolute joy to use!

I wanted to point out that this phone DOES HAVE SENSE. Sense 3.0, in fact. It says so in the "About" menu. One reviewer said it didn't, which is absolutely incorrect. It's a welcomed addition to the phone and it runs phenomenal.

Battery life is above average for an Android device. It is better than the G2, and MUCH better than the original EVO. I could make it through the day with light usage, and since installing Juice Defender I can use it even more. Just remember it IS an Android, and as such it can't compare to the battery life of a BlackBerry.

The keyboard is mediocre, IMO. The keys don't click, and they are rather stiff when pressed. Space bar isn't very responsive either. However, it's not the worst keyboard I've used and with this incredibly responsive touch screen, virtual keyboard works just as well, if not better.

Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this device! The cons are very minimal and the phone is a joy to use. I'm totally in love!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


The best phone I've owned so far

 

Nov 30, 2011 by Jmart922

Pros:
sharp high resolution screen
Htc sense works great
Screen very responsive
never seems to be boggled down in the performance
Department
Qwerty kb works well
Signal strength is great
And the camera is awesome
Cons:
Vga ffc, wish it was the standard 1.3 mp at least

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


big, clunky, slow with an AMAZING CAMERA!

 

Oct 26, 2011 by justfinethanku

What I love about this phone? The camera, hands down is a superior camera to just about every phone out there. It's fast, accurate and shoots some incredible shots.

With that being said, the battery on the phone doesn't last past 2pm on a medium-usage day which pretty much ends this review.

You cannot use a phone that dies in 6 hours unless you are willing to sacrifice a TON of portability.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I love this MyTouch4G (need a shorter name)

 

Sep 20, 2011 by Tychal

I think this is a wonderful phone. I have weighted out my options for this phone and chose this phone over the Sensation, I like keeping my screen clean. The processor works rather quickly, it has plenty of memory to run several programs, however I think that Android needs to improve their music player because it still does not recognize every format, the standard player only sees 760 out of 800 songs.

Pros
Quick processor a good battery life. The keyboard is manageable. The 1080p camera works like a dream. And unlike the last phones this actually looks like it can pass for an adult phone. And the Camera button is not placed in a location where if you flip up the keyboard you would engage the camera.

Cons
Living in a smaller city where not too many people understand what Video Chat is. The T-Mobile TV is kinda slow. Have to download a new music player for all of my music to be seen by the phone. Cannot use Wifi for T-Mobile TV.

All in all this is one of the best phones this cell phone tech has ever had.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Only Impressive On Paper

 

Aug 5, 2011 by StevieSprint2k11

Ive heard nothing but good things about the HTC My touch slide 4g. I had and liked the mytouch slide 3g alot better then my mytouch or mytouch4g - Ive had both tmboile samsung galaxys 3g and 4g and then an HTC sensation

When i read the specs for the phone i was impressed to me it seemed like a smaller HTC sensation with a keyboard an thats never a bad thing. after trying the phone for almost a month i realize its only good on paper

Pros - Small light and compact. nice keyboard . solid touch screen sensativity.
the camera on this phone is siiiiiiick and i personally love the genius button.

Cons - 1.2 ghz snap dragon processor is beyond slow - its supposed to be similar to the evo 3d and the htc sensations 1.2 snapdragon processor but it runs 500 - 600 points less then those 2 phones do on the quadrent standard apps and the speed tests. all in all downloads arent horrible. i just feel like the speeds were equal to the galaxy s 4g. the screen is kind of cheap next to some of the other high end phones out. and all in all FOR ME the genius button and keyboard wasnt enough to make up for the loss of speeds and slower downloads that id have downgrading from my htc sensation to this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


KUDOS to the MyTouch 4G Slide

 

Oct 1, 2011 by ladythai

The MyTouch 4G Slide is more than just an average slide-out QWERTY keyboard smartphone. It is a POWERHOUSE compared to other smartphones especially the HTC Sensation...this phone is a powerful mobile device that offers numerous features.

The keyboard isn't the best I've used, but individuals who prefer real buttons to tapping on glass will appreciate the thoughtful design of the 4G Slide's keyboard. It will take some time to get use to versus to average QWERTY keyboard. Sound quality was okay and could be better, but if you need an extreme loud speakerphone, you will be somewhat disappointed with the feature. Battery life was acceptable for this class of device...just don't get too happy because at the end of the day the standard battery will not last. I plan to invest in a stronger battery that will increase performance.

The 4G Slide could benefit from HTC's Sense user interface, but even without it it has a lot of easy-to-divine features and options. The Android 2.3 Gingerbread system really screams on the 4G Slide with its powerful dual-core processor.

HTC did a great job of endowing the camera with extra features -- such as HDR -- that have a noticeable impact on image quality. Too many photo features to list but this phone is 1000 times better than the regular MyTouch. With the excellent feature list and speedy interface, chances are good you'll get the shot you want with any photo feature selected for use.

The 4G Slide strikes a good balance. This smartphone is for the text-happy photographer and the MyTouch 4G Slide offers all the right touches someone like me.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1