Phone Scoop

printed August 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3188&r=39903

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Nexus S 4G

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  22  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.05
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Beautiful...Just fantastic!

 

May 15, 2011 by undergroundgilligan

Working for a Sprint location I have been drooling and waiting for the device to arrive. I sold my Evo4g (which I loved!) to get this, and honestly I am in love all over again.

Such a sleek device, almost the same size when holding it next to the evo, but the round edges and a little thinner. The Screen is AMAZING!!! the 16 GB of space is great, i have so many more apps than my evo and still tons of space left. Camera worried me being a 5mp but it takes great pictures! and Gingerbread, need I say more?!?!?!

To sum it up...

Pros.
Super AMOLED screen!
16 GB storage
Light weight and great battery life
beautiful pictures
newest updates for Android.

Cons.
trying to get use to the keyboard, a little different.
Youtube not showing issue, (easly fixed once googled)
Nothing else!

Stop into a store check it out, no evo replacement but rates right with it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone Just a Few Things...

 

May 10, 2011 by Eddie5059

I changed from a HTC Evo 4G and thus far I am pretty satisfied.

Pros;
-Design
-Screen Quality
-Touch Responsiveness
-Battery Life

Cons;
-I can not manage to find where to take off the quick reply window... Not a huge deal I just prefer to not have it.
-YouTube says its installed however I can not find it in my apps... i doesn't even give me the option to reinstall

The minor issues I am experiencing could just be user error but I doubt it... I have used android since the original Motorola Droid from Verizon...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Amazinnngggg

 

May 13, 2011 by BerryBabii2010

I recieved my nexus s 4g today from sprint. Im coming from the Epic, although i did have a hard time deciding, im glad I chose to get the epic. The screen is amazing but then all AMOLED screens are amazing, but this one has a smoother surface then the epic. The speed is freaky fast. NO LAG whatsoever! Apps download in a heartbeat, and the browser is superrr fast! The battery charges pretty fast, and lasts pretty long. The only thing I hate is the lack of notification light, and visual voicemail, and facebook integration. It would be perfect it those 3 little things were fixed! I would definatley reccomend upgrading from the evo because the evo is junk next to this! Its so thin, and feels great in the hand. The pictures are pretty good, nothing different from the epic except the settings. The messaging is pretty basic. But i use GO SMS PRO and customize it to my liking and it does not interfere with stock.

PROS-
+BEAUTIFUL AMOLED SCREEN!!!++++
+ANDROID 2.3+++
+Slim Design++
+Pictures and Camera+
+Battery Life=AMAZINNGG!+
+Speed!-LIGHTNING FAST!++
+Fast download speeds!!+++

CONS-
-NO NOTIFICATION LIGHT, BUT NOLED helps with that!-EASY FIX!-
-No facebook integration-
-No Visual Voicemail--

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Its very good but... Screams for V 2..0

 

May 10, 2011 by WDSJFW

I have just ditched my Palm Pixi with the best phone OS (IMO) the Web OS- but the hardware is just not good enough- so my 1st google phone is the Nexus S4G.I will just jump to my impressions after a couple of days. Knowing that NO cell phone is perfect...

GOOD:
1> Excellent AMOLED screen- a pleasure to read websites thats for sure.
2> Great call quality (so far)
3> Perfect? size for a smart phone- not a big brick but even with a case is a nice size.
4> Whiz bang of the "pure google" interface is impressive. And it is fast- I see no lags for anything.
5> Of course Google Apps and eco system.
6> Battery seems to last pretty well. Downloaded for 2 hours- 40% left.
7> Small thing but I like the easy pushbutton way with dot "counters' when switching screens. Its the simple things!
8> The promise of bigger and better software direct from Google.

BAD:
1> NO MISSED EVENT ALERTS?? Really? This is just crazy on a top tier phone like this.
Wheres the app that glows the screen at 25% when you have missed an event?
2> no HD video on the camera? and no optical zoom? Not even 2x? The camera does take better than decent shots though.
3> Fixed 16 GB could be better-but reallymaybe costs them $2.00 more for 32 GB? Samsung could just call down the hallway and make a deal with their Micro SD division...
4> TERRIBLE - in my opinion - default keypad. Small keys in Portrait mode and noticeably milliseconds slower than other keypads. I fixed this by downloading Swiftkey that is MUCH better. Remember coming form the Palm I had very nice mechanical keys.
5> No dedicated camera keys- cameras are just as important as the phone itself- Google didnt make the camera a priority.

I believe that I will love my phone but the minuses are fairly significant. Since I eliminated #4 I still cant believe that this phone has no LED for missed alerts- thats a no brainer and may be a deal breaker for some. V 2.0 will include this and 64gb on board memory and a better camera with HD

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone

 

Dec 22, 2011 by gbolt903

Got it for my daughter online Sunday for free she loves
Great amoled screen
Nice size
Goood battery life
16g internal memory
Most of all thanks sprint bc it was free this past weekend

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


question

 

Nov 7, 2011 by yujierubiano

i have a question for this phone...since technically we can only consume like 13 gb for the memory of this phone is it quite enough for APPS AND IMAGES??

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Booooo!

 

Sep 3, 2011 by GoGoGadget

I hate this phone. I guess I'm used to my Galaxy S 4G but this phone disappointed me.

Pros:
•Very attractive phone physically.
•Screen is beautiful with lots of color.
•Phone calls are nice and loud.
•Cheap at many participating stores.

Cons:
•Swype is slow and sometimes doesn't respond at all.
•I've had many calls where I couldn't hear the person or the phone was making a crackling noise.
•I couldn't find a lot of the apps my Galaxy had.
•No Micro SD card slot
•No LED when an incoming notification come through. Not even a screen light up.
•Phone is very low ringtone and media wise.
•Phone only charges up to 95% then says it's full.
•Not much camera options compared to Galaxy.

If I could bring my Galaxy S Vibrant 4G to Sprint I would. I wouldn't recommend this phone. It's priced cheap for a reason.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Perfect Business Companion

 

Sep 2, 2011 by gizmo_guy

As a wireless professional, I am confident in saying that this is the perfect companion on the sales floor. I typically get 9 hours of moderate to heavy use out of the handset.

I love the simple design of the device, especially since there is no bloatware from the carrier. Anyone who has never used a sAMOLED screen before will be very very pleased with the device. On a medium screen setting, with automatic brightness, the colors never wash out and the display far surpasses the quality of an iPhone.

The 1GHz processor feels much faster than it is. Side by side with my wife's EVO, I find the Nexus to be slightly faster. Watching videos and streaming music is as close to a flawless experience as I've seen.

Seamless integration with Google, Exchange, various CRM apps make this the absolute perfect choice for a business person on the go.

There is only one con to this device: 4G WiMAX isn't available where I live.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


could have been better

 

Aug 27, 2011 by breonhowe

dont get me wrong this is a good phone but way behind the curve! for it to be such a flagship phone with the title, "nexus", i imagined them to step it up and blow the market away.
Too much focus on having the screen curve may have distracted them from something as simple as a memory card slot, bigger battery, and dual core!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

nexus s 4g

 

Jul 9, 2011 by THEBEERGUY   updated May 5, 2013

Well... another phone that is suppose to be " the s#-+" and rolls out king turd! Signal is terrible compared to evo's and blackberry bold side by side.... battery life is terrible... even with extended battery from seidio! 3500mah. One txt fails to send after another, takes several time outs to load pages. 3rd phone replacement from sprint and I finally got a call from a rep from sprint today saying " Samsung and sprint are working on a fix for the wimax and signal coverage issues. We now know that there is a known problem" YA THINK! ITS ALL OVER THE INTERNET! Don't waste your $ people...please... this phone is not worth the $ unless the signal issue has been resolved....

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2