Phone Scoop

printed September 15, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=318&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SPH-A620 / VGA1000

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  47  

Average Ratings

3.6
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 345

Throw out your 8100!!

 

Nov 12, 2003 by LD

Cute phone the 8100 is...Nice features, Nice that you can view your next event from the external LCD screen, also nice small font so u don't have to scroll as much BUT the audio quality is sucks!

the VGA1000 is probably the clearest non-GSM phone I have ever played with and trust me I have played with them all. It also has a nice solid feel to it, it feels very comfortable in your hand and up against your ear as well. the browser is noticably faster than the 8100 and the color quality is superb.

My only complaint is that the ringer could be louder and also have more than just one normal ring tone ( what is it with this polyphonic caca anyway). Camera is good but not that much better than the 8100. there u have it!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone not so great range

 

Sep 4, 2003 by S. Bradford

I have had this phone Since the first day that it came out and Its got some of the best features on any phone on the market. the voice dial is definitely amazing and the picture quality is great but the one problem that I am having is the amount of calls that are being dropped and how its hard to hear on volume below 5. overall i think this phone is pretty good.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Good phone

 

Aug 20, 2003 by ikesler

The phone is really great overall..... the above comments are all true.
Signal is stronger in some areas than my A500 was. Web speed is much better. The screen is the best that I have ever seen on a mobile phone. Ringers and ear volume are loud and clear. My only complaint so far is that it gets REALLY hot after using it for a while........ I mean if you talk for 10-15 minutes on the phone...... it gets really hot to hold in your hand. I will see if this is normal for this model or if it is just mine!
Otherwise it is a great phone and the camera works well also.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Phone Thank you Samsung!!

 

Aug 8, 2003 by hexercom

This Phone is just amazing~ The color + VGA camera is best I have seen so far! 4x zoom +the flash( pictures are really clear^^)!! Also all the fun frames make taking pictures more exciting( total:22)
The A620 is also the first Samsung Product that is using sound U/I.

The only con I can see is the weak back light on the key pad.

It is the best phone I have seen at Sprint and recomend it to everyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A620 VS 8100

 

Aug 8, 2003 by CLARK HARVEY

I have 3 8100 and have found them to be about the best phones on the market for the price.But,needing to have the first on the block,I bought the A620 3 days ago and I am constantly amazed at some of the features.
Pros-Great voice command recognition.Once you program names in the phonebook you
can voice dial without any other set up. ake sure you put a space between abreviations,ie:CVS should be entered C V S.
The internet access and browser speed are much faster than the 8100's.
size and shape is perfect.has 3 alarms
and xtra features .
even though the siganal meter doesn't read as many bars as 8100's,I believe that the AS620 is more accurate ant the 8100 is more optimistic.

cons-samsung should have used their awesome blue led's in stead of the green-not
enough contrast in well lit areas.
i am not sure if the battery stand by time is less than 8100 or not.I say this because I have been using and playing around with the A620 much more than I did with the 8100's.
Awesome phone and if I find any serious flaws I will foloow up.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


After 2months of usage

 

Oct 20, 2003 by ph00ny

Overall this phone is great. Voice quality, camera quality(compared to other camera phones), functionality, screen quality/brightness.
After using this phone for 2months, there are few bugs i've noticed. One of the major one would be when you access the call history and select a number and you hit talk you are prompted with the last called number instead. This doesn't happen all the time but it happens quite often and it gets pretty annoying when it happens. As for reception, even at 1~2 bars, call quality is great but i can't seem to make calls in areas where i used to make calls with sanyo phones.
As for all the handwarmer comments, i still haven't had a phone that doesn't get warm after extensive usage and 620 didn't get too hot for me to complain about.

PS- i dropped this phone twice already and only thing i notice differently are the scratches from dropping. LOL (i noticed the bugs well before i dropped it)

Pros
-Great call quality even with little reception
-Good camera
-Fast browser
-Fast loading (java programs)
-Bright Screen
-Good Menu
-Seems pretty durable

Cons
-BUGS
-Call range not as good as my 1+yr old sanyo

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Sprint phone

 

Oct 13, 2003 by Eric O.

I have had this phone for around two month now. The screen is very good and the VGA camera is very good also. The ringers are OK and can be heard if you are in a different room.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


loved it

 

Sep 23, 2003 by andres castro

in my opinion this is the best phone to have. Its has awesome clarity on the screen, it is easy to use, nice camera and is fairly inexpensive(with rebates). I have almost every service carrier and most of their phones (i85, i90, ericssons, nokia) this phone beats them all hands down. easily the most fun phone. I dont know which phone these other guys are reviewing ( they must work for t mobile or nextel or something) but i love mine

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Good Review

 

Aug 26, 2003 by Chris Conte

This is my review of the A620/VGA1000, which i will call the VGA1000 from now on because thats whats on the box. This VGA1000 is a solid phone so far i have had the phone for 2 days the outer and inner screens are great.. camera on high resolution is 640 X 480 which is pretty good considering the camera is so small. People who say the phone doesn't look sturdy are lieing it is built much better than My old N400 ,and looks much better too. The reception is great much better that any of my friends phones. Internet is fast. New features like Digit Dial, Voice Memo and many other things work great. Sound is very very good. i still haven't used all of the features in 2 days. Also the price is good $200 with a 50 $ coupon At Costcos (http://www.costco.com) to find a store near you. Plus u also get a car charger, Hands free set and case for free with it... Also i havent had one bug or glitch since i have first turned it on. I give this phone a 5 for being the best phone i have ever seen

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A-620, it's quite good, but...

 

Aug 18, 2003 by rexyblue

The other reviews are right on with regard to the PROS of this phone...

Sound quality, both directions - A+
Earpiece and headset volume - A+
Reception - A
Voice Dial - A-
Speedy Web Access - A
Camera - C (but it's the best rating I'd give any phone with a camera... they're ALL rather poor)

Regarding Voice Dial capabilities, if you have two+ entries you often use for the same name, you'll have to make them distinguishably different entries in the phone book. Otherwise Name Dial will dial the first number for the entry.

The A-620 feels heavy, but solid and well balanced in the hand. It is NOT a tiny featherweight.

CONS
-It quickly gets very warm--hot--as you use it. This really bothers me and it's a primary reason I marked the overall rating down.
-The center camera button on the control key pad really should be the OK key. Poor design, IMO.
-While the green back-lit keypad doesn't annoy me as much as some of the other reviewers, I agree 100% that they should have stuck with the brilliant blue backlight. It was gorgeous and very functional.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 345

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1