Phone Scoop

printed April 16, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3164&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG G2x / Optimus 2x

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  34  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.04
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

Amazing!

 

Jun 1, 2011 by newjerseybrotha

The only issue, is....THERE AREN'T ANY. If you have not owned a dual-core phone before, then you will assume the battery is bad. You have to learn to make adjustments, so that it performs well for you.

Good
----------
Screen
cameras
size
weight
speed
call quality
Battery (for a 1500mah), but there is a 1980mah battery you can buy $30 w/free shipping.

Not so good
-----------
runs 2.2 (come on gingerbread)
sound is not that loud (my Nexus S is much louder)
Battery is on could use some more mah's (LOL)

Overall, the phone is great!!! and I would recommend it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Unique Highend Offering

 

Apr 17, 2011 by depeche

The LG G2x is a stock android device, LG did not through in its UI or widgets..

Device itself, longer then standard, the front has a nice beveled glass on either side. The pewter band that goes around the sides of the device also adds a premium look and feel. the back has a metal band that is placed under the camera and flash etched "with GOOGLE' on it. very nice touches that make this unit stand out from the crowd.

Hearing and being heard during a phone call is no problem at all.

Great display

Calls are excellent

battery life decent!

only problems at this point:

magnetic carrying case seems to put it in "Car mode"

Can't set up signature file on imap email accounts.. software fix

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Good start...But needs tweaking...

 

May 23, 2011 by Stanima

I'll keep this short and sweet for those who don't want to read through a bunch of garbage...

Pros:
-The raw power and speed of this phone are amazing. Apps download and install at lightning speeds. Can multi-task with ease.
-The graphics and games look amazing, load quickly, and don't kill off a ton of battery life.
-The UI is easy to navigate with a fairly familiar stock version of Android 2.2.2 (though I can't wait for the update to 2.3)
-Adequate internal storage for apps games and music (needs an external card to have enough space for movies and such).
-Battery life is reasonable. Will still have a charge in the morning if you forget to plug it in the night before with moderate use the day before.
-Consistently pulls 9-11mps on HSPA+ (not as fast as the Galaxy S 4g but very respectable).
-Its pretty :)

Cons:
-Sync issues with computer. Freezes up at 53% every time I unhook from mass storage mode and it scans the media card. (32gb card nearly full)
-Random power downs requiring battery pull.

I've not had a problem with my backlight or my battery. All in all it's a good attempt for LG's first big boy phone. It has it's quirks and hopefully the next firmware update will solve many of these issues.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

LG G2X

 

May 5, 2013 by chadbordes

This was a major improvement for me from my MyTouch. This phone had blazing fast internet speed and a decent processor. Camera was really good and was eventually upgraded to the better version of android 2.3.

I had the phone a month before I decided to get rid of it. I was tired of the constant freezes and having to pull the battery. Battery life was decent but I did have a spare just in case.

The wifi calling never worked that well in my house even though I have a strong router. I finally got frustrated and moved my service to Verizon.

Overall, I would NOT reccommend this phone. Look for something with a newer processor and android 4.0 :-)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Trash till you put it on XDA's ROMs

 

Jan 26, 2012 by thehumble1

This phone comes with a junky system and broken user interface and was plagued with all kinds of problems. Luckily the kind people at XDA and cyanogen took it under their modding wings and have created a really robust phone. It's running great now and has all of the features that I need. It's up to date and currently still has a large community modding the phone so it will stay recent for a while more. The one problem is the camera, which does not take great pictures by itself and the LED flash is weak and doesn't help much. I'm coming from the HD2 which had a great camera and dual LED flash so maybe this is what I should expect from a LG product.

Anyway, it's solid now, just make sure you get one with all it's parts working because LG phones have a rather high failure rate.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


sick phone!!!

 

Jan 10, 2012 by depa

pros:
*super fast
*hd
*amazing camera
*front camera
*hdmi slot
*looks sexy
*NOT again NOT laggy

cons:
um no led for charge indicator
its a dual core pros if your on it like a laptop its going to drain fast.....again its like a laptop you download a bunch of crap and it will freez shut down or lag its logic not the phone...... dont download a bunch of games and think its not going to lag or freez most of the game once you turn it on once will still be running after exit...best phone i have had or used so far

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


DONT BUY THIS PHONE

 

Nov 22, 2011 by xkc3x

This phone looked GREAT in the store but once I got my sim card in and started using it on a daliy basis the ugly truth came out. Ive used several high end phones over the years including the Nexus One, Iphone 3GS, Iphone 4 and others. I have to say this phone was one of the worst I have ever used. Hardly held signal at home so I would keep it connected to wifi so I could use wifi calling. The phone never received proper wifi signal. There is no notification led on this phone so I had to install an app that vibrates and flashes the screen at user selected intervals so I didnt miss voicemail or text/email. Other than those serious issues, it would have been a great phone because the screen awesome. So sorry LG didnt quite hit the mark here.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Almost Perfect!

 

Jul 5, 2011 by marco1707

I've had this phone since it's launch, and I must say that it is the best phone I have ever owned!! It is hands down, the fastest Android phone on the market to date even beating the Sensation 4G.

Pro's

-Super Fast 1Ghz dual core Tegra 2 processor
-Very LOUD earpiece even at the lowest volume
-Great Battery Life if Bloatfreezer is used
-Great screen
-Lots of Internal memory for apps and storage
-1080 and 720p video recording
-8MP Camera with bright flash

Con's

-No Gingerbread update to fix bugs

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


waayyyy better than sensation!!!

 

Jun 27, 2011 by StevenX

Anybody is crazy if they think that their phone is perfect. There are few issues with this phone, but they are completely outweighed by the awesome power of this phone. I spent 3 weeks researching this phone and to see if would be worth getting or not and now.... I am completely satisfied, this is an awesome phone. I have studied it carefully after I had gotten to see if any of the issues that others were having were going to present in my phone. To my joy, it has been excellent and without the quirks, plus no lag

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I love this device

 

Jun 27, 2011 by Terry-78

Originally I had the G1 and I am not sure about the complaints on battery life, but I documented my G2x on Wifi and watching a movie on it for about an hour and half and web-surfing, finishing a level on G2x and it didn't last more than 14 hours total. After watching the video for about 1 and half hours my battery went from 100% to 77%, I don't think that's bad. I could only watch video on my G1 for about 1 or 2 before the phone got over 50% spent.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2