Phone Scoop

printed July 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3152&r=39846

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Convoy 2

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  10  

Phone Scoop Review

3.5
Overall
3.5
Reception
5
Battery Life
4.5
Hardware Usability
5
Hardware Quality
3.5
Display
3.5
Interface Speed
3
Audio Volume
1
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.8
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Pretty Good

 

Nov 22, 2011 by MarkPlenty1

I have had the phone for two weeks. Incredibly bright screens inside and out for use in sunlight, very loud ear speaker and also speakerphone. About the 2.5 mm headset port: works fine, and don't let others tell you this is abnormal size, it fits my pre-existing headset fine. Critics on the internet must have not used a headset with a recent mobile phone--they all seem to be this way now. Spacious keypad is good, however the directional button could have used more space. The phone is a bit thick but not heavy. I like the flip, its angle makes it easy to hold to the head and talk. Physically the handset could use an indentation on both sides to help a finger slip in and open the flip. And what is claimed to be a MicroSD card slot really isn't. It wouldn't recognize my 64MB card at all, not even to format it (works fine in my computer). So this phone really has a MicroSDHC "HC" = "high capacity" slot. Same physical dimensions but I had to buy a new 4GB card for the phone to accept it. I had some trouble storing music files. Now I have a few 0KB files on the phone that I cannot delete. Also, the Opera Mini browser has an irritating behavior: you cannot set the home page! This means it is always going to the myverizon page and trying to login. Every time I use the browser I have to make extra clicks to back out and actually go somewhere else I want to go. Next, the Contact List doesn't allow one to sort by Last Name = now I have a big mess after importing a CSV file of my Microsoft Outlook contacts. I suppose I can go back and re-import, tricking it by swapping fields, but I shouldn't have to! Finally, when I send a photo to myself by text message (goes to my e-mail), it gets resized much smaller and more grainy at the final destination. No change is made to the original stored on the handset / card so it can be transferred by USB cable just fine. I don't pay for the e-mail service so I don't know if that would also shrink the photos when sending to my e-mail account.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone, Not so good voice quality

 

Oct 20, 2011 by doorguy1960

Phone is great for everything except voice. If you are speaking to someone else on Verizon, the voice is choppy and very delayed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Convoy 2 Review

 

Aug 12, 2011 by celway

8/11/11 Received my new Samsung Convoy 2 today. In a word.... WOW! What a phone!
Samsung did a nice update to its predecessor, the Convoy. It is thinner and lighter than the Convoy and feels great in the hand.

So far, I like:
- The speakers! Loud, loud, loud, if you need them to be. No distortion. Best speakerphone I've heard yet! Your callers sound great and indeed, you can talk with the flip closed!
- Calls are wonderful. Everyone can hear my voice clear and the caller's voice is good even with the speakerphone.
- Key pad is spaced well with a blueish-white back-light. I would have liked a more rubbery feel to the buttons but they are not bad.
- The displays are bright, colorful and crisp. Time is displayed on the upper right of the main screen. Handy location.
- Ringtones are pleasant and loud, baby!
- (I love this!) The LED flash for photos doubles as a flashlight---and it's bright. Nice thinking Samsung! So, if you lose your regular flashlight, rest assured, your convoy has one in a pinch.
- Speaker button is on the right ride. Wish they had left it on the key pad or at least provided a shortcut key to it.
- Flip closes nice, not cheap sounding and no cheap feel to its hinge.
- I don't use PTT so I can't review it but if you don't utilize its PTT feature you can use the red button as an added shortcut key.

Very solid phone for those working or playing outdoors but if you just want a solid clamshell phone that won't break into 10 pieces if you drop it, this is it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Died way too soon

 

Jun 1, 2014 by megm

I liked the solid heavy feel of this phone. It worked adequately. But then it died without warning when I'd had it less than a year. I'm careful with my stuff and I hadn't abused it or dropped it. Even though I was still under a 2 year contract with Verizon, since I had not purchased the extended warranty, they did nothing. So I got a used phone from a friend and waited out the rest of my contract. I really hope this isn't "military quality".

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung Convoy 2

 

Jan 1, 2012 by patwackp

I f the ratin only went up to 20 stars.
I just activated this phone on 12/31/2011 from my local Verizon store and all I have to say is quite simply "WOW!" I love the ruggedness of this unit since I work at a UPS truck facility in the Bay Area of California.
I also love the 2-way radio functionality.

If you are looking for a "tough" yet functional phone, I recommend getting this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1