Phone Scoop

printed October 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=312&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG LX-5550 / VX-5550

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.71
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34

LG 5550

 

Jul 22, 2005 by GEOB

Can't say what I really feel since this is a family site. Bought this phone in Oct. last year and right from the start had big problems. Lost calls, distorted screen, poor reception etc. etc. Has been repaired???? twice with no good outcome and is now in the original store where I bought it. I find out thru one of the reps that LG knew it had a big problem with these phones but are doing nothing. Have tried to get my money back or to get someone from LG to call me. Not a chance. I've never dealt with a company that had such brutal customer service. Actually had one of the service guys laugh at the thought of getting my money from LG. There is no way a company should be allowed to get away with this crap!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AHHH scary

 

May 11, 2005 by laddertothestarz

I use to LOVE this phone, the speaker phone is loud, the driving mode is awesome to have but where I work we first got those phones in in August 2004 and they were the hottest thing.. but then they all started coming back with issues and here it is in May 2005 and we still have them coming back. It's May 11th and from the beginning of this month we've had 4 taken back for service already and let me tell you LG takes a LOOOONG time to service your phone.

Try the 6100 we haven't had those come back yet and they've been around for a few months

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Ok, but not good enough

 

Apr 12, 2005 by ray260

The phone is an ok phone but not good enough to get my 5. The main thing I don't like about the phone is the design. When it is on your clip it is just to "chunky". And another con to this phone is the hands free dial-up, it's not all that is sums up to be. By the time that it takes you to dial in the number orally and let the phone confirm the number to you, you could have already dialed it in easily yourself.

There are some good things though, I really like the speaker phone feature. It is loud and can easily be heard. I also like the key pad it is very easy to press and read. It has really good service and rarely do i ever loose a call.

If you are the kind of person who doesn't care about the features of the phone and you just use it to call "from here to there", this phone is for you.

If you are looking for a phone with good features and a stylish look, then don't waist your money on this one.

I really think they could have done better with this phone.

Sincerely,
Unsatisfied User

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Top Notch

 

Feb 6, 2005 by ljlebron23

I purchased an LG4015 (1300) from Cingular and after 2 months I couldn't use it whatsoever so they got me good on that one expecting me to buy another phone so I could stay with them thinking they would make ever more money of me.Nah
I went to Alltel where I recieved a LG VX5550. Awesome phone! Flashy for the teens yet not too flashy for the adults. I got this phone and my father who is close to 50 wanted one. Now this is a man who could care less about how "cool" his cell phone or something he owns is. The features on this model are exceptional. Reception seems to be great. Very quick looking online and downloading Apps. There is only ONE bad thing about this model. My LG1500 seemed to have a brighter and more vibrant screen that this model Theres not that much of a difference but just a little flaw.

Pros
Great Reception
Flashing but not too flashy
Speakerphone
Voice recognition
Voice Dialing
Voice Schedules
Voice uhhh EVERYTHING lol
Huge contact list
Sturdy
Cool outside screen
Surfs webpages fast
No delay going through menus
This list could go on forever...

Cons
Screen not as vibrant as it could be yet it still has a great LCD screen so not that big of a con here

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


my take at it

 

Dec 27, 2004 by NOSintake

overview-
this phone is hands down, blind folded...better than my v120e. the phone has many pluses and very few negatives. i suggest this phone to anyone who wants a good hands-free operation phone.

pros-
very sturdy
very bright
speakerphone is near perfect
just about anyone can use it

cons-
keys are just a tad too small
overall size is a lil bigger than most phones

***if u want my full review, complete w/ pics, go here: http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=528793***

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone

 

Dec 18, 2004 by krisnerik

This phone is great. I have read the other reviews and many of them say they wished the phone could have the option to have different face plates. well i just wanted to let you guys know, it does. IF you go to ebay and type in lg 5550 it'll bring up all accessories and face plates are in there. some are very cute. its a nice way to personalize your phone. Thanks.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


nice phone

 

Nov 21, 2004 by gadso

The 5550 is the first LG phone I've own. I'm a motorola fan. I even tried a kyocera.

LG5550 PROs: lots of features.user friendly. great speaker phone. good voice recognition. large screen and key pad. The driving mode works well.

LG5550 CONs: Battery life a little on the short side. side keys are a little to sensitive, to easy to cut driving mode on at wrong time. a few details left out of the user manual. i don't think the reception is as good as others. all the moto and kyocera I have own had better reception. the screen can be really hard to see with the light off.

All said, I still love the LG. I would recommend this phone to anyone who can live with out a camera. THE GREAT FEATURES AND THE EASE OF USE WIN OVER THE OTHERS.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


vary good phone

 

Oct 15, 2004 by Thrush6

This phone is the best of the best. there is so much to say about it. i was running down the street and through my phone and nothing happened to it. there is lots of nice features on this phone. i would defiantly recommend this phone to every one

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone!

 

Sep 28, 2004 by rain077

I just bought this phone recently. It came out in the beginning of September. Although I haven't figured out all the features yet... it's been great getting to know this phone. I've had no issues as of yet. Of course, it does not have a camera but I can live without it. The speaker phone is awesome and I have already downloaded ring tones, screen savers and games. Cool phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Like it

 

Sep 9, 2004 by loric

Much better than my motorola I had. So far only two dislikes....The white face plate needs to go! being able to change it would be a great offer, and not much for fun accessories NEED MORE!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1