Phone Scoop

printed July 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3098

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC Freestyle

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  4  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

2.63
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Long Term Review

 

Oct 27, 2011 by jdmop1

I bought this phone for my wife back in April 2011. At first she loved it. Great capacitive touch screen (especially for a non-smart phone), great sound quality, a decent web browser AND she could get on Facebook.
After about 2 months, she started receiving repeat text messages once in a while. This has now turned into getting most text messages at least 3 or 4 times. She receives text message notifications hours, sometimes days later. The phone has recently in the last month, start to drop calls and even make its own calls while just laying on the table. I'm not taking about the accidental pocket dial here.
So far in the last two weeks we found out that our local AT&T stores cannot handle warranties after 30 days of the purchase date. We had to call warranty services. They had me reset the phone, etc. Something I already did twice. Then they removed the device from their network and readded it. I was told it should be OK because they could call me on it and I got a text message from them that did not repeat. I was told that if the problems came back, we needed a new SIM card.
Needless to day, a few days later, we were at the store getting a new SIM card. The very next day my wife was on the phone with warranty services again. This time she was told they would not replace the phone because it was a network issue. This really upset me. I've been in the computer and cell phone industries for 16 years and I knew they were blowing smoke. They directed her to Customer Care who proceeded to blow more smoke and said a manager would contact her in 24 - 36 hours. 48 hours later, we're still waiting. But in the meantime, I called Warranty Services (forgive me if that's not what they call it now) again and did not let up when they insisted it was a network problem. A refurbished phone is on the way.

We shall see what happens. From what I've read on other forums-mostly HTC & AT&T-the problems will resume and I'll be fighting for another model phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Do not purchase this phone

 

Apr 27, 2012 by brodgat5

phone receives multiple texts and tech support just keeps trying to reset and reboot it but it still occurs. The phone also locks up when trying to send a text and someone else sends one to you and the only thing you can do is remove the battery and put it back. I would not recommend this phone to anyone, thankfully I am getting a new one!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Freestyle

 

Jan 4, 2012 by crf0001

This phone is junk. I am now on my forth one since Mar 2011. Repeat text messages shuts off all the time and the only way to turn it on after it shuts off is to remove the battery. Constantly have to re-load Web pages, and it sometimes shuts down and reboots when you do get the page.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I love this phone.

 

Jun 30, 2011 by Johnnyboychuck

The problems others are having never have hit me and i have had this phone for months.

Pros- Large screen, clear camera, and more

Cons- Battery only six hours if texting alot

love it rercommend it fully

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


HTC FREESTYLE

 

Apr 18, 2011 by BONES.

PROS:
nice phone, big screen for a small phone, easy to use, very clear speaker.

CONS:
battery life, internet having issues, texting issues

i have had the phone for about a month now and i am having issues with accessing internet pages and with the texting. when i go to an internet page i get an error message, but if i refresh the page it will load it. and when people text me i will receive the same message anywhere from 3-6 times. (this gets annoying). i took my phone to the store and they thought that maybe my sim card was bad and gave me another one but that did not fix either one of the problems.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Knowing the phone

 

Mar 16, 2011 by applecookies123

This phone is a great phone, i've had it for about 4 days, and have done much research on it already, just wanted to say you can delete all texts at the same time you just hit the small,shiny button above the send button again after you have gone to delete and hit select all, hope it was helpful, also another thing alot of people seem to be missing is that landscape mode is available in the browser(internet) you (again) need to hit the shiny button and select landscape, for anything more specific, my solution to anything im not sure about is trying the shiny button, it almost always seems to work, and for the few times it does not, the internet seems to solve my question. I hope that was helpful

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Thought it was great...not too bad.

 

Feb 27, 2011 by snoball318

I just got this phone and it is not too bad. I don't like the fact that at&t doesn't have an unlimited plan for smart phones, though this HTC is Just like one.

Pros:
- Attractive
- Takes very good pictures
- Large selection of ring and alert tones
- Amazing responsive touch screen

Cons:
- No text message settings, you have to delete messages one by one which is annoying.
- Makes a noise to let you know that your message has sent successfully, which could be good but I find it rather annoying.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AT&T Needs to Fix Data Glitches

 

Feb 22, 2011 by analyst422

The Freestyle has true potential. The BREW OS is easy to use and quite wonderful. The problem is that currently the Freestyle has some data glitches in the OS that are so far unresolved in all of the models my company has worked with. The issue comes when trying to access apps through App Center or hook up the device to the E-Mail app. Hoping AT&T or HTC does a recall or a patch so that these devices can access data outside of the Mobile Web browser, because it would be an unfortunate destruction of an otherwise wonderful device for those who would desire data.

If you don't want to pay for data but want a smartphone-esque device, this one's for you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2