Phone Scoop

printed August 27, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=305&r=14755

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola E398

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.46
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

EXCELLENT!!!

 

Jan 24, 2006 by coojeans99

This phone recieves a 5 from me becaus the features are amazing on the phone! I love the material of the phone, if you drop it it won't chip. It's very solid and doesn't feel like it'll break after one drop or even when your just holding it firmly. I've had full bars for Cingular and never below full on signal. You can put in a lot of MP3's as long as you buy an expandable MicroSD card. Overall this phone is the best! I've kept this phone for the longest time now...you can't pass this phone up if you're a collector. It's better than a ROKR E1.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best candy bar phone offered by Motorola.

 

Nov 3, 2005 by rouqil

Where do I start. Ok, I am an avid user of cell-phones and have used pretty much phones from every manufacturer on the market. Nokia, LG, Sony/Ericsson, Motorola, etc. Anyway. I use to not like Motorola as I had issues with the V505 style flip phones but was suggested by a friend to try the candy bar style phone of the e398 or baby Rokr1. So, i went onto ebay and got the phone brand new for about 130 bucks. Let me tell you that this phone offers so many features an is very reliable and dependable and has many other lil quirks.

Features: Bluetooth enabled, awesome camera phone, MP3 player with transflash storage, nice weight and size, awesome clarity through handset and ear-piece, awesome battery life (battery lasted 2 days straight without a charge and constant use. I would say at least 15 to 20 hours talk time for me) and a sleek design. Phone will fit nicely in a purse or in a jacket pocket. Has an awesome alarm which is key to me when i travel. (Motorola use to not include alarms on their previous phones but got smart and do now). So, i give it a 4.5 cos it doesn't allow the download of pic files without access to the internet from your provider like the Nokia phones do and it doesn't have an FM radio like the Nokias (no needed if you save MP3's on the transflash card) but other than that, it's a BOMB phone. I would highly suggest it to anyone looking for a reliable, working, good reception, high signal strength candy bar style phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Pretty good

 

Nov 3, 2005 by magus167

I have had this phone for about a year now and I absolutely love it. But there are a few problems and items on the wish list.

Cons:
Phone volume not very high
no video capture
no multiple lines per name
mp3 loading is pretty slow

otherwise this phone is excellent

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Phone

 

Sep 8, 2005 by DJJazzyJim2001

I have this phone right now and it is awesome with the Duel Stero Speakers and mp3 transflash chip inside it if you are thinking about getting this phone off of ebay

i recommend it 100% my brother also has one but don't by the cheap ROKR Cingular phone because Cingular sucks.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not Bad At All.

 

Jun 11, 2005 by Etorres777

This phone is a nice stylish candy-bar styled phone.

Pros:
Small
Good Camera
Great Speaker phone
Great Keypad
Fantastic Screen

Cons:
Going through the menu is a touch slow and lags, it's really bad if you text message pretty fast, it'll finish 5 seconds after you do.

Overall it's a great phone and I'd recommend it to anyone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


superb

 

Jan 29, 2005 by y2k

best in its class, i think mp3 with stereo speakers are superb yet it is uniqe, nic features, software could be faster with newer updates and the best phone for its price.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best non-flip phone around

 

Jan 14, 2005 by R2D2

This phone has nice features;

Pros: Great looker, Good memory, Awesome Stereo Surround Sound, Robust, Great VGA screen, Good Camera, RECEPTION -- the reception is so good that I can talk in the subway station of Union Square in NYC. Battery life is so good and the menu and functions are good and easy. Looks and feels great. it is a solid phone, ScanDisk Slot MP3 DinamicLight, rubber case, expansion slot for upgrading memory(not limited like k700), very good screen size and resolution, fast system&game software.

Cons: installation CD is only for PC, so for people with MAC like myself kind of stuck....but Bluetooth works fine, FM radio only thru earphone headset, No vibration & ring together.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


real winner

 

Jan 14, 2005 by balance

- You can have a Fm stereo headest and listened to radio on E398 and Fm radio is not standard on other brands' all models but only in some models of those other brands and those phones are sold for $100-$150 more than E398.

-Most of my uploaded mp3s are more than 5MB and i use 128MB t-flash.

-Videos, again you can upgrade your firmware to 97R and use video rec.

- My E398 takes 2 seconds to startup and 1 second to go off plus 1 second to go to menu.

-Games, I have nice java games on my E398 and very good response time.

-Which any other brand has Stereo speakers?

-Battery life is one of the best.

-Screen quality is best (It's made by Sharp).

-It has an expansion slot, possible to upgrade memory.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice phone to consider

 

Jan 11, 2005 by phion

Good phone with affortable price.
I feel no regrets after bought this phone.
Find it fun after discover more features and functions.

Pros:
1. Ringing 3D sound great
2. Easy to transfer data from phone to pc and vice-versa.( USing USB Cable)
3. Nice flash light on both side of the phone.(many colors)
4. Able to set alarm clock & message with yr own ringing tone and adjustable volume level.
5. Missed call with notify sound. (notify phone owner with beep sound once missed call not notice by user)
6. Display screen very nice

Cons:
1. No voice recording.
2. Response a bit slow while press to answer call.
3. Low battery life
4. Using Trans cannot transfer file to others,only can transfer provided the file is in the phone memory.
5. Not so user friendly but once you used to it, it would be fine.
6. Caller group cannot be set from sim card memory.( must copy yr contact into phone then only can set caller group.
7. Unable to write chinese word but able to read only.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good phone

 

Dec 24, 2004 by Levent

Pros: Port for stereo-headset is located on the top edge, is located on the bottom side of the phone, although you can connect the headset there as well. But in that case the construction will turn out being rather big, and this is not a good thing at all. The typical example of wrong solution is Nokia 6230, the phones size with connected headset increases by almost one centimeter, this cannot be called optimal. The reception of E398 is best among almost all. Talk time is much better than 6230 again, has a better and bigger screen size, resolution better than 6230. Additionally, It's not as slow as Sony Ericsson K700i and has an expansion slot. Plus stereo 3D speakers.
Cons: K700i and 6230 have built-in radios, E398 doesn't. Again K700i has a bigger memory but it's not expandable while E398 is expandable.
I've been a Nokia user since 1997. This is my first non-nokia phone. Of course expectations from a phone are very important. To tell you the truth, if you want a good phone with a GOOD camera, buy a digicam. That simple. Want a really good radio? buy a good mp3 player with radio, and use your phone as a PHONE with some cute futures cuz it'll never be as good as a digicam or an ipod for instance. To me, the most important thing in a phone is the screen display and resolution, that's why i'm hoping and waiting to see the cell phones with OLED screen. Not talking about the ones that are on the market now with SECOND or external displays OLED, but bar phones. Anyways, 6230 and E398 were same price as of today (12-24-04) on ebay, and I chose E398. I'm happy. :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1