Phone Scoop

printed April 16, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3034

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry Bold 9780

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  10  

Average Ratings

4.72
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

New Addition To My BB Collection

 

Dec 22, 2010 by EricasBB

I just got this phone a week ago. I have used the following BlackBerry devices: 950, 7730, 7100t, 7105t, 8100 and 8120. I had such a disastrous experience with the 7730 that I skipped the 7290, 8700g, 8705g, 8800, 8820, and 8320. I also used several Sidekick and Windows Mobile devices. I finally grew tired of the problems with the 8120 Pearl and HTC Touch Pro 2, and my Sidekick 3 is literally falling apart. I ordered the 9780 on December 10, 2010. I received it on December 15 and have loved every minute of it. The battery life is amazing. I have gotten 12 hours out of it emailing (5 accounts), texting, IMing, social networking, playing games and listening to music. The only deadspot in my daily usage of this phone is a local YMCA (on Beltway 8 and Clay Road in Houston, TX)I go to twice a week. I leave it on for an hour and I still have over 80% battery power when I leave the facility. Every other feature works wonders. All I need now is a new memory card for more music so I can quit carrying an iPod with me.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wow, Awesome phone

 

Apr 5, 2012 by joshfits

Easy to navigate, no lag, accesss basically anything I need...what else can I ask for?
As an employee in the wireless industry I don't remember the last time I've had a complaint about this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


bb 9780

 

Jul 17, 2011 by shane198037

pros fast easy to use.

cons very bad vibrate when on vib. needs to be louder.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Thin & Light form factor

 

Mar 18, 2011 by DEPECHEX

Coming from Sprints 9650, the 9780 is a lot smoother device and I find the lighter thinner form factor very nice.

The Camera is very quick and nice with the added software from updated OS 6.0.

The different "Scene Modes" are nice, however, there are ten different modes to choose from. Not sure what the difference in night mode vs party mode would be.

I live in a 4G area and find the speeds of internet browsing better on T-Mobile the Sprint on this device.

I dropped my device in the first week which scratch up the black painted bezel, everything else was fine.

Hoping to change the bezel to a chrome to prevent future peeling.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great BB!

 

Mar 8, 2011 by Caffe.Verona

I am a first time Blackberry owner and I couldn't be happier with this model.

Pros:
-Battery Life (wow!) I wish my other 2 phones lasted this long!
-Display is bright and clear
-Menus are easy to navigate and more than one way to get to things.
-Smooth track pad
-Fast processor
-OS 6 (wish all BB's had this) is easy to use
-Simple compared to most other devices
-Durable (I have a 4yr old)
-Syncs easily with other devices (BT)
-Customizable home screens and fonts
-Easy to unlock for use on outside networks
-UMA
-Support for 32G SD Card
-Sync with iTunes library
-Great camera
-Proprietary (this is a Con for me as well)
-Easy to fix bugs within the software (App Loader is awsome for this)

Cons:
-Someone should give a day class on using these things. The OS 6 is easier to work with than other models but I'm a former iPhone user and it has been a major learning curve for me.
-Still working on compatibility issues with MAC OS (Please RIM fix this)
-Not too many applications are compatible with this model yet (sure this will change soon)

I really don't have any problems with the device itself.. more with compatibility issues. I got this phone as a learning device for work because I have to support it. It really has made my job a lot easier. I sincerely hope they update all BB's with Os 6! I love it!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


9780 w/ OS 6

 

Jan 1, 2011 by speederek

Have this phone for few days and see a lot of improvements compare to my old 9700
PROS:
- web browser is great and faster then on my old 9700
- feel like better voice quality and less drop calls.
- very good battery life.
- new OS is a big improvement.
- new 5 mega-pixel camera.
CONS
- app world miss some of app I just used
Overall, very solid BB phone with a lot of new features.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Update to the 9700

 

Dec 15, 2010 by DrugstoreCowboy

I am a long-term user of BlackBerry devices. My most recent BB was the 9700 before going to the 9780. For reference, I am running this device on the Fido/Rogers network in Canada. I have had this device for just over 1 week now, so here are my thoughts on it compared to the 9700 running OS 5:

PROS:

- fast and stable OS 6
- rootkit web browser on OS 6 miles ahead of the 9700's browser
- stellar battery life
- excellent connection quality for both the Bluetooth and WiFi
- excellent call quality and good signal lock (rare call drops, network issues, not the phone)
- solid build quality
- keyboard has a nice quality to it while using it
- media player works very nicely and is a good improvement over the OS 5 version
- picture quality is stellar from it's camera and includes a geo-tagging ability
- increased RAM from 256 mb in the 9700 to 512 mb in the 9780 is very helpful for running apps.
- all accessories from the 9700 carry over perfectly to the 9780.

CON:

- App compatibility needs to catch up to OS 6

OS 6 does take a little getting used to, but once you "drill" into the system, it will feel very familiar to those who use BB's on a regular basis, especially anyone coming off of a 9700 with OS 5.

Bottom line, it is a decent evolution from the 9700.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


bold 9780 w/ os6

 

Dec 3, 2010 by pootskoot

Overall I think its a pretty decent phone. As a longtime blackberry user it has taken some getting used to with using the new OS6.

Pros-
-Incredibly fast
-Huge amount of memory for apps
-Camera is amazing - single shot.. much quicker than any other cam I've used on a phone
-Web Browser is 100 times better than previous versions but does have a lack of options to change the settings
-Vibrate is a lot stronger as well

Cons-
-The "tray" to open up programs is a pain in the butt and im not completely sold on it yet
-Ring tones are far and few between.. horrible selections and very limited.
-MMS shows up in sms messages from people as a smaller picture.. not a big fan of that
-Certain APPS from BB app world don't work with this version (yet) i.e Pandora

Ive only been using this phone for 3 days now and anything new obviously takes some getting used to. The only reason I gave it a 3.5 and not a 4 was mainly for the Lack of ring tones and "tray" feature.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Blackberry OS 6 is great in BB 9780

 

Dec 1, 2010 by remaxagent

This is the Best phone and best Blackberry ever, and I have had them all. I considered iphone, but decided to stick with a keyboard and focus on my needs of a great business PDA smartphone rather than the games/entertainment features of an iphone.
PRO:
- voice quality, volumes, signal strength are all excellent!
- UMA wi-fi calling feature is the best part of this phone. (In Canada, Rogers offers this unlimited inbound & outbound 'talk-spot' feature for $10/mo)
- ALL NEW OS 6 is the biggest, greatest leap forward in Blackberry's history. I love it. Lot of new features & enhancements thou-out and easy to navigate (very iphone like, except without the touch screen).
- small, light form factor fits into pocket easily.
- speedy web browsing is much improved.
- strong vibrate feature (improved over my BB 8900)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1