Phone Scoop

printed October 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3008&r=38451

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Droid 2 Global

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  20  

Average Ratings

3.79
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

awesome

 

Feb 17, 2011 by jasonld08

pros-
Everything including battery if you train your battery, must allow phone to fully discharge and charge while it is off.
cons- none

From a sidekick to this phone is like going from a calculator to a laptop....absolutely love this phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wicked Cool....

 

Dec 1, 2010 by sam912

I bought this phone the first day that it was available at Verizon Wireless and am very impressed. I initially purchased the Droid X and although I liked the Droid X a lot, it was a little larger than what I was looking for and I missed the key board.

Droid 2 Global Pros/Cons:

Pros:
-Call quality;
-Reception;
-Loud speaker phone;
-Build quality;
-Size;
-Keyboard;
-Speed (1.2ghz);
-Global phone;
-Android OS;and
-Android applications.

Cons:
-Camera.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great update to the Original Droid

 

Nov 22, 2010 by rebelfag68

LOVE the newest phone from the Droid lineup... replaced my Original Droid and the tweaks and improvements in speed are great. Similar battery life to the orig droid.. but very nice improvements!

Would definately reccomend!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone!

 

Nov 23, 2010 by zvireiss

Coming from the Samsung Vibrant, I can't begin to tell tell you how please I am with this phone.
I am amazed by the speed, and how everything is so snappy. There is no lag at all, the GPS receiver pinpoints my location instantly, and the physical keyboard is just great.

Cons: none.

I would definitely recommend!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


bad bad experience

 

May 26, 2011 by vzemnothappy

had the phone since late feb was satisfied at first the phone started going crazy dialing on it on screen jumping and freezing and it gets so hot it burns my hand have to hold the sides so i wont drop it sent 1 phone back had it for two days and the same things keep happening I have to of these phone and both are acting the same way and i am waiting for my 2nd replacement.

pros ???

cons the entire phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Droid 2 Global call quality

 

Jan 11, 2011 by seattlesherryann

The biggest CON for me is the call quality. Call quality in the Greater Seattle area has been about a "C" for me. I read the January 2011 Consumer Reports before I purchased & they only gave call quality a rating of "Fair" so I was forewarned...but it is rather annoying. However, by purchasing this phone at the Costco kiosk rather than directly from Verizon, I paid about 1/2 of Verizon's advertised Christmas price. If you're looking for crystal clear call quality without ever having to ask someone to repeat themselves, this is NOT your phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A+ for everything but F- for aweful battery performance

 

Dec 6, 2010 by friday13

I really hate to do this - to give such a low rating to a fantastic phone. This phone is great in all respects but one. Wonderful build quality, great speaker, fast GPS reception, the OS is great, yadda yadda yadda. Everything that you've read about this phone is all true.

But...battery life is just awful. I don't mean to say "oh no, it only lasts a day", I mean like ~4-5 hrs. That's just absurd. I'm charging it 3 times per day and constantly thinking about battery life and how's my phone doing and I shouldn't be doing that.

My previous phone was the BB Storm 1 and it would last up to 2 days on a single charge. So I know what a smart phone can do, and can't compared to a simple "feature phone" that can go for 5-7 days. But the droid 2's battery, though bigger than Storm's, is performing awfully.

Other than that, it's a great phone.

As a side-note - if you think you need a keyboard, I would strongly recommend you stop by a store and play with the Swype software keyboard. Just stand there and run through the tutorial and use it for at least 5-10 minutes. I'm a convert and if/when I end up returning the d2g I'll probably end up with a screen-only phone because Swype works so great that I hardly see a need for the hardware keyboard.

PRO
+ everything

CON
- awful battery life

MISC
* try the Swype s/w before you buy a phone w/keyboard

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2