Phone Scoop

printed November 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3001&r=38497

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Droid Pro

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  52  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.75
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

Liking it

 

Jan 20, 2011 by brocharlieb

I've had the phone about a month. Had a BB Curve before. Battery life is not as good. I prefer the droid os, especially the browser. Haven't had real trouble with the email, don't completely understand it yet, but I'm a little slow.

There is a lack of accessories available for the phone. Very few cases. No otterbox.

Pros... Construction quality seems as good as the Curve; I like the keyboard and the availability of the touch screen keyboard; I like the phone dialer on the keyboard (I don't have to put on my reading glasses to dial); phone quality seems as good as Curve and ability to make and receive calls in fringe areas is as good; browser is better than Curve's.

Cons... Picture quality is spotty for a 5mp camera, I think I need to learn the camera to get it good; email is hard to set up, but again I think it's a learning curve issue that I can get right; battery life is not good at all, but I can work with it by plugging it in every time I'm near a charger.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Most Excellent

 

Dec 11, 2010 by Kaliblade

Great Phone went from D1 to this and absolutely a huge difference in speed. Love the keyboard.

Pros: Keyboard, Nice Screen and great speed.

Cons: Just one Battery life if you are going to be on your cell for 9 hours. Bring a charger.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


A BB take at droid?

 

Dec 8, 2010 by narn3049

By looking at this phone I can say it is a definate BB-like droid. It is amazing looking. Was using the phone for a reviewing unit.

Amazed, this phone has Flash Player! That's amazing, and my iPhone doesn't have that. It has tons of apps available too. I say go buy it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not a great but a good phone

 

Dec 1, 2010 by ralph72574

I would give this phone 5 stars if had a larger display and keyboard. The text is next to impossible to read. The keyboard is very hard to use with medium sized fingers. I know the phone can be rotated 90 degrees and use the touch screen keyboard.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pretty good. . . .

 

Nov 30, 2010 by tamady

Long time blackberry user:
Build is less substantial than top-end BB's. A little more plasticky, button clicks not as rewarding as Tour or Bold.

Battery life is biggest fault - I am not a heavy user, but I get only 14 hours, despite using the "Maximum Batter" saver mode. This compare with the 30 hours I could get with a Tour.

Voice quality is mediocre. Passable, but very processed sound.

The good stuff: fast, responsive, nice screen, effortless wireless sync with Outlook, access to all the android apps, and ability to customize screens.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Phone

 

Nov 29, 2010 by ssgmiller558

I initially upgraded from a Blackberry Curve to a Samsung Fascinate. I enjoyed the Fascinate for a short while then come to realize after a week I really wanted my keyboard back. I decided to take the Fascinate back to Verizon. I exchanged the Fascinate for the Droid Pro, and I should tell you it was the best decision I could have made!

Pro:
Keyboard is awesome!
Android Software
Size and weight

Cons:
Battery power not great however can be improved with proper settings: Background data drains battery.

All in all:
Great phone for blackberry fanatics who crave more than the same ole same ole stuff blackberry offers.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very Very Nice Phone Good Bye Blackberry

 

Nov 19, 2010 by Boeing20

Hello.....

In this smartphone I can say that is a good phone. I'm Coming from a Blackberry devices and A super Fan. recently I just saw the Motorola Pro and is a great phone. also i Think this phone is good with the features and everything that you can see in a Smarthphone..... Blackberry get ready for the Battle.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pro is here

 

Nov 11, 2010 by hoppyjr

Here are some thoughts, in no particular order;

* The size is nice, feels similar to but better than the HTC Incredible. I don't care for the shiny, slippery, fingerprint-prone back cover.

* I am not a big fan of chrome, so the chrome border around the phone would have been better in black, IMO. That said, it does have a real quality appearance and holding it gives one the impression of a quality device.

* The configurable key on the right side is nice - I use mine for opening the dialer.

* The keyboard is FANTASTIC!!! Reminds me of the best of my BB 9700 and the Motorola Q9, which was a crappy phone but had a great keyboard IMO.

* The screen is nice, but seems pretty small, coming from a Droid X - but hey, what phone wouldn't!?! The screen response and clarity is very good.

* I put my AT&T pre-paid SIM card in the phone, then called VZW tech support to get the unlock code - which they provided with no questions asked. The bad news is that I cannot get the phone to recognize the AT&T signal, no matter what I do. I made sure to select the correct network in the network settings and I do see "ATT" at the top of the unlock screen and on the drop-down status bar, but no signal strength and no connection. Where the signal bars are, I just get a circle with a line through it.

* The touch-sensitive buttons on the bottom of the screen are responsive and, while not as nice as the Droid X hardware buttons, work well.

* From what I can tell, the Pro does not appear to have the noise canceling microphone feature that the Droid X has.

* You can set shortcuts on the keyboard to open applications. I do not see an option to set Blackberry type speed dials on the keyboard, not yet at least.

I think the Pro is a great device from first impressions, but I'm not sure I can divorce my Droid X yet :-)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2