Phone Scoop

printed September 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=30&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 3390

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  3  

Average Ratings

3.32
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34

Poor phone

 

Apr 11, 2002 by Matthew Ushijima

Nokia's phones are typically very tough little phones, but I was completely underwhelmed by my Voicestream Nokia 3390. The phone's buttons are radically different from the 8000 and 6000 series buttons, which makes it very difficult to navigate functions. The phone is very slow to start up. Plus I dropped the phone once on a a carpeted floor and the face place fell off. I cannot recommend this phone to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


i agree this phone is horrible

 

Oct 16, 2002 by hunter thompson

this is the worst phone Ive ever had. i use to be big into nokia but since I've had this one its been nothing but a headache and has since deterred me from ever getting a nokia again. i have found that audiovox phones to very good reception and are perfect for people who don't need all the features under the sun

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Anyone else???????

 

Nov 1, 2010 by narn3049

This phone was amazing from the start I had it (3 days) and then the sound went out, I though OK, I guess I'm going back to AT&T/Cingular and getting a replacement. Well then it died completely.

When phone was plugged in, you'd get a slight line in the top left corner of the display. I didn't try a battery replacement, but duh the phone should've worked, and the battery was new the year i got the phone (2007 or so) and it shouldn't have done this and I didnt want to replace the battery if it wasn't the cause.

I loved the Snake II game. It worked well for texting, and was a little basic, but I needed a phone at the time, that didn't have a lot of options, because I couldn't get the G'Zone then. I got the phone that was basic, but it honestly broke without getting dropped.

I got the Samsung A610 right after that, and it had a swivel-top screen. It never broke in the 2 years I owned it, yet it did when the screen got slightly bent back faster from a friend, then broke completely apart, when I gave it to a friend after my 2 year agreement went up.

Basically, it was a good phone, but it stopped working before I EVEN dropped it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nokia 3390

 

Mar 11, 2010 by more mobiles

You would like this phone since you pick it up at the first time. After my previous phone, this is a huge improvement. My friend got it from http://www.sourcinggate.com/mobile-phone-c-4.html to send to me as a birthday gift. The quality of display dinformation is pretty good. Buttons are convenient and visible.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Ultimate Backup Handset

 

Jul 30, 2008 by tzsm98

This is the phone you want when the power goes out for a week.

Approved in September of 2000 it is still an amazingly good phone. Like anything else you have to appraise it on its own terms.

It is designed to make and receive phone calls on the 1900MHz band, go a long time between trips to the charger, send and receive text messages and something known as a picture message.

Yes, only the 1900MHz band, eliminating rural roaming. It has solid reception and transmission and excellent sound quality. I'd give it a 5 out of 5 on this.

It takes the larger barrel Nokia charger. A fully charged cell can last all week. I'd give it a 5 out 5 on this.

Texting is easy with t9 predictive text and large letters on the screen. The "vibrator from hell" won't let you miss a text message. Simple delete and backspace controls are time consuming if you need to correct something at the beginning of the message. I give it a 4 out of 5 for this.

On its own terms it rates a 14/15, which is good.

Compared to the latest cell phones, it is a different story.

Thick and bulky, you never have to worry about which pocket it is in - you'll know. You can carry it in your pocket - with your keys. The case is replaceable. But it is also rugged so you don't need to replace it. The antenna is internal so it won't catch on anything.

It is a single band dinosaur in a quad-band world. It makes good use of that single band and no, Virginia, it doesn't have Internet.

The screen is small and has a single color - black, on a small green background screen. Yet, allows for custom graphics. The font is easy to read and adjusts size automatically.

It allows for customisable ringer groups. It also has a composer to allow you make custom ring tones. A calculator, a calendar, AIM and games round out what it can do.

I'd never want this to be my primary phone. Yet, I would not get rid of it. It is the ultimate backup and in that role it functions wonderfully.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


it is the year 2006...

 

Jun 15, 2006 by dayvan cowboy

... why are you reading this review. You all ready know that this is one of the most durable, no nonsense phones ever. The menu system is simple and not full of many of the "features" on more modern phones. Oh don't get me wrong, I have had many, many, many modern phones. T-Mo SDA, T809, Pebl, Razr, 6682, v330, t309, t609, 6101, and on and on. After owning these phones, and having serious problems with almost all of them, I decided to see if I could get by with the 3390. This seemed impossible to my friends who know me as a geek. Well, I am proud to say that I love this phone. When you break it all down, a mobile phone is to communicate. Calls and sms are simple and great on this phone. The green screen that never gets washed out in the sun is a big plus in my opinion. Yes, they are not stylish, but spending $300 on a phone that won't last very long seems silly. I got this phone for free about 4 years ago. it has hundreds of hours of talktime on it and is going strong. Biggest plus is that it can be had for $10 on fleabay.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone

 

Nov 20, 2005 by GreggNJ

I had this phone for 2 years and it kept going like the day I bought it. I never got it wanting to have all the fancy features phones have these days. I got it to use as a phone nothing more, nothing less. This phone delivers at that function.

Pros: Great battery life
Great reception, I was always amazed at how well reception was with this phone. People would ask to borrow this phone from me when they had no reception on their fancy high end phones.
Great clarity, found calls and voices to be clear.
Good size, not too big, not too small. Not too thick, not too thin. Easy to use and store.
This phone was built LIKE A TANK. I dropped it so many times I can't even count. I dropped it on campus once, it went down one flight of stairs, bounced off a wall and then fell down another flight of stairs before it broke into three pieces - front, battery cover and battery. Over a dozen steps it tumbled, loudly clanking and cluttering along the way. Me and some friends thought for sure it was done. But after I put it back together, it worked as if nothing had happened. Although the covers were always loose and it looked like hell after that, the thing kept going. I even dropped it in puddles. Not bad for a phone I got for free.

Cons This phone has no features really, its all phone.
Keypad has to be locked at all times when not in use to prevent accidental calls.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Beast

 

Jul 9, 2005 by gamatocpa

I have this phone for approximately 3 years...yes three years. I have tried other phones but always go back to my 3390.

I recently dropped the phone into my sink, which was full of water and soap suds. It was there for at least 5 minutes before I realized it was missing. When I took it out it was no longer working. I opened it up and put it outside in the sun for a few hours to dry it out. Once I put it back together and went to turn it on..it did just that turned on!

You can not beat this phone. I have dropped it and the phone has split apart with the various parts flying all over. I just put it back together and turn it back on and I am good to go!

This phone is no "BS". It is just a phone which is what it was built to do and it does it VERY well. It even rings like a phone which the new phones dont do. If I wanted to listen to toons, I would put on a CD. If I wanted to take pictures, I would us my camera. Are you getting the idea!
I only wish I could get another one!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Can't expect much

 

Jun 5, 2005 by IncaDove178

If your looking for a phone that is just a phone, then this is a good choice for you. But if you looking for a phone that has a camera, color screen, and awesome games, then I recommend a different phone.

I had this phone for a long time. About 3 years. I got a new phone, but if I still had this one, it would work like a charm.

It's very reliable. And although it's not that "cool," it gets done what needs to be done. I really have no problems with this phone. It lasts for a long time. It's sturdy, and if you drop it, it will still run like a charm.

So, once again, unless your looking for awesome features, this is a good phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Bad Phone?!

 

Apr 26, 2005 by mike78nycc

I used to have this phone 2 times.
First time I used for about a year and a half before I lost it. Then bought another one and used it for about a year.

Please people be realistic:
This 3390 Nokia model and 6340i model are the best phones on the market! Of course there is a reason as to why they are the best:

PROS:
-Not a color screen (I hate color screen unless it is minmimum 256k with 240/320 pixel)
-No Blue tooth ( be adults people!)
-No B.S. camera (640/480. 1mp, or 1.3pm- all are jokes)
-No Fm radio
-No speaker
-Outstanding and very smooth audio quality
-Very loud and clear ringer
-Loud earpiece

CONS:
-Simply has no Cons!

It's a real shame that Nokia stopped producing 3390 and 6340i phones due to low demend on these models by our low-graded modern society ( brainwashed kids with 3d games, flip phones, blue tooth, and other crap!)

I miss 3390.
Please Nokia- start producing 3390 and 6340i again. We have at least small population which is Mature! and needs real phones not toys!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2