Phone Scoop

printed July 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=30&r=4478

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 3390

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  3  

Average Ratings

3.32
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 4

Outdated piece of junk

 

Feb 1, 2005 by Shane_Calla

I bought a Nokia 3390 for my first phone, i had it on rogers at&t....

I bought it for $129.99 on pay as you go. and i had nothing but probelms with it, in the middle of calls it would shut off, or freeze up so you would half to take the battery out for it to turn off. the screen would freeze, and eventually i took it back for a refund.

The only good thing about this phone was how long the battery would last.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Reliable Phone

 

Oct 3, 2004 by sphinx780

I've had this phone for close to 3 years now and have never felt a need to replace it. I average 800-1000 minutes a month in St. Paul MN. The RF is outstanding inside downtown buildings and throughout the coverage area with T-mobile. I have made several calls for friends and coworkers who have lost their signal at inconveniant times. The speaker volume is nice and clear, people hear me and I hear them without issue. The only drawback is that the volume for the ear piece is low for noisy highway driving. Nearly impossible to use on a windy day on the road.

Pros:

Medium sized
Easy navigation
Great signal
Great voice quality
Can fall off a car at 50MPH w/o damage

Cons:

Battery life is short (1-2 days tops) although have never replaced the battery in 3 years of use

earpiece volume for noisy driving conditions

heavy

lack of "features" for those who want the newest and latest.

Overall:

A great phone for people who need just that, a phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


A Basic Reliable Phone, But That's It

 

Jun 27, 2004 by jopinion

In my opinion this phone is very reliable and durable. It's a very stripped down phone, but does the trick if you just want to communicate. I found the reception on this phone to be pretty decent as well. The only thing that I didn't like about this phone was the way Nokia set keys. I will always HATE the multifunction button located directly beneath the screen of this phone. My first Nokia was the 6190, which made perfect sense with the "Menu&Names" buttons on the left and right side of the screen.
Having only one button to handle three or more functions is ridiculous to me. I often hung up on people accidentally because I had a hard time figuring out how to switch back over from another call. To someone that started off with the 5190, it's no problem, but being a 6190 and then an 8290 user, I nearly pulled all of my hair out trying to deal with this phone. If you're a gadget geek and like SOME features, then look for another Nokia. Otherwise, feel free to use this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome phone

 

Jun 22, 2004 by stevo69

I work for Cingular and am eligible for an upgrade and yet I still use this phone...it is an absolute brick and has all the functions you need...voice dialing, one touch dialing, etc. Lots of games, durable, built like a rock.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Basic Cell Phone-And That Was All I Needed!

 

Mar 15, 2004 by maggiesue

I owned this phone for the past 9 months until it got run over by a school bus about 3 weeks ago, and it actually proved its durability. The phone itself did not crack or shatter in any area--and if the phone had been run over by a car--it would have been fine. Unfortunately the impact of the bus just barely bent the inside major information panel of the phone just enough to defect its working use. I enjoyed my phone, I never had a lost call, always had great reception, and enjoyed the features it did come with. It included some games on it--which is great since the last couple of phones I've tried out did not have free games, you could only download them and obviously pay for them. The Nokia 3390 has a very nice durable and compact phone. If you are more a gadget person, this would be a bad idea. But if you simply just need a cell phone like I did this one was very cost efficient and I was quite pleased. I tried out a Motorola T720 and returned it today--I was plenty more satisfied with the Nokia I had, which was more than 2 times cheaper than the Motorola. Good economical phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


An Excellent Choice...

 

Mar 6, 2004 by c03bra

Mine has been with me through countless number of concrete and asphalt drops. Surface streets, constructions zones, you name it. Even so, the 3390 is not a ruggedized phone. Strong set of basic features makes this phone a solid choice. Medium size fits construction tool belt cell holders just fine. The ring is loud enough. Internal and case materials are sturdier than the current crop of Nokia offerings (6610, 3600). An excellent choice, particularly when coupled with Cingular service in and around the San Gabriel valley region of Los Angeles, CA. I currently use a Motorola V400 which I find to be greater in feature set, yet lesser in build quality.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


very good basic phone

 

Oct 17, 2003 by coenan

I have collected several newer and fancier phones
off of ebay, but I always go back to my 3390.
It is well built, easy to use and has great
sound quality.

Pros: well built. good battery life. good sound quality.
very easy to use.

Cons: basic phone. lacks some of the bells and
whistles of the newer phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I hate this phone!

 

Aug 5, 2003 by JASON-BECKE K

The only things I like about this phone is the face plate I bought for it & the fact that it came with a hands free! I live in north Florida and I use Tmobil. The signal and sound is not good at all. I do not like this phone at all!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nokia 3390

 

Apr 22, 2003 by Alexis G

Nokia 3390 is better than the Nokia 3360, it gives more features! I love this phone & everything about it. It is a very wonderful phone!!! Not to mention that when I got it last year it was free off the Internet!!! It has everything I love, except for a large phonebook. It also doesn't have enough spaces for downloadable ringtones, but that's okay for now. It is a wonderful phone, especially if you're in school. It has enough wonderful options that will keep you busy. The one I love the most is the AIM feature that comes with the phone.....I use it whenever I am bored!!!

It is easy to change the faceplates, I change mine all the time. I currently have a silver faceplate with a dragon on it. Whenever my phone rings, throughout my whole conversation, or whenever I turn my phone off and on my phone lights up a pretty flashing blue color. It does that on the front and the back....what other phone can you get with that set up with that T-Mobile offers? Or that anyone offers?

I recommend this phone to all people between ages 12-30. But, this is not your business phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Avoid at all costs!

 

Jun 27, 2002 by John Turk

This is my 3rd 3390 from Cingular. My first one completely quit working, for absolutely no reason. My second phone randomly shut off on me during conversation. And my current 3390 still gives me problems.

STILL it randomly shuts off on me. Sometimes, it'll just reset itself. When I'm navigating my phone book, it'll quit responding altogether (i.e. pull the battery on the phone and reset the clock). Also, I can't roam on AT&T's network like my friend's phone will do, and like Cingular promised me.

However, the phone does seem to be rather well built. I haven't broken anything on it, and the overall feel of the phone doesn't seem cheap like some other phones (see Nokia 8290).

Overall, I would recommend not buying this phone. Perhaps a different model of Nokia (an expensive one), or better, another brand of phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 4

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1