Phone Scoop

printed August 2, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2993&r=39696

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC myTouch 4G

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  39  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.09
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

Great Phone

 

Sep 5, 2011 by truthinsuffering

Pros:
Lighting Fast
Great Camera
T-Mobile 4g :)
Mobile Hotspot

Cons:
Battery Life (I'm a heavy user though)
Poor coverage outside the city (not phones fault)
Some of them had lots of issues (My gf is having loads of issues with hers, mine runs perfect)

Overall, I think this is a great phone and would definitely recommend it, but if you are having problems with it T-mobile is a nightmare to talk to. Good luck with getting someone who speaks English as a first language.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Cadillac of cell phones

 

Jul 22, 2011 by Cellular_Whiz

I've owned alot of cell phones, and this is the best by far. In fact, I'm on my Mytouch 4g right now, posting this lol.

PROS:
Great display
Super fast 4g and swype (even 2g seems quick)
Great music player, camera with flash, and highly customizable
Front camera and video calling is a breeze
Super super fast
Plus everything else about the phone

CONS:
Doesn't make my breakfast ...... Yet

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Htc my touch

 

Jun 18, 2011 by Sal1980

Pros . Nice camera .great os . Signal is great. West palm beach. 4 g. Fast. Screen is responsive . Battery last from 8am to 9pm I am on it all day . Great feel to the phone doesn't feel cheap. Got for free from tmo. Cons. Wish speaker was louder. Its a great phone for free comes with everything you need to get going . I am coming from a htc evo and a samsung epic . Blows them away .

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My touch 4G "not so much"

 

May 28, 2011 by nickiM

I'm on my 3rd phone since DEC 2010 I have had many problems
CONS-
1- can't slide to answer phone calls (has happened on everyone of the so far)
2-had to restart on a daily basis to get 4G Internet
3-deleted all my contacts
4-speaker not so loud
5-had had to many master resets losing all my apps!
6- Tmobile makes you pay $15 a month extra for wifi hotspot?!? I mean they already get $30 a month for Internet for 3 phones from me....
7-metal battery cover chips away looks like i have thrown it down a rock driveway even tho i have never even dropped it
PROS-
1-Thin and easy to store in pockets or purse
2-like the features
3-loved the phone for a few months until i started having so many troubles

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Had a Motorola W490 now MYTOUCH4G

 

May 11, 2011 by leslieconn

I work for another provider and have been with TMO since 2005 and have had the best service/I waited for this phone until i can afford to pay for all the good things like Hotspot and I have to say everything about this phone is fabulous/I live in Anderson County Texas and the nearest TMO store was in TYLER TX at least their towers are there but here where there are no TMO towers I still get great reception off the other towers available and no dropped calls and totally love the tethering connection for my laptop. I have enjoyed the access to the internet and email that comes right to the phone but the best thing is the apps and widgets that lets you customize ringtones (using ringdroid)/I have LOOKOUT for security on the phone/it was free/camera is fabulous and the front facing camera for vid chat rocks too. I am glad to be with another 2 years with this phone/It has been a long time coming for an upgrade for me and my lover Mikey! We first got the Windows Phone HTC HD7/not so much on the XBOX .. we are glad we returned it and went with the Mytouch4G - the fact that it is user friendly it is open to the user and you can choose what you want to use/We will give it an almost a 5 score only had it for 2 weeks...will let you know how it is!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not So Much Mytouch

 

Apr 24, 2011 by o2bemsg

Ive had T-mobile for about 6 weeks and I'm on my 4th Mytouch 4g. I have had so many problems with this phone, I'm considering just not using T-mobile at all anymore simply because all the replacement phones have been horrible and they refuse to give a new phone comparable to the mytouch. The phone freezes constantly, it doesnt send or recieve picture messages most of the time, it sends text messages I never wrote when I restart my phone, just all in all a horrible phone. I'm fed up with T-mobile and their Mytouch 4g. Do not buy this phone because it will let you down.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


MyTouch 4G pros V cons

 

Apr 5, 2011 by Wizeguy

A really great phone overall. Processor is very fast, hardly ever lagged when opening apps or jumping from different home screens, etc. Gaming was great on it too.

Downsides
- Screen is a tad small at 3.8" for my tastes & not a LED Screen, but that's just my opinion
- Directional Pad/Trackball button is pretty much useless since the touch screen on it is great.
- Other buttons such as the settings, app drawer, back and search, genius button, etc. are actual physical buttons you must press down and not just touch.
- The Genius Button is a neat concept, but in practice it doesn't work up to my expectations and found it frustratingly inaccurate.
- KILLER Con is that this phone is only HSPA 14.4 supported, NOT HSPA+ and for those who say it doesn't make a difference are in accurate. My upload & download speeds were way too slow for my expectations when compared to a HSPA+ phone like the Galaxy S 4G. Stuttering music and video is no fun.

Upsides

- Fast 2nd Gen Snapdragon processor
- Front Facing Camera
- Dedicated Camera Button with LED Flash
- HTC Software is very clean, less buggy then most others and more refined.
- Battery lasted much longer then my other phones such as an EVO and vibrant.

Bottom Line:

I would highly recommend this phone so long as you don't need to stream music or video. Maybe later on if the network speeds increase then this would be a non issue, but as for now, only the Galaxy S 4G delivers the needed bandwidth speeds.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good but not great

 

Mar 18, 2011 by chadbordes

* Disclaimer: I do NOT work for any carrier and am not paid in any way to write reviews.

I am a smart phone fanatic. I have owned tons of smart phones and just recently switched (last december) to the mytouch 4g. I must commend HTC on building such great phones. The weight of the phone, the camera and display.

I must say that the fact that this phone has lots of tmobile stuff on the phone (apps layers etc) it is degrading the performance of the phone. I have gone through 3 phones and this one is about to go back as the processor lags so horribly on this device that I either have to always do a reset or pull the battery out of the back of the phone.

I am using stock txt message and gmail and that is about it. jumping between the two is detrimental to the phones health and I notice horrible lags in typing.

I would not recommend this phone for power users.

Pros
great screen
clear calls
fast network
snappy browser

Cons
processor feels underpowered or overwhelmed for this phone

Keep up the great work HTC and to the cell providers out there, maybe lay off the overlays :-)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sturdy Build Hardware & Software

 

Mar 17, 2011 by DEPECHEX

I came from Sprint for this device... 4G is in my area (Indianapolis) and makes a big difference alone.

Pros:
-HTC Sense
-separate, two stage key for camera
-Track pad for navigating emails or text messages
-Additional dictation software
-3.8" super LCD display is optimal

Cons:
-Heavier then I would like, however it does not feel cheap

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overrall great phone

 

Mar 15, 2011 by jacqcm

I had been using an unlocked IPhone and took advantage of the free smartphone deal Valentines weekend and got the Mytouch 4G on an upgrade.

Pro's
The HD Video is awesome.
Camera awesome
It is extremely fast
Navigation system wonderful
screen display is awesome

Cons
Battery life is awful
speaker phone is a little weird

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1