Phone Scoop

printed August 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2976&r=38537

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Nexus S

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  32  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.11
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Excellent upgrade from EVO

 

Jan 10, 2011 by jbholt1982

My nexus s screen is significantly brighter than my EVO 4g. So the screen has been improved, that’s a plus for the nexus s, and the micro SD is a lame reason not to like this phone, I am getting 23mbs per second read on internal sdcard, my class 10 SD does not come close. Also the notification light is a bummer, but really? The bestselling phone in America, does not have a notification light. (iPhone). I love the nexus s, screen is so vibrant and glass is smooth as silk! (btw I did the scratch test with my keys, all good)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Phone

 

Dec 24, 2010 by bigali2

This phone is simply amazing. Its is definitly a step up from the Nexus One. It is much faster and smoother at loading programs and applications. Call Quality is wonderful. Battery life more than double the nexus one.

There is nothing I can complain about with this Upgrade. It was worth the $529 sticker price.

One more thing, I do believe ultra boy got a defective phone. This phone is great!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great Phone

 

Dec 16, 2010 by gdavis1204

Just recieved the phone in at the Best Buy mobile in Mt, Juliet Tn. played with it for a while, faster processor, runs smooth, no delay when navigating the menus. I love the curve that fits the natural contour of your jaw line. It's very similar to all droid devices, but it has the android 2.3, and the new hummingbird processor. the phone is sweet, but like all new handsets be aware of some malfunctions.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


One word. Amazing ! ! !

 

Dec 17, 2010 by newjerseybrotha

Nothing else can compare...period. Go buy it, and see for yourself.

Take my word, and all the others who have it. If you love android, you are missing the best part of it right now.

Pros: Everything, but the one con listed below.

Cons: no video chat software that works right now, but I'm sure its coming. I would like to have Google Video Chat, to keep it 'Pure Google'

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nexus S

 

Dec 18, 2010 by ikeepitreal

*OBVIOUSLY 'ULTRABOY' GOT A DEFECTIVE PHONE*
I used it today, not alot but more thn ultraboy n im at 95%

Anyway I just got the N. S and I love it!! its super fast and clean fresh!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome phone

 

Oct 15, 2011 by mzcdadiva

I do agree that ultraboy did get a defective phone for the battery issue, but I will say this....U may need to download (if U havent already done so) Advanced Task Killer and clean Ur phone out about 2 or 3 times a day if U can remember if not then @ least once a day! The phone is like a computer to a certain extent n these programs are continually running & they kill Ur battery quickly! Thats just a bit of info that will hopefully help U! I love the phone I upgraded from the LG Optimus S & I love the phone 2 me its jus a bigger version of what I had with a lot more cooler options to it! I love this phone for the camera b/c my Optimus didnt have a good camera and there was no flash which sucked on that phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Amazing Phone... But..

 

Apr 27, 2011 by simplyamazing813

So, I upgraded to the Nexus S from an Evo and while I miss my Evo, I love this phone. No actual complaints about the phone besides one small thing. The vibrate on this phone is practically non-existant.. I can have the phone right next to me on vibrate and miss text messages and phone calls.. Seriously, it's happened many times before. I suppose the Evo spoiled me because you could be in a different room and hear when that thing vibrated. Besides that, I think other people have covered everything else on the phone. It's great, can't wait for the next one to come out.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nexus S shortcomings

 

Dec 23, 2010 by r32chaos

We all know the positives...here are the negatives:

-Camera interface is truly sub-par

-Inadvertently touching the volume keys will lower the ring tone causing you to miss important calls

-DOES NOT SENT MMS MSGS TO BLACKBERRY PHONES!!!
I tested it with 2 diff Blackberry running on at&t, only rcvd blank msgs. Tmobile and Sprint Android phones rcvd mms with pics...Samsung excuse; it is a HD camera...I immediately proved them wrong by trying to send a downloaded image; still did not work.

-Cannot use "," in contacts phone # area to insert a pause for those calling card long numbers!

-Does not have an LED to notify if there is a text, email, or missed call (thats one of the best Blackberry features)

-No auto text or spell check like in Blackberry

-2.1 Bluetooth?!?!? should be 3.0 Bluetooth already!

-While switching between calls, the UI froze on me a several times for a few secs.

-Holding the phone horizontally, bottom row of keys do not respond to touch unless you are almost touching the keys in the 2nd last row. I noticed this problem while testing it in Best Buy. Problem seems to be a hardware issue and is very irritating. Natural touch of keyboard is totally disrupted when trying to use the bottom row with space-bar etc. Problem is constant and only when holding the phone horizontally.

Since Blackberry has let me down with their elf size 9780 on Tmobile, I am going to have stick with this one for now. Tmobile's customer service is still the best so I will NOT be leaving them for the sake of a better phone...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nexus S

 

Dec 18, 2010 by ultraboy91

Hello everyone,
I got this phone yesterday and I will return it tomorrow. DO NOT BUY. Here is why: the BATTERY.
It is a great piece of art, I love this phone, apps and everything, BUT the battery.
I am average phone user, in 7am the phone was charged 100%, I went to work, I did not use it a lot at all just made few phone calls, opened few apps... By 5pm same day the battery was at 5%. By the time I came home from work the phone was DEAD. If I had road emergency I would of been screwed. I change phones every 6 months, and so far, this one has the WORST BATTERY FROM ALL SMARTPHONES. DO NOT BUY.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2