Phone Scoop

printed April 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=289

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 3586i / 3588i

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  10  

Average Ratings

3.53
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Good Starter Phone

 

Aug 16, 2007 by snowanimal

This is a good starter phone. It is very durable, and many face plates to switch it out with...which is easy to do w/ this phone.

PROS: Very Durable
Easy to Use programs
Had snake game

CONS: Not many programs
Static phone calls
Bad Reception in Building...w/out an antenna.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


EXCELLENT PHONE A++++

 

May 21, 2006 by CAN2006

I have been a Nokia user since I started with either rogers at&t wireless and now Aliant (Canada). This is my first phone with Aliant.
Pros:
I have dropped it so many times and still the phone works great.
Can download ring-tones which is good
The alarm clock is excellent even with snooze control.
loud ringer
Battery been great, it is now two years old and it is starting to degrade which is better than More phones.
Would love to get a Flip with this phone and some more options would of been great.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Had this phone for 2.5 years

 

Feb 1, 2006 by international robot man

This is the second Nokia phone that i've owned and love it as much as the first one(3360). I have used this phone every day for the past two and a half years and have never dropped a call or had any trouble what-so-ever. I'm on my second battery but that can be expected for the amount i use it. It has a super bright display which can be used for a light in the dark.

It is tough as nails.

I keep it in my pocket all day long .

Nokia has lived up too my high expectations again.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My Now-Considered-Non-Existant-3588i

 

Oct 13, 2005 by artsywebdesigner

I purchased my phone in June of 2004... It is now October of 2005...

Okay... I was happy with my phone...For the first 3 days...
After that, the battery life deteriorated rapidly.
Then, it turned off for a month.
After that it turned on for a day.
Off again.

Hasn't turned on since.

The only pro I can think of is the fact that you can change the faceplates.

The Cons...
Bad backlight
Thick and heavy
Horrible battery life
Horrible phone in general

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Great Phone But not Alittle Feartues

 

May 28, 2005 by cutey pie2006

This Phone had turned out to be a great phone not dropped calls. This phone is great for talking daily with no problems. But this phone doesn't have alittle of feature and you can't do anything but talk.

PROS:
1-great sound quality
2-signal does not fail
3-great for text messaging
4-charges fast
5-battery last long

CONS
1-can't download
2-stuck with the boring ringtones in the phone
3-no loudspeaker
4-bills can be high because of talking alot
5-no mobile net

All I can say is that all you can do with this phone is talk you can't really personalize this phone alot

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


3588i with Sprint PCS

 

Apr 18, 2005 by bsxtech

ok. I got this phone for free, so I can't ask too much of it, but I'm seeing some patterns here among the reviewers. this is a PCS voice phone, but is it too much to ask to include even a basic browser? i guess so.
PROS:
fairly good reception where I am (central NC area)
fair battery life (recharge every 1-2 days)
CONS:
over a year and a half of use, i've experienced quite a few software glitches, including the phone "locking" the lock code to prevent any access to the "security" menu
it will also freeze, not allowing any input at all, and the battery must be removed to enable use again.
it will drop calls occasionally, usually due to this random freezing problem.
manufacturer claims no memory effect on the battery, but i experience all sorts of memory effects if I charge the battery before it is 100% discharged.

if i had to do it over again, I'd probably go with a different phone.
2/5

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It is okay for it's price but still...

 

Feb 22, 2005 by angelwings

This cell phone had the worst ring tones ever and I shouldn't even talk about the backgrounds, they are just horrible (except maybe for one) ! It's a heavy phone and you always have to key lock it otherwise, it will compose numbers by itself. You even have to set a special feature so that when the phone rings, not any button can respond to the call. The only good thing I can say about it, it's the low price, great colors and the life of the battery. It is great for a first cell phone even though now it's probably, as I can say, "out of fashion" ! It also doesn't store a lot of text messages, but it's like that for most cell phones...

And one last thing, the games are quite cute ! :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


What's the deal with the car charger?

 

Feb 8, 2005 by phoneproblems

I agree with the U.S. Cellular person who wrote about these phones being buggy. I can't make my car charger do anything. This has also happened -- numerous times -- with the wall charger, but a U.S. Cellular guy showed me how to remove the battery, blow on the contacts, and start again. As far as I can tell, there's nothing you can remove and blow on for the car charger.

argh!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone, Great Reception and Easy to Use

 

Apr 7, 2004 by Liam20

This phone was the first one Aliant (Canada) offered in quite some time in the way of a Nokia and I did not want to get no motorola crap (or audiovox)

Pros:
Bright Screen (very!), clear crisp ring tones, decent wallpapers, high speed internet available (1xRTT), color screen is quite nice, lots of features (easy access to calendar and contacts like on all nokias) and the external antenna does have its advantages.

Cons:
The Weight is decent but could be a bit less but hey its not a trendy flip phone so I am happy! Plus downloadable wallpapers would be great.

If you're looking for a good phone that is dependable, sturdy (trust me drop it and it still works with no effect!)

Looks like Aliant got one thing right finally when they offered this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not the Best Nokia Ever Made

 

Apr 29, 2004 by derick03

Just sitting on the shelf in our store, it looks great. However, use it a little and it doesn't have half the guts of some of the other phones in its class. Nokia used to make really good phones, but I have been very disappointed in the 3585, and 86. I work for U.S. Cellular, and we have more of these phones coming back needing repair than any other phone. All of a sudden they will get no reception, the screen will go out, the ringer will go out, all of which can be attributed to either software, or hardware failure. For the most part however, it is simple to use, and great for elderly people, as it has big buttons and a big display for the numbers, plus they are really easy on phones, generally speaking. The face plates break in the same spot all the time, on many customers phones just from one, slightly hard drop or jar. Also, Nokia just plain has a hard time making good CDMA phones. They are much better on TDMA systems and even GSM. Hopefully they re-up the quality of future models, although the 3587/89 are not any more promising except for their BREW capabilities, which is the only difference.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2