Phone Scoop

printed October 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2878&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC G2

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  64  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.23
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

just about perfect

 

Oct 26, 2010 by pamnbob97

got this phone 2 weeks ago . had to get an exchange , some reason the camera did not want to work . but other than that awesome driod just out does any other " smart phone or other o.s . out there

pro;
- awesome driod apps
- slide out qwerty keyboard for big finfers
- great 5mp camera and video
- watch tv, music and your video playback in hd
- easy to use
- durable
- has wi-fi
- pretty good signal

cons ;

-battery life could be better
- swype keyboard not that good has people say
- camera zoom could be better than 2x
- should have screen protector from factory .
-sd card could be better if moved from behind the battery .

overall awesome phone . driod gets a little bit of getting used to , but once you get the hang of it , endless possiblitys

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


FROM A HD2 TO G2

 

Oct 25, 2010 by tmorep03

i have had the phone for a couples days now and its pretty sick. the android 2.2 is amazing and the live wallpapers are sweet. the keyboard is very easy to get used to and the internet is lighting fast.HSPA + NETWORK IS SO FAST. the only thing it doesn't have is the front facing camera but that doesn't bother me because i would never use that feature. i would recommend this phone to anyway wanting to upgrade or get tmobile service.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Best phone I've had

 

Oct 1, 2010 by bound4wb

This phone has so many great features and coming from a Samsung Vibrant, which is a solid Android phone, I am still impressed. There is just one feature I feel it lacks and that is a front facing camera. For such an advanced phone, it surprises me that HTC left this out.

Let me just get right to the great things about this device:

-Stock Android 2.2 Froyo!! Not a lot of bloatware added and it is stock, which means when updates come out, we will quickly receive them OTA unlike a Samsung Galaxy, which takes months and months for a update.

-HSPA+ 4G speeds...I happen to live in a city where this new network is available and this phone is BLAZING fast on it. I can't even believe it!

-The screen resolution and color saturation is beautiful.

-High quality craftsmanship with the brushed metal/stainless backing and screen border.

-Solid, rugged feel (which I find a pro but I am certain some will list as a con since it is on the heavier side). Again, I am coming from a Vibrant, which had a lighter, cheaper feel to it. THis phone looks and feels anything BUT cheap.

-Z hinge moves nicely to reveal the qwerty keyboard.

-Excellent call quality.

-Love the fact that it has a notification light around the trackpad.

The only cons to me (besides the missing front facing camera) is the battery life leaves a bit to be desired but what phone battery doesn't? I have yet to come across a battery that has completely satisfied me and with Android, there are settings that can be adjusted to help w/ battery life. Also, it is a pretty thick phone, but overall that doesn't bother me since it has the addition of a keyboard. What would be great is if they made an identical phone without the hinge keyboard for those who are fine with the onscreen only keyboard and it would cut the phone in half on thickness.

Even with these slight "cons", I would 100% recommend this phone to anyone and would say that it would be worth the switch to T-Mobile for anyone who is with another service provider. Way to go HTC!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not Very Good

 

Oct 16, 2010 by mcknightron

Outside of the feel of this phone, it is not very good. The so called HSPA+ was not impressive. I only got as fast as 2mbps douwn and less than 1 up speeds. In fact, I got faster performance from my N900, both on speed tests and rendering videos. The speaker quality on this phone is the worst I've ever heard. Screen resolution is not comparable with others, and the ringer and multi media options were below average. This was not a very good phone from HTC. Returned it after two days and went back to my N900!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AMAZING PHONE!!!

 

Oct 3, 2010 by queenblenda

this phone is awesome!! loud speaker!! great camera!! 720p HD video recording!! battery life is good for me just depends how much you play around with the phone AMAZING web experience super fast! and I'm not sure if I'm in the 4G network area or not but still amazingly fast on youtube and just normal web surfing!

the ONLY CON i have is i really like the clock that you get with HTC's sense "call me a nerd" i know its just a clock widget but still hopefully that it will come in the future with a update or something.

OVERALL A AWESOME PHONE DIFFIDENTLY GET IT IF YOUR THINKING ABOUT IT!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LOVE IT!

 

Oct 3, 2010 by quimbyformayor

Worried that it is only 800MHz? Well Don't! There is no lag on the stock Android system and T-Mobiles new HSPA+ network ROCKS!

I would highly recommend this phone to anyone and I know that I will be using it until the phone dies :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone! Finally DSL Speeds on a Cell. Phone!

 

Oct 5, 2010 by michael15kmx

HTS and T-Mobile did a great job.
Here are my first hands-on impressions of this phone:

------
PROS:
------
~Excellent Call Quality
~Internet Speed is amazing and definitely on the same level with what Verizon DSL Speed used to be a year ago.
~Excellent Document Viewer (PDF, WORD,ETC...)
~Good quality large screan
~Fast processor!

The only Con that I see is the menu structure is not as convinient as on Nokia Phnes. But I can deal with it. After all, HSPA+ Rocks!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great in every way but one

 

Oct 8, 2010 by andy2373

This is a very nice step forward. And I loved the whole phone except for the speaker, just wasn't loud enough.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


G2 Battery

 

Jan 9, 2011 by Austiniter

Even with all the apps closed and not running the battery life for the G2 is horrific. HTC needs to update software to help save the battery. Having to charge my phone twice a day is horrible.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love it

 

Dec 30, 2010 by PDXMatt

Best phone I have ever owned.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1