Phone Scoop

printed November 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2863&r=38488

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Transform

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  25  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

2.31
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great phone, can't wait for froyo

 

Nov 9, 2010 by hss7

Nice phone, the best part is the slide out keyboard. This is one of the few android phones to offer it. Other pros:

- Android marketplace makes any phone great
- brilliant display
- tactile/dedicated buttons for back and home
- good battery life*
- slide-out keyboard
- good sound/call quality
- micro SD

*battery life is manageable if you have apps like task killer and startup cleaner installed. make sure you turn off wi-fi, sync and other functions when you're not using the phone. I've had the phone last as much as 2.5 days with minimal use (calls, texts, infrequent emails) and get through a whole day even with heavy usage (a lot of emailing, Pandora while at work and all the other stuff).

Cons
- not a huge issue (see above*) but battery life could always be better
- camera is only 3.2 MP
- i haven't been able to get the front facing video camera to work with video chat apps
- no 4G (but 3G is about 1Mbps in my area and that's plenty fast)
- only 800Mhz processor (but this is a pro in disguise because it consumes less battery, in theory)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Garbage

 

Apr 14, 2012 by DocCyphre

I'm on my second replacement. Sprint has loaned me a Sanyo Zio until the exchanged phone comes back. It runs faster than the Transform and it has the same processor speed and memory.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


kinda crappy phone

 

Jun 7, 2011 by marie m.w

At first. I really liked it, then 15 min later I had to pop out the battery and re start it, this happens about 7-10 times a day.so I ordered a new one.SAME THING STILL HAPPING. If I'm texting and some one calls it freezes, if I'm talking to some on the phone and receive a txt or email from some one it freezes. Can't stand it I'm now getting the LG optimus. There are a few good things I liked about it, the slide out keyboard was cool except the pre spell dictionary didn't work while using the keyboard, the rotating screen would move if u barely moved the phone, that got old fast because I would be flipping and moving it all over the place just so I could see the screen.I liked the camera it took pretty good pics. But really don't buy this phone.its pretty much sucks.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NEGATVE

 

May 4, 2011 by ANNAMARIE

IF THERE WAS AWAY TO PUT A -5 REVIEW ON THIS PHONE, OH TRUST ME I WOULD.
I WAS GIVEN THIS AS A REPLACEMENT AFTER THE MOMENT. IVE BEEN THROUGH 6 IN 5 MONTHS. YOU WILL BE TRULY SORRY IF YOUR PURCHASE THIS PHONE. I WOULDNT EVEN RECOMEND IT AS A FREE PHONE. IM SORRYBUT IVE BEEN W/ SPRNT FOR SO LONG, ANDI LOVE THEM. NOT SURE WHAT THEY WERE THINKING WITH THIS PHONE.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


****Good device****

 

May 4, 2011 by bruecjustus

No the Best - but does the Job. I see others complaining over this device. Mine came with 2.2 - has never froze and I run numerous Apps on device. People who have been making complaints over this device, needs to complain to their parents for their bad genes -not the transform. I've had 5 Android devices - for the $$ -- you can not lose. It's a baby Droid, not a power-horse, but can still do the job.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


WORST phone we've ever bought

 

Apr 15, 2011 by fk135

After waiting 30 minutes on hold to be told our 3 month old slider mechanism was not under warranty because we must have broken it, I thought it would be a good thing to warn other to steer clear of this phone.

Besides the defective slider design, the software is still stuck at Android 2.1 and it is very buggy reboots required at least weekly.

We've bought 6-7 Samsungs before and they were all great phones. Let's just say that we're not buying anything Samsung again after we were hung out to dry by customer support.

DO NOT BUY. POOR DURABILTY and WORSE SUPPORT.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Transform is a joke!

 

Apr 12, 2011 by DonB

I supposedly "upgraded" fro LG Lotus to the Transform. Big mistake. This phone is slower than molasses in January. Battery life is bad and phone locks up constantly. Took it back to the Sprint store and all they did was do a hard reset on it. All that did was clear out everthing I had installed on it and did not help the phone in any way. Should ha ve gone with the EVO like I started to. Would not recommend this phone to my enemies!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not a good phone

 

Apr 5, 2011 by jamilea144

I got this phone because I was due for an upgrade and I didn't want to shell out the money for an Evo. This was a HUGE mistake. The phone worked well for about 3 weeks. It then began to run as slow as molasses in January. I would swipe to another home screen, open an app, or type a text message with a lag of about 5 seconds minimum. I want to open up the phone and find the hamster in a wheel that they call a "processor". The processor that Samsung placed in this phone is an absolute joke.

Pros: -Android OS is great
-Camera with a flash
-Slide out keyboard is nice

Cons: -Sloooooooooow processor
-Crazy lag when typing messages
-Software hiccups weekly
-New update just caused this phone to crash 3-4 times an hour
-Dropped from arm of couch to hardwood floor one time and sliding mechanism became very loose.

This phone is good for a starter android phone. If you need the speed and functionality required with being in business don't waste your time with this. Put your money towards the Evo. Trust me you won't regret it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Transform what?

 

Jan 7, 2011 by jbaer15

I upgraded my wife's Blackberry Curve to the Transform. I wanted her to have an Android device made by a solid company, but not pay too much for it. The device seems to be made with good materials and holds up well. Within days though apps stopped working (still worked on my EVO) and speed dial no longer worked and it was slower. She only downloaded Angry Birds and the rest was the same besides Task Killer. We reset the phone and still slow. Downloaded the Quadrant app and it scored between 300 and 400 on their scale. My EVO scores 1250 plus. I am sure when it goes to 2.2 that it might work faster, but how much faster?! I did a 30 day swap out today for the EVO shift which scored a 1453 on the quadrant app!!

PROs
Android
Colorful screen
Battery Life if you know how to tweak your settings.
Ease of use

CONs
within days did not work right

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Phone That Does What it Says

 

Dec 6, 2010 by Reese512

I replaced the Samsung Moment for the Samsung Transform. I am mostly satisfied with this phone...

Pros:
Battery life-not too bad for a smart phone, I can go two days without charging
The phone just works! The Moment did not!
Sound quality for calling and ringer is excellent.

Cons:
Wish it were Android 2.2
Camera could be better
Needs software or at least an app for video editing so that I can share my captured videos
There is some lagging.
Signal strength is poor in rural areas such as Lyndon, KS.

Overall, I have bragged about this phone. I just love the fact that it just works! It does what it is supposed to. There may be a bit of lag, however. I do not expect a perfect phone, as there is not one on the market as of yet, so I highly recommend this!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1