Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2836&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Fascinate / Mesmerize (Galaxy S)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  83  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.91
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 123 4 

Excellent Device!

 

Sep 21, 2010 by iDude

This is my first Android phone, previously I've used iPhones and the Palm Pre plus. The most notable thing to me is the battery life. It is quite excellent for such a full featured phone with such a beautiful and bright screen. The iPhone is about equivalent in battery; the Palm Pre is just terrible compared to the Fascinate.

I've only had it a couple days and live/work in an area with low signal (Southern KY), but it has not missed or dropped a call yet. Call quality has been perfect so far.

Pros:
- Beautiful Screen
- Battery Life
- Very light, but doesn't feel cheap
- Swype input

Cons:
- No Google Search, only BING... ack.
- Only came with Android 2.1
- Wish I didn't have to remove the entire back of phone to change battery or access Micro SD card.

Think that's about it. No real problem so far.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Decent Phone

 

Sep 20, 2010 by Conway1

Nice phone out of the box. Charges quickly looks really good, great screen, nice and thin. However, after using it for four days, I noticed that the back was getting scratched pretty bad. I only had this phone on my car console, desk at work, and the kitchen counter. If this material is this weak it will look two years old in about a month. By the way, I don't think that you should have to put a silicone case on the phone immediately for it not to look crappy. Defeats the purpose of the phone being slim.

Pros:
Good battery life.
Great screen.
Charges quickly.
Good reception.

Cons:
Back of the phone scratches really easy.
Sound quality on call is sub par for the price of the phone, especially when in the car.
GPS navigation really slow.

I also own the Droid X and it still outshines the Galaxy

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


My Pick

 

Sep 23, 2010 by mebrouse

I am a Blackberry convert because I was too cheap to pay for the Enterprise priveledge. I bounced around with the incredible, droid, x, ally(best bang for buck b4 fascinate). The fascinate does everything I need. It syncs flawlessly with Exchange and POP3 accounts. All calendars, contacts.It notifies me of upcoming appointments. The screen is unbelievably clear. Battery not like a BB but its running a whole lot my stuff too. This is a keeper. I dont game, watch movies, or launch space ships with my phone so all that other stuff doesnt matter to me. If you are doing a ton of email, texting, need your appointments/contacts in your palm and like a fast gateway to the internet this is it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Terrible Disappointment

 

Sep 22, 2010 by crday

Coming from an iPhone, I was anxious to try an Android phone. Would not recognize WI-FI, Facebook would not load posts, and several apps would not open. The browser is very slow and sometimes inoperable. Voice quality very poor when making and receiving calls. Very inconsistent performance. Back to the iPhone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Blackberry Users Stay Put!!!!

 

Nov 30, 2010 by ejf2461

After using a Blakberry for the last 7yrs. I longed for the cool screen and downloadable apps the android phones offered. I had a BB Tour and loved it. What I learned is the Android Phones are cool Toys! If you wanna play on your phone when your waiting at the Doctor's Office this is the ticket. If you wanna use this for business and sync contacts and calender with Microsoft Outlook forget it. The phonebook on this device is the worst ive seen on any phone since the 1990's. If you wanna call john doe you have to search for john. If you search for doe you won't find it. Another thing I didnt enjoy as having to hit several buttons to get to a screen. If you must have this phone do leave the store without atleast 3 extra chargers because this thing drinks batteries. I had to constantly charge mine. If Blackberry & Palm can make software to sync with Microsoft Office why cant Google? I shouldnt have to buy an app to have a normal phonebook. In the meantime Ill keep purchasing RIM stock.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not quite perfect

 

Oct 18, 2010 by droidgeek

I just finished a 2 month experience with the LG Ally. It was a good Android device. Nice phone but slow and limited in memory. Ringtones were very easy to assign to contacts and the contacts were synced seamlessly with my gmail account.

Then I got the Fascinate. What a screen. Much faster than an Ally. The form factor is the closest thing to an iphone I have seen. But what did Samsung do to the sync? The short story is that the phone has contacts on the phone and contacts in gmail accounts. The two are separate and can be linked but require a separate step to do so. When you get your new phone, you activate a gmail account and your contacts are automatically on the phone. Or are they. It turns out that those contacts from the gmail account are separate from the phone contacts and don't have all the attributes of the phone contacts. You cannot, for example, assign a ringtone to a gmail contact like you can a phone contact. There is no option for ringtones in gmail contacts. The only way to do that is with third party apps. I understood the Bing and Mapping issues when I got the phone. Those issues are easy to circumvent with bookmarks and downloads. The ringtone problem is not so easy, and it is clear that Samsung, or Verizon, or both made contact management more complicated when they created this scheme. I can't figure out what they were thinking.

Pros
Screen
Form factor
Battery life
Speed

Cons
Bing
Bloatware
Contact management

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Another dud by Verizon

 

Sep 15, 2010 by spinster

Just like the HTC Droid Incredible, this phone fails MISERABLY on earpiece sound quality. There is a constant backround noise in the earpiece that sounds like the crashing of the ocean's waves!!!!

What does it take to be able to get an Android phone on Verizon other than a Motorola that has good sound quality in and out????

Skip this one!!!!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Needs work!

 

Sep 14, 2010 by Windsponge

The screen is super. The over all system very good. Now for the bad. Wi-fi would show full bars and connected and would say no connection. Would only work half of the time. Gps would not work with bing and not very good at all with Google maps. Took first phone back and second phone did same. It is a shame because it could have been a great phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Phone!!!!!

 

Sep 9, 2010 by cole.cathey

To the previous review: LRN2WorkDroid. Bing is the default search engine but you can easily change it in the menu. As far as gps goes google maps is nowhere near the best gps app for droid. In fact it is near the bottom as far as performance goes. Im guessing this is your first smart phone. Next time lets stick to an iphone until your ready to take the training wheels off.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BING

 

Sep 8, 2010 by DROIDtdc

#1 Right off the BAT!! Bing is search DEFAULT provider on a Android Google phone. It's like Honda with Ford parts. I tried to use Bing Maps, could not even find my current location with GPS turned on. I then used Google Maps on Droid X. Need I say anymore.
Pros: Nice display, wireless N technology, light and thin.
Cons: BING, No GOOGLE!!!!!, NO 2.2 android platform, using 2.1. Verizon Amazes me to push out 2.2 on Droid 2, two weeks ago but releases 2.1 on possibly Verizon's flagship phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 123 4 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2