Phone Scoop

printed July 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2834&r=37426

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Vibrant (Galaxy S)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.45
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1234 5 

The best on the market!!!!

 

Jul 18, 2010 by newjerseybrotha

I just have a few words, since I agree with most of the things posted already. I will say this...the only complaint I have is the battery. For me, (a heavy user), it only last for one day. I have to charge it by night fall...which is cool with me for now.

Other than that, nothing can touch this phone. Don't believe the hype you hear about other phones out there...THIS ONE IS THE BEST!!

BEST ON THE MARKET! ! !

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


First Android, WOW

 

Jul 18, 2010 by anscar

Truly an incredible experience. Like the others who reviewed before me, yes the lack of a camera flash is dissappointing. Hardly a deal breaker. I am coming from Blackberry 8900. The phone is very touch responsive and quick. There is no jerky video lag. Completely satisfied. Really like Android.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


From Nexus One to Samsung Vibrant

 

Jul 18, 2010 by landotheripper

Went from Nexus One to Vibrant, Samsung did a good job but left out some big details.

Pros:
-4" AMOLED screen is nothing shy of spectacular
-Seems to be running at 120hz with "Motion-Flow" because animations are incredibly smooth
-"Avatar" looks INCREDIBLE
-Comes with 16GB of on-board storage
-Comes with 2GB of memory for Apps
-Ridiculously light
-Screen resolution and color display rivals anything ever seen on a mobile device
-Incredible battery life (at about 45% after a full day of heavy data use and constant music)
-Loud speaker is very loud and clear
-Displays the color black unlike any other phone I've ever seen (you can't tell where the screen ends on either of the 4 sides)
-Records video at 720p
-Video-Out option where you can actually output video through the headphone Jack using an 3.5mn Jack to AV

Cons:
-No camera flash
-5MP camera (other "high-end" devices have 8MP)
-No Android 2.2
-No Adobe Flash Player 10.1
-*biggie* Can't assign custom ringtones for existing contacts (you have to crate a new contact and assign a custom ringtone before saving and then link them together)
-No notification LED
-TouchWiz feels too much like iPhone's OS
-Doesnt bring carrying case or pouch
-No trackball or trackpad
-Feels a bit cheap and flimsy because of its lightness

This is definitely a great phone but unfortunately not spectacular, once it gets Android 2.2 then it'll be a different story. I have Froyo on my Nexus and it makes a world of difference. Samsung did well keeping this phone exactly like the international "Galaxy S", but they left out too much that should of been there.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


One very very very bad thing.

 

Jul 22, 2010 by spiceguy

The small turn-on button on the side must be used every time you go to use the phone and during a call you must use it again because the screen goes dark. I hunt for and push that button over 100 times per day. The search button on the front is the obvious choice for that and the designers must have been paid by Google to make it their default button. It's a major issue for me but everything else is sooo good I wish I could just pay extra to change it. I've had the G-1 ever since the day it was released and it's still pretty good. I bought the Vibrant the minute it was released and I hope it stands up as long. If a newer version comes out without that button issue, I will buy it. I hope Samsung is listening.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NICE for T-Mobile

 

Jul 21, 2010 by KyanSEPT

This phone was just shipped to my doorstep yesterday. It's nice, but not super nice.

Pros:

-4" AMOLED
-Avatar in HD
-Smooth interface
-Very thin
-5 mega-pixel
-Tons of memory from Samsung

Cons:

-Light and "cheap" feeling
-No camera flash
-A tad buggy

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Heart broken

 

Jul 19, 2010 by Windsponge

This is the most beautiful screen I have ever seen on a phone. I looked at I Phone 4 and I must say the reviews on some sites to me are wrong. This phone is way better on the screen. I seen some say it feels cheap but I think it feels of a quality as good as any. It is so smooth and I have found no drag at all. Blows the Droids out of the water. Size is perfect. The interface for contacts is best I have seen on android. The movie that comes on it is like watching a HD TV. Now for why I am heart broken , no coverage in my area and no coverage on my way to work. I bought and hoped it would work enough to keep but it doesn't. So let me say if you have coverage buy this phone. I have to take mine back tomorrow.
Pro's
Speed
Screen is beautiful
Phone interface is great
A real quality feel to phone

Con's
Coverage area for me

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It's awesome

 

Jul 24, 2010 by narn3049

Probably one of the best tmobile androids out there. Being I haven't experienced the phonee only read blogs and reviews but there all positive

Pros:
Everything

Cons:
Nothing

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


locks up

 

Nov 24, 2010 by tank0000

this phone is no good to me locks up all the time this is my 4 phone about to go to a different provider

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LOVE this phone

 

Jul 30, 2010 by smylax

The only reason I can't give this phone a 5 is because I don't know how good Samsung's support will be going down the road considering the debacle called the Behold 2.
I don't know what justfinethanku is talking about with screen. Is he reviewing the same phone, seriously? Although I agree that touchwiz is not as nice as vanilla android, I don't think it really gets in the way. Its not as obtrusive as I thought it would be.
And the screen, one word: amazing...
I can view the screen from nearly 180 degrees with no color distortion like an LCD would. The screen is very, very sharp, its got great resolution. Its 480x800... that's better than any phone except the retina display on the icrap 4. Being SAMOLED also means its very visible in direct sunlight compared to its LCD opposite and uses a fraction of the power an LCD would.

I own a mytouch Slide as well, and there is no way I could go back to it after the Vibrant. I 100% recommend this phone, its amazing.
As for justfinethanku saying the phone is feels cheap, i disagree. Just because a phone is extremely light doesn't mean its cheap. I've unfortunately dropped mine a couple of times already and its holding up great. And the screen lock idea I actually like, you can swipe any direction to unlock it and not just move a stupid slider. And the whole puzzle unlock thing is very, very handy.
All in all, this is a home-run for Samsung. Between this and the whole Galaxy S line, they have really stepped up their game to try and compete with HTC and Motorola's offerings. Still looking forward to what HTC has in store later this year, should be friggin awesome. Too bad they canceled their contract with Samsung to start using Samsung's AMOLED screens in HTC phones...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1234 5 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2