Phone Scoop

printed November 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2833&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG Optimus S / Optimus U / Optimus V

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  38  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.99
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 45

Well

 

Nov 1, 2011 by phoneman95

i wouldnt say this phones sucks but i wouldnt say its the best! but Pros and Cons:

Pros:
Big Screen
Android
Side ways keyboard and candybar keyboard
Call quality is good

Cons:
Processer isnt the best
Swype isnt very good
freezes up
hanging up calls is kinda difficult
Music speaker isnt very loud

Over all this is a good phone to start with if you have never had any other android. this is like the starter phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Oct 18, 2011 by koolade70

This is a great phone! Bought thru Virgin ($125 with coupons at Radio Shack) in March 2011, no problems with signal and no phone issues. Started with $25 (now $35) plan, had to move to $40 (now $45) plan, needed the extra minutes. I average about 550 minutes a month. Virgin runs on Sprint network for half the cost! I have been through BB's and HTC's. This phone is easy to learn and use. First Android (2.2) and so many apps available.

Only Con so far - no flash for camera!

Great entry into Android and very happy with Virgin network. Switched wife to Virgin July 2011, she wanted slide keyboard, bought Samsung Intercept, nothing but problems. Three phones, so far, maybe three is the magic number.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great Phone With Lots of Features

 

Sep 6, 2011 by ed54

I have the Optimus V which is on the Sprint network.It has been referred to as an entry level android phone.
This is no entry level phone"
Here why"
Pros:
Andriod market
Free GPS Voice Navigator
Watch videos news and weather channel thru justin Tv with skyfire download{not just Youtube}
Android 2.2
Responsive screen (Quick}
Free Hotspot download quick settings from android market
Cons:
Battery does not last full day
Overall:
Virgin mobile $35.00 unlimed data,text,300 minutes a great deal

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I love this phone!

 

Aug 25, 2011 by wolfthumper

So this is my first android powered phone. I have had blackberrys and windows phones, but this is hands down the best phone I have owned

Pros:
Great battery life
Excellent selection of apps from the market
3G is fast in my area (Tacoma WA)
Totally customizable
Speaker is very loud and clear

Cons:
Gets hot when talking for long periods.

Currently I have adw launcher EX with the honeycomb 3.0 theme installed and it actually makes my phone run alot better and it gives me a 5 function tray at the bottom

Anyone looking for a good quality smartphone packed with features should definitely get this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Decent phone for free

 

Aug 18, 2011 by madamehatred

I got this phone for free for my son on Sprint. It's a decent little beginner android phone. Those that are comparing it to the EVO stating it is comparable are crazy. I have the EVO and it does not compare to the optimus. The Optimus does not have a front facing camera, has no flash on the camera , has a lower camera resolution, a slower processor and no 4G. Also no HTC sense...just stock android. Just doing a side by side comparison on phonescoop will show you the specs are completely different. Like I said it's a nice little phone for my 10 year old son and is way better than my original Htc Hero bit again it's no EVO . IF you can get this phone for free or under $50 then it's a good deal. Otherwise you're better off spending a little extra money and getting a better phone with bigger screen , better resolution and faster processor.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Optimus v violently cheap

 

Jun 21, 2011 by Luvvjewels

Browsing is good, 3g network receiver is really good. But typing or swyping pad needs fixing. Sometimes the delete button doesn't work, and types a random letter like "i" over and over, that and this is a battery drainer. I have my lcd brightness on low & I just turn it off while charging it. Pretty powerful fun just upgrade the micro sd card. You have to clear data from messaging stock app after a certain amount texts. I also have trouble with space bar. Had many encounters just reviewing right now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Cheap, fully functional Android

 

Jun 11, 2011 by mben

I have had my optimus for about a month now, and it is by far the best phone I have ever had. The selling point of the phone was the stable, sturdy feeling of the phone and the actual hardware buttons (no virtual touch buttons) The Sprint ID Feature is great, and very useful. There are so many ID packs from sports to social networks. The 2 things that could be improved are the camera, and no flash player in the web browser, but i can get over that. The phone came with quite a few android apps (Maps, Navigation, Calculator, Etc.) There is also an SD card for storing extra songs, videos or pictures, but it can't store most apps. Battery life can be improved by turning down the screen brightness and getting an app that manages what features you are using at any given time. It is also wifi enabled and can create its own wifi network($30/Month). overall a great, affordable phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Phone

 

Jun 10, 2011 by bandgirl10

I have had this phone for a month now and I love it! I have it on the Virgin Mobile network.

Pros:
-Android 2.2
-Android market (FREE APPS)
-Good camera
-Sensitive touch screen
-Great size
-POTENTIAL!
-Great features

Cons:
I would say short battery live but that is with any smart phone you get, regardless of carrier or model. For a smart phone it has a good battery life.

Overall a GREAT phone! I would recommend it to anyone and also I would reccomend virgin mobile! I have only 2 spots with no service otherwise service is terrific! Great choice for anyone after a good smartphone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Battery Needs Work

 

Jun 2, 2011 by Jerms77

I know there's no such thing as a "perfect" cell phone. The Optimus from LG is not too bad but it isn't great. I try to stay busy (work, school, volunteering, etc) and I need a cell phone that can keep up. While the phone itself does a decent job performance wise the battery life is horrible. I use my phone a lot but not enough for it to have to be charged every single day.
The Android system is what makes the phone decent. Lots of personalized settings, widgets, wallpapers, and apps to choose from.
Find a way to increase the battery life and this phone would easily get a 5 rating.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent for the price

 

Mar 26, 2011 by Johndoe01

I've owned the Optimus for Virgin Mobile for 2 months now. I owned couple LG phones before and the last one I had was LG Lotus and that one served me really well and this Optimus is almost perfect! To me, the best feature of this phone is the call clairity AND volume (just like one of the person here mentioned) I always have a hard time listening to the other person at the other end whenever I'm driving or outdoor but this one is just like I'm talking on the landline phone! This one is better than the Samsung Intercept because it has 2.2 froyo out of the box! Everything runs smoothly and the screen responds to every touch really well (unlike some cheap android phones out there) The reception is ok but even though with just one little bar, I can still hold a conversation well.
Now, the only and main CON to me is the battery. During the first few weeks, it doesn't last even 1 day and I didn't even talk for more than 10 minutes! I read all the forums and seems like everybody has this same problem. But just like other new, fresh batteries, it takes some recharges before the battery can be at its optimum level. I downloaded Quick Settings and turn off everything, especially 3G, and my battery is ok now. Every time I needs to check emails, news, weather, I just have to manually turn on 3G. That sucks but I don't mind. Other than this CON, this phone is excellent!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 45

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1