Phone Scoop

printed April 16, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2799&r=37742

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Acclaim SCH-R880

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  30  

Average Ratings

4.13
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Awesome Phone

 

Dec 10, 2010 by bply721

This Phone is the best phone i have ever had and i have had most of the carriers out there and so far this is the best phone i have ever had. The only con the phone has is the battery life but that is it. SAMSUNG YOU MADE A GREAT PHONE!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great

 

Oct 15, 2010 by jonreif

I love this phone.. for budget reasons I got a fairly basic model phone from us cellular back in May n was bored to death but I was excited to hear the android was coming.. recently I was finally able to upgrade to a gently used acclaim and I’m very happy with it.. no problems.. as its Linux based itself it works well with my Linux PC'S without having to mess around.. good budget minded android and will do anything you really need.. battery life could be better but all Samsung phones i ever had suffer with poor battery life and most smart phones in general suffer with battery life issues, However us cellular has free battery swap so a fresh new one once in awhile helps.. it would be a great first smart phone or great for a geek on a tight budget...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


love the phone but HELP!!!

 

Sep 25, 2010 by mcarnes

I absolutely love this phone.. this is my first android and coming from never having an android its awesome...but i know this sound crazy but the user manual isnt really user friendly and i have no clue how to get to my downloaded ringtones.. or even where they went.. Please somebody help me.. love the phone but if cant figure this one out its gotta go back to USCC. please help

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Acclaim.......text forwards

 

Aug 20, 2010 by kaybee415

I have the Acclaim and I've had it about 3 weeks. I absolutely love it! For those of you saying you can't forward a text.......you are wrong. You have to pull the text up, hold down on the screen until another menu pops up, click forward. Done!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I just couldn't wait!

 

Jul 23, 2010 by Droid Prime

I wanted to see what other Android phones were going to come out but I played with this phone and was very impressed from the get go. I have now had the phone since July 8th and I'm still finding out new things that continue to impress me. Some things are little tricky to figure out but once I did it has become second nature for me to utilize the features of this phone. This phone is extremely intuitive and if it doesn't do something you want it to do right out of the box you can download an app that will allow it to do that very thing!! I wanted the HTC because of the SenseUI but then I found that the stock Android version is way more customizable! So here is the pro/con part:

Pros:
- Dual core processor has handled everything I've thrown at it!
- Excellent Touch Screen.
- Loud Volume (Calls, Ringers and Media).
- Full "qwerty" keyboard thats nice and easy to use.
- Camera with Flash.
- Nice optical pad; really responsive.

Cons:
- Battery life is still crappy but its gotten a little better. I charge it twice a day usually.
- Can't set individual Text message notifications to certain contacts.
- Does not support live wallpapers.

All in all I gave the Samsung Acclaim a 4 out of 5. The phone is everything I expected and more.. sure it doesn't have a huge touch screen and sure it's a little bulkier than I'm used to but this phone has proved to be a powerful Android device.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Forwarding text messages

 

Jul 20, 2010 by missc1283

First off I absolutely love the phone! It took me about a half hour to figure out how to forward a message though that was a bit frustrating. You have to open the message and press down on it for a few seconds another menu will pop up and from there you can forward! Hope this helps.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Jul 19, 2010 by The_Moves

I absolutely love this phone. For a person in IT it has some of the feature that I use - that being a Key Board and the ability to customize to almost my hearts desire. I've got SSH Tunneling setup with VNC to my servers, works great for supporting remotely if needed and my laptop isn't handy. Seamless integration with Google and all its applications is a bonus, especially Google Voice. The Coverage from US Cellular is great and the speed for browsing the internet on this phone is as fast as i'd expect. I highly recommend this phone for anyone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone

 

Jul 17, 2010 by trwade

I am Android nut. Have had most of the carriers out there, and USCC rocks with this one. Coverage is Great!!

It's a great Android for USCC. Not being able to forward messages bothers me, but everything else works great. Streams Audio very well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


first blush

 

Jul 12, 2010 by lsmith

I have had it for 3 days and find it a hassle to use. Different screens seems to pop up when you are working on say an e mail. A hassle to navigate through. It would be great if there was s a tutorial on line to learn how to use this complex phon, book is somewhat vague Samsung seems to have software issues as I have not been able to transfer "phone contacts" from the Blackberry. I am not the sharpest knife in the drawer for tech toys like this and time with the phone might change my mind if I don't throw it in the water bucket. Frustrating so far!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


its ok a big disappointed

 

Aug 25, 2010 by wff3

I got the phone on Friday and spent a bunch of time on the phone with tech support there got the phone to work pretty good but has some bugs in it....now I will tell you I am coming from a blackberry so my standards are high....lol

pro: I like the touch screen the best I have used. the phone is slim not too bulky. has a bunch of free applications. it has a flash with the camera thats a biggy for me.

cons: I downloaded ring-tones to phones from free site, if phone is shut off i loose tones and have to download them again. When the applications plays the tones you can not shut it off unless you shut ringer off. You can also not set the phone to ring just ring tones it has to be all or none.
again I am coming from a blackberry so I guess a little hard on the phone. other than that its a pretty good phone cant wait to see the new "desire" this week.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1